We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb accommodation , wonderful friendly staff and absolutely fabulous food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holly Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holly Hill Inn
Save
You added Holly Hill Inn to your Saves list
Sleegill, Richmond DL10 4RJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 43 Richmond B&B and Inns
1 review
“Superb accommodation , wonderful friendly staff and absolutely fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband 3 children and myself stayed here for 3 nights for a family wedding . The rooms are located at the back of the Inn with a separate entrance to the bars so very safe and quiet . You could not hear any noise from the pub or traffic . Unlike other family members who said their hotels in the town were extremely noisy . The staff were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome . Each morning the chef prepared a breakfast to our individual requests which came out beautifully presented , hot & superb quality . We also ate from the menu on 2 occasions and again the food was excellent with a great choice . On the Sunday we were booked to go to another restaurant with family BUT were disappointed to go once we'd seen the Sunday lunch Fiona ( the chef ) was serving . Overall our 3 night stay has been fantastic and we will definitely be staying at the holly hill inn when we next visit Richmond , as long as Jo Emma & Fiona are still there

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    10
    2
    4
    9
See reviews for
22
23
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Attended a party at this pub recently and decided to stay overnight. Our room was lovely and quiet with plenty of space and a large comfortable double bed and good views. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the room and an ensuite bathroom with plenty of hot water. We were pleased enough with this, but the full English Breakfast was the icing on the cake. It was delicious; beautifully cooked and generously portioned. All this with a very friendly set of staff - perfect.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Four of us (two couples) ate here one Friday evening. The set up was professional but friendly, with orders taken and drinks served in the bar before being taken through to the dining room. Or perhaps dining hall, would be more accurate. We ate in January and it was very quiet, which was a shame - the place would have benefitted from a few more customers to generate a bit more atmosphere .

The food was hearty and very pleasant, everyone enjoyed their meal. I would particularly recommend the strawberry meringue dessert. The place offered good value for money and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stopped here randomly on the road from Richmond because I felt a bit peckish. It was Sunday so decided to have the Sunday lunch. It was delightful and had a large portion. Will definitely go back there next time I go to RIchmond. Good selection of real ales too. All round a lovely place to go. Would recommend to all Richmond visitors.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I took my wife for a weekend break for a birthday treat in January.
We had a warm reception in the bar from both the staff and locals, where we enjoyed well kept traditional beer in front of a warm log fire
We dined in the restaurant on out first evening, the food was of a quality second to none, and the waitress was only too happy to help, and adjust the menu to suit my taste.

Our room overlooking the castle, was spotless and very comfortable.
We will definitely stay here again, and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Holly Hill Inn on Friday 28 December. We arrived early evening and were showed to our room which was spotlessly clean and comfortable. We then went to the bar where can can enjoy a drink sitting by a log fire and real ale to boot. We asked to see the menu and my wife chose the game pie, which was packed full of different types of game, and I chose the Pasta, which was plentifull and very tasty. I think that the menu is imaginative, unlike the previous review and would like to thank Jo, Emma and the Chef for their hospitality. We will certainly be back.
Chris and Maureen

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATTERICK GARRISON
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Went here on New Years Eve through the day, 3 of us all had something different off the unimaginative and poor menu. Disappointing choices and considering the length of time we had to wait not very hot and very expensive for drinks and food. Will not be going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holly Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly Hill Inn

Address: Sleegill, Richmond DL10 4RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Holly Hill Hotel Richmond
Holly Hill Inn Richmond, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holly Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.