We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High standards all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Castle House to your Saves list
The Castle House
9 Castle Hill | North Yorkshire, Richmond North Yorkshire, DL10 4QP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free WiFi
Ranked #2 of 46 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“High standards all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed for one night at the end of April and found this a really excellent B and B. We received a warm welcome with a beautifully prepared afternoon tea. The room was well furnished and spotlessly clean. There was a really nice bathroom equipped with a wide range of toiletries. The following morning we were sent on our way with a first rate breakfast. This is an establishment that we would not hesitate to use again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying at The Castle House and your review was lovely to read. We do hope that you are able to return again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
306
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

the nicest b and b we have stayed in, the rooms are amazing as is the breakfast and the general service you get from Lucy and Ian, with amazing attention to detail. It is definately a place we would visit again and recommend highly to friends and relatives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments and it was an absolute pleasure having you as guests. Our aim is to make everyone feel relaxed and comfortable with a few little treats along the way and we are so delighted that you enjoyed staying so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our stay at The Castle House was as good as it gets for B&B. Even before we arrived, Lucy and Ian helped us with our travel arrangements for a 3 day walking trip in the area, which was greatly appreciated. On arrival we were warmly greeted with a glass of wine and help with evening meal arrangements. The rooms are superb - spacious, character, high quality of furniture/furnishings, lovely bathroom and all the little extra touches you wouldn't normally expect. Breakfast was again superb and set us on our way. If you're thinking of visiting the area, try and stay at The Castle House.......you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We got lucky with parking and managed to park right outside The Castle House (otherwise it might have been a walk up a hill from a car-park). It's located just along from the castle gates - so you have to expect parking hassles for the convenience of the location. We were offered drinks on the terrace in the glorious May sunshine. Our room was gorgeous - its photograph is used in this review. Lovely and clean. The bathroom had a clawfoot(?) bath and there was plenty of hot water available. Our host offered to book restaurants for us - we decided to wander and ended up choosing one of their recommendations anyway.
We even found night-time chocolates on our door-handle at bed-time!
Breakfast was excellent - we're both vegetarian and had the 'full english' ... being very picky the
portions might have been larger - but then again I'm a pig like that.
Wi-fi was free and a good speed
I can't comment on the value as the trip was a birthday present - so I don't know
Not much else to say other than - can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Wensly Suite on the top floor - up a few flights of stairs (watch those low doorway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind review which is greatly appreciated. We are so pleased that you enjoyed staying at The Castle House and Richmond, it really is a gem of a place and even more so when the sun is shining.

We have taken on board your comments about the vegetarian cooked breakfast and thank you for your thoughts. We don't want anyone to feel that they would of liked more (although credit to the chef, it must of been enjoyed). There is always plenty and we can easily prepare more if our guests would like it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you want luxury, comfort, homeliness, excellent hosts, value for money, freshly cooked delicious food PLUS all the extra touches like chocolates to wish you goodnight and everything in the room anew daily, at really affordable prices, just go there!!! Drink it all in relax and enjoy as there is nothing too much trouble for Ian and Lucy in their beautiful home. You will certainly return. We will!! Thankyou to Lucy and Ian for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind comments, we are both delighted that you enjoyed your weekend here, it was a pleasure having you both and hope you return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just stopped here for 2 nights in May to celebrate our birthdays, lovely accomodation with excellent hospitality and nice little touches. Hosts were lovely and would highly recommend this little gem and the whole Richmond experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but if you are really tall it might be an idea to avoid the top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
It was great to welcome you both and so pleased that you came here to celebrate your birthdays Ian & I hope that you have lots of lovely memories of your weekend here. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay, room was lovely. Breakfast was great and the welcome was superb. On arrival we were given a glass of wine to enjoy in the sunshine. On retiring to bed there were chocolates left on our door handle. This touches made our stay extra special. My wife and I really appreciated it. Our host Lucy was even very understanding when I took the room keys home. We wouldn't hesitate in going back.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucyRawlins, Owner at The Castle House, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
It was a pleasure having you and thank you so much for all the lovely things you have said. Thank you also for sending the keys back so quickly, it was really appreciated. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle House

Address: 9 Castle Hill | North Yorkshire, Richmond North Yorkshire, DL10 4QP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast situated in the shadow of the famous castle, overlooking the historic town of Richmond. We aim to ensure that all our guests feel pampered and offer boutique style accommodation in this beautiful 18th century town house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Olde Castle House Hotel Richmond
The Castle House Richmond, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.