We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Castle House to your Saves list
The Castle House
9 Castle Hill, Richmond DL10 4QP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 Richmond B&B and Inns
Leadenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Wonderful B&B in the centre of this lovely town. Cosy home full of character and warmth, matching the welcome given by the hosts, Lucy and Ian. Comfortable and quiet room and a hearty breakfast ended a perfect stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really appreciate the time that our guests take in writing reviews as one is busy enough! It was such a pleasure having you to stay at The Castle House and we are delighted that you enjoyed it so much. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
261
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scot on tour
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Arrival at the B&B was so welcoming - Lucy is so friendly and helpful and the little touches made our stay so special. The room was so cosy and decoration and surroundings were of a high standard. Breakfast in the morning was excellent - high standard local produce. Morning greeting by Lucy was again so welcoming.

Overall an excellent place to stay if staying/passing through Richmond - you will not be disappointed by the welcome or standard of accommodation and food - well done - hope to stay in August.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at The Castle House. Your comments are extremely kind and we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit so much that you hope to return in August. We equally look forward to welcoming you again as it was a pleasure looking after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great little place,it's the 1st time we've stayed but I am sure it won't be the last, Lucy & Ian made us very welcome,we had a beautiful room overlooking the market square & the breakfast was excellent what more could we ask.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We really feel so privileged to read such lovely reviews written by our guests and to know that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We do hope you are able to return again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed just for a few nights beginning of March 2014 and found the perfect little escape. The Castle House is spotlessly clean, comfy and cozie..decorated beautifully quaint and tasteful ..themed bedrooms all attractively different with charming little finishing touches such as L'occitane toiletries..fluffy dressing gowns, chocolate treats hung on our door every night made our stay special and relaxing. The hosts Ian and Lucy so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble..the breakfast was a delight..fresh, filling and plenty of choice..the location is perfect for exploring Richmond and surrounding areas...all the locals so pleased to help and give ideas as to where to visit for the day..there are plenty of eating out places..tea shops and little gift shops bursting with treasures...we will definitely be back for another visit. Ps...We stayed in the top front room with wonderful views x

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
We are so touched by your lovely review, thank you so much for telling everyone how much you enjoyed your stay with us at The Castle House. It was a real pleasure having you as guests and look forward to meeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

First time at Richmond and the castle house , what a lovely time we had in this charming guest house , Our hosts Ian and Lucy made us so welcome and were very helpful with choices of pubs and restaurants in the town . Everything is of a very high standered and we would love to go back .Stuart , Dawn

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy life to write a review for The Castle House. We really do appreciate it and are just delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We have just had a lovely night's stay at the Castle House where we were made to feel extremely welcome. Standards of cleanliness are very high indeed and the rooms have been decorated and accessorised beautifully.
We were fascinated by the slope in our room (Redmire) Everything ran at amazing angles. The joys of a gorgeous old building.
Our breakfast was super- we would have eaten more had it not been for Lucy's curry restaurant recommendation for the previous night- delicious food!
The follow up email was a lovely personal touch - well done Lucy and Ian. You deserve to be very successful and we shall be booking to come again in September.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
It was so lovely meeting you both and thank you so much for the lovely review you have kindly written. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourselves at The Castle House, and felt looked after. Both Ian & I firmly believe that from the moment our guests walk through the door, that they are made to feel at home and enjoy all that we provide. Hopefully you will be able to return one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Excellent place to stay. Very welcoming host's extremely clean, very helpful, excellent breakfast, best we've had & we have stayed in a lot of different places. Couldn't fault it at all. The variety of tea & coffee in the room was great too, never had coffee bags before in a room. We were only passing through & stayed one night but we were very impressed & will be going back again, it also made us want to look into what else there is to do in the area so we could stay longer next time.

Room Tip: All of the Rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind review and for taking the time to write it! Everyone is so busy these days, so we really do appreciate the time and effort taken.

It was a pleasure welcoming you here and we are delighted that you have already booked to return. Hopefully the sun will be shining!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle House

Address: 9 Castle Hill, Richmond DL10 4QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast situated in the shadow of the famous castle, overlooking the historic town of Richmond. We aim to ensure that all our guests feel pampered and offer boutique style accommodation in this beautiful 18th century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Castle House Hotel Richmond
The Castle House Richmond, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.