We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven in Frenchgate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Frenchgate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Frenchgate Hotel to your Saves list
The Frenchgate Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   59 - 61 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AE, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Richmond
Edinburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Haven in Frenchgate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My wife and I love this charming boutique hotel and this was our third stay. David and his staff have a warm welcome down to a fine art. Nowt's a bother! We would highly recommend every room we have had but the London Room is a bit special for us. Despite the central location it is extremely quiet and restful. Breakfast totally spoils you and dinner is superb. Sadly on this visit we were unable to have dinner because we had been invited to go elsewhere. Shame!! We need to make better plans next time. There will definitely be a next time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    51
    14
    16
    3
See reviews for
34
235
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

As a guest house owner operator I know where to look to check on quality/cleanliness, etc. David gets full marks for everything, the layout, the quality of the linen and fittings, his fantastic staff, etc. Pleasant gardens and a fabulous lounge with a real wood fire.

Fantastic location for walking the town yet very quiet. David is a font of freely given local and regional information.

The food is the best produce that Yorkshire can produce – all cooked perfectly.

We will be back!

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Would highly recommend the Napoli suite with its slipper bath. David and his staff made our stay very enjoyable, their attentiveness and sense of humour, made our stay one that we shall remember. The Hotel is ideal for those who are after an intimate boutique feel. We enjoyed the variety of the menus, both in the evening and at breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Having previously visited for a girlie weekend in the cottage I decided to return and upgrade to the Napoli suite with by husband to celebrate New Years Eve. We were greeted by David and his staff and made very welcome. Fabulous room; especially the large bath! All features of the hotel were excellent, as was the evening menu and attentive staff. One of the best New Years Evenings we've had for many years; great atmosphere. Fully recommend the hotel and of course historical Richmond.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We enjoyed an absolutely brilliant evening at the Frenchgate Hotel on Friday. The food, wine, ambience and serviec were second to none. Every detail has been carefully considered to ensure the ultimate dining experience. A 'must visit' restaurant!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirton in Lindsey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I sought a boutique hotel with a slighty different touch, from the orginal enquiry with david i was certain this would be the area and hotel to entertain some business guests.booking was made for 7th december 2013.

Upon arrival our every need was met to true excelance from david and his team, great food and a great selection of beverage to suit any pallet.

i would strongly advise purchasing a bottle of finhe champagne to be educated and instruted on the art sabrage!

Rooms were tactfully decorated and very clean the thomson massey suite was outstanding.

in short eiter business or pleasure david and his team will most certainly make it memorable

cheers David, hope to see you in the future

Room Tip: the thomson massey suite is a fine way to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were shown to our room by the very friendly owner, David Todd. The room we stayed in was a superior room called The Galway, very large king size bed and lovely wet shower room which had a heated tiled floor. The room was very nicely decorated with quality bedding, lighting and furniture. Very attentive staff as we were waited on the lounge sat in front of a roaring fire. The evening meal was very good quality food with a few added chef compliments such as an oyster starter !! Breakfast was also of a high standard. The hotel is delightfully decorated throughout. It is also in a good position in Richmond being 10 minutes from the main market square and the same distance from the river. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a wet room with a walk in shower and heated flooring
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Frenchgate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frenchgate Hotel

Address: 59 - 61 Frenchgate, Richmond DL10 7AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frenchgate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a quiet cobbled Richmond street in North Yorkshire stands this luxury AA 4 Star Luxury Boutique Hotel and 2 Rosette Restaurant, with a friendly, Yorkshire family welcome and excellent food. The originality of the menu extends to the stylish, recently renovated, romantic bedrooms. Unique solid oak beds designed for the hotel, with pocket sprung/memory foam mattresses, cozy designer furnishings make for ultimate relaxation. Power showers, heated solid marble floors, stunning bathrooms, and the amazing, Napoli or 'egg' bath, on a marble plinth by the huge seven foot oak bed. Perfect for a little romantic luxury, business or best value break in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Frenchgate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frenchgate Hotel Richmond
The Frenchgate Hotel Richmond, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frenchgate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.