We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A poor experience I hope is never repeated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blacks Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blacks Bistro
12 Finkle Street, Richmond, England
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A poor experience I hope is never repeated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We arrived at the Bistro without a reservation (party of 5) but were told that plenty of tables were available. Were taken to a round table which had a dirty tablecloth from previous occupants of the table which had obviously recently been cleared. This would have been fine but the manager tried to seat us at the table and we had to request a clean cloth. We then stood around the restaurant uncomfortably for 5 minutes whilst he went get one. I was shocked when he returned with a white bed sheet. The waitress joked that all the tablecloths had been used and this was the only thing they could find. The sheet was so long that our feet kept getting tangled up but at least it was clean.
The table was laid for 4 people (we were obviously 5) and orders taken by a frazzled looking waitress who did not appear to know what she was doing. Had to check with the kitchen when we asked what the soup of the day was, and then returned to the kitchen again when we asked what the side vegetables were.
Orders taken and starters arrived quickly. All five were fantastic and the soup was particularly delicious.
When the five main courses arrived the meal took a turn for the worse. Four of the five mains came with both mashed and roast potatoes both of which were terrible. The mash was incredibly lumpy and tasteless and the roast pots so hard we couldn't cut them. Three great slabs of dry, tough beef were also served for the roast dinners and a pink looking breast of chicken (complete with feathers) the other meat of choice for one of our party. The vegetables were obviously frozen and a pile of wet soggy mush in two bowls with no seasoning. The only nice meal served was a vegetarian mushroom stroganoff.
It was obvious that we were unhappy with our meals and the waitress went to check with the manager and came back to inform us that one of the main courses had been removed from the bill. It was obvious that she was inexperienced and trying to help which is why we didn't have the heart to also point out that we had been overcharged on the house wine - it wasn't worth it as we will definitely NOT EVER be going back to this place.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tamworth
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“good intentions but meal dissappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We ate in the bar of the Black Lion having been recommended it by our bed breakfast place. I saw no evidence of a BIstro upstairs, but neither was I looking. Has it closed? We arriveds about 8.30pm on a Friday and it wasn't busy. By 9.00pm the whole place was deserted except for us. The food was not inspiring, but I felt that maybe other dishes on the menu would have been better and certainly there was a feeling that the place was trying hard. I had pork in a sauce with fresh veg, which was lovely, but served on a huge pile of heavy lumpy stilton mash which overwhelmed the good bits. The barbecue sauce on the chicken that my son had was just a thick gloop. There was no feeling that it would be nice to stay for coffee or pudding despite the pleasant staff. Not sure if this is still a pub or just restaurant. Having the tv on made it pub-like I suppose. The sauvignon blanc by the glass was nice and I almost feel a curiosity to eat there again should I be passing as I am sure it can do better.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great food, pleasant ambience - a reliable spot for a good meal in Richmond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We went to the Bistro with a very large group (18) so our table entirely filled the upstairs dining room. The chef came by and the waitress did an excellent job of fielding orders from such a big group. The food came out hot and well prepared and each person got just what they ordered! Great job.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely hit the spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I happened upon this place by accident. I have to admit that I HATE motorway service areas and travel off road to find places to eat. On Saturday night I pitched up in Richmond looking for something to eat. I was looking for a basic pub meal with no real frills and that is what I got. I left having eat sufficient and that is all you can really ask in that sort of circumstance. If I had a criticism I would say that the food was slightly more expensive than I might have expected for the type of food it was. It would be nit picking but I add it for balance.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“This is an excellent experience with superb food in great surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

The bistro is now only open Thursdays to Saturdays and some Sunday lunchtimes.
This is apparently because they were trying to offer too many dining options at once.
The bistro concenrates on high quality food and service is excellent. The prices now range between £8.50 and £14.95 per course and the menu is the same both upstairs and in the bar downstairs. The specials, which are on offer Thursdays to Sundays throughout the hotel, are innovative and change from week to week. The lamb wellington is probably one of the best meals I have eaten in a long time. The fish pie is excellent and the new wine list provides great variety. One visit is not enough!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blacks Bistro also viewed

Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
East Layton, Richmond
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blacks Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.