We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely places as pictures show” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bridgedown House

Bridgedown House
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bridgedown House to your Saves list
Bridgedown House
Station Cottages, Richmond DL10 4LB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 45 Richmond B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely places as pictures show”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

we had travelled for a party for a 61st Wedding Anniversary in February & stopped over at Bridgedown House B&B. the place is as the pictures shows, however the Proprietor was in her dressing gown all evening pottering around upstairs in the B&B... her young son was on the run around and at one stage was not so nice!!, then with the Proprietor Mother was having to chase after him & kept telling him to be quite.
The central heating was not on until 7pm & was of before 10pm. so my husband & I, with my parents who are in the late 60s in one of the other rooms, were very cold as we had arrived at 12noon that day. the heating didn't go on till 7am in the morning, by this time you had to start to pack to be down for breakfast with the time allocated & out by 10am dead on. (as requested)
breakfast was lovely, although very cold in the B&B sitting eating the breakfast.
you would say that if it is cold outside that you would put the heating on in the building to make you feel cosy & warm, however I will say to take extra clothing with you, as you will be cold there.
Parking is tight with the Proprietor & Proprietor mother's car parked out front.
has a lovely view out back looking over the river. that was nice to look at.
all in all we was cold & that doesn't make you happy....

Room Tip: take extra clothing in the cold winter, autumn & spring time.... don't get the room with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Although the room was not overly spacious, it was beautifully presented. The view from the window overlooked a stream and an old fashioned garden. The ensuite was very clean and all facilities, TV, wifi and tea making facilities worked well. The queen-size bed was comfortable. We were given a warm welcome by the hostess, who was friendly and helpful. The property is located adjacent to The Station, the restored railway station, which now houses cafe, food outlets, cinema etc. It is also located a short distance from the centre of historic Richmond. It was an ideal place to base ourselves to visit both North Yorkshire Moors and Yorkshire Dales. We could have quite easily have spent longer there but had to move on. On the minus, some people may find parking close to the property difficult.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Was met with a warm welcome and shown to a lovely room. There was a really nice view over the garden and stream beyond that. Everything was clean and tidy and on the whole beatifully presented. It was exactly how you should expect to find a B&B. We had an early night and there was quite a bit of noise up until 10pm and then it stopped. This was alright though, any later and I would have been bothered,

The cooked breakfast the next morning was delicious!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I dropped into Bridgedown House en route to Scotland and what a wonderful surprise it was! After a warm welcome I, was shown to a spacious stylish room with large ensuite bathroom, beautifully presented. Sky TV and wifi worked well and the tea making facilities were top notch. The house is in a wonderful location with walks, shops and historic sites well within walking distance. Richmond itself is a great place to explore.
Although I did not take breakfast, I was assured by my host Sheila that the full range was available. I shall certainly be booking in on my way back down country.

Room Tip: Good for families, couples or singles - everyone catered for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Our family stayed for two nights in a room during the coast-to-coast walk. The hostess is very friendly and helpful. Located right next to the historic railway station and near the river, and a few minutes from the central town square. Only thing that prevents it from five stars is that there could be more selection for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Great location - next to cinema and cafe. House is superb. Rooms are spacious and well - equipped. Needs decorating and a good deep clean. Was very noisy in morning and last thing at night. All 4 of us were woken up a few times even though we all wore ear-plugs - we were
there for 2 days and this was this only down side. People need to be made aware to keep noise to a minimum especially in a new house!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stayed for one night only with family & friends, we were made to feel very welcome, rooms clean with towels, TV, tea, coffee, biscuits etc, ours was a twin with a nice en suite shower room, & a nice view of the river behind us. Downstairs has a nice lounge & breakfast room with garden view, there is parking space on the drive, & its only a short walk into Richmond centre. Breakfast very nice with a good choice as well as usual full English (as a veggie it would be nice if veg sausages were available) Overall a pleasant stay & would definatly visit again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bridgedown House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgedown House

Address: Station Cottages, Richmond DL10 4LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a variety of rooms and services to ensure that your every need is met and that your stay with us is a memorable and pleasant experience. Our modern home is based on the design of the station masters house. We are set beside the River Swale 25m to the rear, to the front of the house is the famous Richmond Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Bridgedown House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridgedown House Richmond, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridgedown House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.