We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Richmond
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria House
3 Linden Close, Richmond DL10 7AL , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 Richmond B&B and Inns
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 star...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great accommodation in a great location. Rooms are beautiful and the hospitality from Carole and Norman is second to none. The breakfasts are fantastic too. Would recommend- we will definitely be returning again soon!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterpistol, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, Norman is really proud of his Breakfast Award and we're glad to see that your breakfast lived up to expectations! It is so nice to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us and even better to know that they will be returning soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
44
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights,as I was attending a course in the area.I would recommend Victoria House highly,it is in a great location for a stroll into town and the surroundings are so quiet.The room I stayed in was beautiful and I would say 5*.The owners are really friendly and I am sure nothing is too much trouble for them!
So if you need somewhere to stay in Richmond this is the place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterpistol, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We really appreciate your kind comments, thank you.We hope the course worked out well for you and look forward to welcoming you and your family to Victoria House later this year..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed before but never reviewed - never reviewed anything to be honest. However as accommodation of choice for the business and as a returnee I think a review and a pat on the back is more than due.
Great accommodation in a great location.
Beautiful rooms
Amazing hospitality
Gourmet breakfast
Spotlessly clean and with free wifi!

What more can you ask for from a business trip - it's even a shirt walk to the bars and eating establishments.

Room Tip: They only have two - both doubles. My colleague stayed in the other. Can't choose between them r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterpistol, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your great review, it's always good to know that we are keeping our business customers happy. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTTIGHAM
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a very nice and plesent stay at Victoria House. Location was good for a stroll into town. Carol and Norman were very helpfull with advice where to eat and directions into town. Breakfast was very large and very good. Norman gives you man sized meals so if you dont like waist let him know. The dogs might starve tho lol.

On the note of Dogs..... I am not a lover to say the least but I have to say If I hadnt seen him myself you would know he was there. No smells no barking, myself and my partner are very allergic to dogs but we had no issues at all. Please dont let this put you off staying at the Victoria House B and B

Will stay again ideal 1/2 way point for us.

Thank Again xx

Room Tip: when we stayed it was blowing a gail outside and there is a lot of large old trees around. So if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterpistol, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments, Wesley (our spaniel) will get an extra biscuit for his good behaviour ! Regarding the 'gale' blowing .... we remember it was a really awful December night when you stayed with us and although we are surrounded by mature trees most of our guests have found the wind in the trees and the occasional owl hooting a better alternative to midnight revelers and traffic noise. We look forward o your return visit and will try to allocate the ground floor room to you both if it's windy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with Carole and Norman at Victoria House for the Weekend. We found the hosts Carole and Norman very friendly and helpful telling us what shops, restaurants to visit and other historical sites. Victoria House was situated in a little hideaway,peaceful away from traffic but less than 10 mins from the Market place. Our room was on the first floor we found it Clean, Comfortable, Peaceful and very Stylish. Breakfast was first class and set us up for the day. Thank you Carole and Norman we will definately return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterpistol, Owner at Victoria House, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments, it's always a pleasure to share our favourite 'haunts' with our guests, many of whom comment on the peace and tranquility of Victoria House, we hope to see you again in the summer when you can take advantage of our lovely gravel garden. It was a pleasure to meet you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

What else can I say that hasn't already been said?. I was travelling up to Richmond on business from South Devon and stayed just for one night at Victoria House. The owners were very welcoming, the room was very warm, (-4'c outside) clean and very nicely finished. A nice touch was having fresh milk in the room rather than the expected UHT.. Tea just isn't right without fresh milk!
The bed was very comfortable and a good nights sleep was had with no noise from the outside world whatsoever. Breakfast was fantastic, a lovely dining room laid out for four or more people even though I believed I was the only guest. it was a nice touch. The breakfast was cooked perfectly and set me up for the journey back to Devon.

As a previous guest commented, the two dogs were nowhere to be seen or heard. Oh' and free open WiFi
10/10 Victoria House

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterpistol, Manager at Victoria House, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review, it's good to know that we looked after you so well after such a long and arduous journey !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Spur of the moment decision to have weekend break - spent a couple of days of autumnal walking in and around Richmond. Decided to revisit this lovely B&B. We stayed here shortly after Carole and Norman took over - I'm pleased to say it was every bit as lovely as we remember. Very comfortable, very clean room, everything to hand. Delicious breakfast - Norman is very good in the kitchen! Just the thing to set you up for a long walk. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walterpistol, Manager at Victoria House, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Guests, we are so please you enjoyed your stay with us and also our 'award winning breakfast'. It is very satisfying to see guests returning and makes us feel we are 'doing a good job' here at Victoria House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Victoria House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria House

Address: 3 Linden Close, Richmond DL10 7AL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional stone-built house in a quiet, secluded, garden setting a few minutes stroll from the market place. Clean,contemporary designed rooms with marble tiled shower - rooms; all en-suite, one of which is on the ground floor with easy access for less mobile guests, King-sized beds, 5* Egyptian cotton linens, quality toiletries, free Wi-Fi,flat screen digital TVs with free view. Award winning Yorkshire breakfasts using local produce, home -made bread and preserves.Private garden for guests use with outside seating, private parking on-site, secure storage for bikes.Home made scones on arrival. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Victoria House Richmond, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Victoria House to your Saves list