We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden but worth the search” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edwina's Cakes

Edwina's Cakes
17 Frenchgate, Richmond, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 89 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden but worth the search”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Off the beaten track but only a few yards from the main shpping area. Well worth seeking out for the superb cakes and scones. Excellent chino too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“coffee stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

lots of home baked goodies ......cakes / cupcakes / biscuits ect
only problem is deciding what to have!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So much lovely cake...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

...And great coffee to go with it. We got take away and wandered down the hill to sit by the river but you can sit in. Very handy for the Richmondshire Museum as well!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Side street treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

What a find- good coffee, fine selection of locally baked treats - I chose rocky road cake and nothing to complain about that. Hostess was extremely friendly and guided me skilfully through her vast selection of different cakes, giving me some lessons in Yorkshire dialect and changing views of beautiful house facade just opposite. You could admire its large, white-paned windows while sipping coffee in peaceful room.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“What a choice of cakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is a little gem hidden away on the way into Richmond. It is a little bakery/cafe where the mother/daughter bake all the cakes themselves. There is such a choice to pick from and they are all "just like your mother made". To compliment there is one of the best Americano's I have drunk in a long time. I had the Rock cake and my fiancee the caramel shortbread (with a Latte). Service was friendly and so fantastic. Small cafe but is the place to go...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edwina's Cakes also viewed

Richmond, North Yorkshire
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Edwina's Cakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edwina's Cakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.