We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top place to stay in Yorkshire Dales” 5 of 5 stars
Review of West End Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added West End Guest House to your Saves list
West End Guest House
45 Reeth Road, Richmond DL10 4EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 43 Richmond B&B and Inns
Stevenage
1 review
“Top place to stay in Yorkshire Dales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

A warm welcome from Ian and Helen matches the beautiful guest house. All of the rooms are very tastefully decorated and have all the facilities you might need should you have forgotten to bring something with you. Private off road parking is provided for peace of mind. Breakfast won't disappoint with a huge choice. I left something behind on my last visit and they kindly posted it on. How good is that! The house is in an excellent location to explore the Yorkshire Dales and the historic town of Richmond with it's own castle, waterfall, museums and many pubs.

Room Tip: All of the rooms I have used over the years are of the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
33
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

What a lovely welcome from Helen and Ian. We were shown to our room and offered tea or coffee to be served in the dining room. We relaxed on the comfy settee with a large pot of coffee and cake whilst chatting to Helen and Ian. Our room was comfortable and suppled with all the toiletries we needed. Breakfast was great with a good choice. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mac0460, General Manager at West End Guest House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We have worked hard to improve the parking, lighting and off raod security for vehicles on our site and it's nice to know that our efforts are much appreciated. We are continuoulsy stiving towrds improving the accommdation and services that we provide so all feedback is greatly appreciated.

We hope you will stay with us again sometime and thank you for your custom.

Kind regards,

Ian & Helen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton on Trent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have stayed with Ian and Helen on two occasions while walking the coast to coast walk. Nothing is too much trouble for them. You are made to feel very welcome, breakfast is wonderful and locally sourced and on both occasions they have provided an early breakfast, which is needed when you may have a long walking stage that day. No gripes whatsoever. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mac0460, Owner at West End Guest House, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are continuoulsy strivng towrads inproving our accommdation and services with the guest in mind and hope to open a new breakfast room shortly. It's nice to know that we are doing something right so thank you.We've jsut got to get to grips now with all the 'social media' stuff which is becoming more and more important each day.

Kind regards,

Ian & helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We got into Richmond much earlier than expected, and happening to see the guest house by accident as we walked by, thought we would see if we could drop our packs off so we didn't have to carry them into town. We knew check in time was 4.00 pm, and we were there at 11.00 am. So, we rang the door bell and...

We were warmly welcomed and told that, by chance, our room had just been serviced and that we were more than welcome to go straight to it. Helen showed us to our twin room upstairs in what is quite a large establishment on the edge of Richmond. She heard that we were also looking for a laundrette, and knowing we were walking on the next day, called one of her contacts and directed us to them as they could do all our washing and drying on the spot.

Helen runs a very tight ship - this is a professional and guest friendly B&B. It is larger than most but is spotlessly clean and our room was comfortable, warm and quiet. The ensuite was well laid out and worked well, there was a lot of hot water.....just an air of professionalism about everything.

Breakfast the next day was a friendly affair, interestingly ordered the night before, and served by Helen's husband before he goes off to work. There was a good choice but not a lot of flexibility in terms of mixing and matching - again the word "efficient" comes to mind. Juice actually appeared to be freshly squeezed which was a real treat!

All in all a pleasant stay with friendly, efficient but engaging hosts , a quieter location but only a 10 minute walk to all the main attractions of Richmond. I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I am a well travelled & frequent B&B-er of the UK and I would give West End an 8/10 overall. The rooms were well appointed, thoughtfully finished & furnished & recently decorated. They were clean & the bed linen etc was of good quality. The hosts were both friendly & accommodating & happy to chat about the history of the house, what they done to it since purchasing it etc etc. My parents have returned here for a 2nd stay and found it very comfortable also. Good value for money and a much needed addition to Richmond :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is our second visit and it will not be our last. Helen's guesthouse is superb. The bedroom well appointed. Excellent private car parking. Essencial for our Porsche Carrera. Brill breakfast.
Helen and Ian are great and Maggie and me, Robin wholeheartedly recommend this b & b.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I recently completed the Coast-to-Coast Walk. I stayed in 15 B& B's. I would rate the West End Guest House the best. The overall ambiance, the meals and the room were excellent. The hosts Ian & Helen McKay were the "frosting on the cake". Their attention to detail was notable. It was hard to leave and start walking again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West End Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West End Guest House

Address: 45 Reeth Road, Richmond DL10 4EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your West End Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West End Guest House Richmond, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West End Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.