We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother going” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holly Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holly Hill Inn
Save
You added Holly Hill Inn to your Saves list
Sleegill, Richmond DL10 4RJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 43 Richmond B&B and Inns
newcastle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't bother going”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We went as a family of 6 for Sunday lunch and had to walk out as well as another couple because a member of staff was very rude and did not make us welcome. Done us a favour as we found another pub restaurant in the town centre and the food was fab.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    10
    2
    4
    9
See reviews for
22
23
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stopped for a snack on a very hot day. Too hot to leave the dog in the car but no problem. Dogs welcome in the bar (but not restaurant area) and even brought her a fresh bowl of water.
There is a full menu available but we didn't want a large meal.
We all ordered hot meat filled baguettes which were promptly brought to the table. Excellent home cooked bread and meat all of superb quality.
Staff very friendly and efficient going the extra yard to make sure everything is good.
I have fond memories of this pub from many years ago when I was in the army at nearby Catterick Camp. It was good then but even better now.
My only regret is that as a driver I couldn't sample the excellent looking ales on offer!
Only 50 miles from home so we'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed near to this pub for the second time. We were looking forward to revisiting.
The food is good home cooking, and doesn't disappoint. The venue is very clean and the hosts are warm and welcoming.
Dogs are allowed in the bar and water is provided.
North Yorkshire is (next to my own county - obviously) my favourite place in England. And this pub is just one of the reasons we will keep visiting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just stayed at the Holly Inn for the past 3 nights and were really impressed...We all know about northern hospitality but Joanne Emma and fiona take it to another level.......We had a lovely room and all the staff were really kind helpful informative and friendly ......the breakfast was anything you wanted and I can say that if you have the full English you will not need a meal for a fortnight ...what a spread......we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and we will always stay there when we come up to Richmond again
Well done ladies you have done yourselves proud .......thanks a million ......

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and i came here for the day to visit the pub itself and Joanne. I have never stayed but i am hoping to stay in October time. Pub is clean and tidy and staff are warm and welcoming and locals are very friendly to. We bring out pet lab dog and he loves to come here. dogs are welcome and all staff and customers adore him and other pets. They all pat him and gave him attention. We sat outside as it was fab sunny day and was very entertaining as we saw wedding been held there. We have been many times before and we normally stay down the road at flowerydell but past couple of times have not been able to get booked there so we have came for the day. We only come to visit the pub and have a drive through the countryside then i love to go to the coop there in Richmond as they are the only one that does very good selection of Wensleydale cheese and i always spend a fortune on cheese there. The food at the pub is also good and good value for money. Keep up the good work Jo and Team and see you again soon. Calvin Dawn and Sam

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great atmosphere in the bar with chat from staff and regulars alike. (Dog friendly in the bar.) Unfortunately the chef was "off sick" on the night we stayed so we were unable to sample the food and the breakfast was quite basic. However, the room was large, clean and comfortable - a bit worn in places, but we weren't expecting The Ritz. Reasonably priced, excellent stopover if you are travelling in the area or are on your way further north. Would happily stay again!

Room Tip: Room 2 had nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton aycliffe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A lovely place to stay, only a short very nice walk from richmond centre but far enough away to enjoy the peaceful countryside. The room was a good size, very clean with excellent views. Great staff, all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent. We would highly recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holly Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Hill Inn

Address: Sleegill, Richmond DL10 4RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Holly Hill Hotel Richmond
Holly Hill Inn Richmond, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holly Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.