We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had one of the quiestest & peaceful weekends EVER here!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brompton Lakes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brompton Lakes
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Brompton Lakes | Easby, Richmond DL10 7EJ, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off with Loyalty Card
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Had one of the quiestest & peaceful weekends EVER here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We was lucky enough to be invited to stay with our friends/family for the last weekend of their week's stay here, when we arrived (which the sat nav couldn't find it, just simply follow your nose when you hit richmond as its not a big place) we where blown away by house seculded it was, there like little hobbit holes... Thats probably the best way for you all to picture them...

The lodges are huge inside, so much room to cook, host and chill out in. and the decor is amazing; although I think they are different in each one & the lodges have names (I THINK we stayed in Flora)

If your into fishing then this is a winner for you as each lodge has its own fish post for the lake; honestly the views are amazing - you will not be disapointed if you book to stay here. Visit the website for the pictures and they are exactly how it all looks on there. There is a nice stream as well which in the summer you could easily do some wild swimming in.

We hired bikes from the site and rode into the town which being an avid bike rider was amazing (wish I'd taken my own bike though...) we got some meat and fish from the market and then cycled back with it all in our packs; as we had hired the BBQ hut for the saturday night, which I advised YOU ALL DO!! - We got given a iPod docking station to have in there too by the owner which was a great touch, had music blasting (can be as loud as you want as you're away from the lodges but still on the site) you could easily fit 6-8 people in it... maybe even more!! The food was great being cooked on there - and the BBQ itself is nice and big to fit plenty of things on. There is a little bench outside the hut to eat on, you don't get smoked out being inside it either which is nice.

I would say spend a week here as there is so much to explore around the are - I advise going to Fountains Abbey nearby or one of the waterfalls near Hawes or Aysgarth (Hardraw Force is my favourite nearby)

ENJOY!!

Room Tip: All the Lodges are on the lake so you don't have to worry about that, we stayed in Flora so I ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thanks so much for your terrific feedback - great to hear that you had such a wonderful time here and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Went with our two year old and friends. fantastic time. Highly recommend. Booked up for next year same time same cabin. 5 star cabins. Walk to richmond was lovely! staff fantastic! everything catered for. couldnt ask for anything more.

Room Tip: Cara cabin wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for such lovely feedback and we're really pleased you had such a great time here. See you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This was the 4th time we had stayed at brompton ,really enjoyed it as usual. The only minor blot was my husband was fixing his fishing rod on the decking and someone, the cleaning staff we assume ,reported he was fishing from the deck and a member of staff was there in minutes to tell him he couldn't fish from the decking, as he clearly wasn't he was a llittle annoyed .
Apart from that we had a lovely time ,lodge was lovely but we have decided we prefer style A if there are more than two people as there is a bit more privacy regarding bathrooms

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thanks for your review and we're pleased that you had another great stay here. We take great care to manage the lakes responsibly and the welfare of the fish is really important to us so we do try and keep an eye on things to ensure the health of the lakes and their inhabitants! Thank you for your understanding and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We visited Brompton Lakes in late November 2013 for a weekend break with our son and his wife plus two small dogs.

The lodges are located in beautiful parkland overlooking two spectacular lakes. The autumn colours of the mature trees were at their very best. We enjoyed three crisp cold days of dog walking and three nights sat beside the log burner.

We stayed in dog-friendly Imogen lodge and found it to be very comfortable. The lodge had everything you would possibly need for a relaxing holiday. The welcome hamper was a nice touch and we soon had the bottle of red open.

Primarily we were just wanting to chill and kick back a little without any big plans for the weekend. On the second day we forced ourselves out of Brompton Lakes and managed to walk along the river to Richmond, visiting the old railway station and Richmond Market.

Over the weekend we had dinner at The Shoulder of Mutton in Middleton Tyas (giving me the opportunity to get my 'this isn't a bad joint' joke in) and lunch at The Heifer in Scorton. The Heifer was superb and we would highly recommend the Sunday lunch.

We will definitely be back and have tried to re-book for the New Year period but predictably its full.

The shower in the en-suite only produced a trickle, not wanting to cause a fuss our son didn't mention it until the last night otherwise we would have reported it to the site team during our visit. We did report it on departure and are sure it will be sorted now.

Perfect location, superb lodges, great dog walks, excellent pubs and restaurants all equals a very enjoyable weekend break.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we're so pleased that you will be back. It's never a problem to report any issues to us while you're here, we have a dedicated maintenance team on hand for just these kinds of things. The shower is indeed fixed now and back to its powerful best! Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is our second trip to Brompton Lakes and we love it. It's a gem. Fabulous lodges (Isabella) just pure quality. Attention to detail throughout the lodge and surrounding landscape. A fantastic find which is now on our annual calendar! Dog friendly as well!! Brilliant!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you so much for all your terrific comments. Look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We, along with two good friends, have just come back from a few lovely days at Brompton Lakes. This was our second visit this year and was just as good as the first. The site team are so very pleasant and helpful with nothing being too much trouble.

Following a very efficient check-in (and a friendly chat), we were shown to our luxury lodge where a small food hamper of the essentials, coffee, wine and local cheese awaited us. This gesture is greatly appreciated and a really nice way to start the break.

The spacious lodge was spotless, extremely well appointed, warm and are very welcoming – each lodge is decorated slightly differently from each other which provides character. The large area of decking, overlooked by large glass windows and sliding doors is a great place to sit, relax and watch the passing wildlife.

Without hesitation, I would recommend Brompton Lakes to anyone who wants to wind down and enjoy a few days of peace and tranquillity.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review. It was great to see you back at Brompton Lakes and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed in lodge jules at the end of september when we booked as a surprise join our family who were also staying there as they were getting married in richmond.
jules is a beautiful lodge in a lovely position set back from the lake, and easy access with parking outside.
we could not fault or complain about anything at all, the staff were very welcoming, the hamper is also a lovely gesture.
we are planning on returning spring next year. Thank you everyone at bromton lakes for a lovely memorable family wedding weekend. Our brother in law even caught a fish before he left for the registry office!

Room Tip: Prefer the layout of lodge style a. This style gives sense of more space when you have a toddler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BromptonLakesLodges, Public Relations Manager at Brompton Lakes, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review. We love it when people stay here for weddings and so pleased that it went so well for your sister and brother-in-law. Look forward to welcoming you back in Spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brompton Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brompton Lakes

Address: Brompton Lakes | Easby, Richmond DL10 7EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty lodging in Richmond
Hotel Class:5 star — Brompton Lakes 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brompton Lakes is an exclusive development of luxury eco lodges situated just two miles from the historic market town of Richmond on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Set in 26 acres of privately owned land, the 5-star lodges are designed to complement the natural features of this stunning lakeside location, the award-winning lodges are distinctive and contemporary and are built on the shores of two lakes, surrounded by woodland and open countryside.Hot-tubs, tennis court, Scandinavian BBQ house, lake and river fishing and mountain bikes all exclusively for guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brompton Lakes Hotel Richmond
Brompton Lakes Richmond, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brompton Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Brompton Lakes to your Saves list