We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine chipper” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Horse Cafe

White Horse Cafe
227 High St, Northallerton DL7 8LU, England
01609 780272
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 82 Restaurants in Northallerton
Restaurant details
Montrose, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A fine chipper”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Popped into the restaurant with my mate to have lunch on our motorbike run.
Excellent service,good value. But most importantly we both had a fine bit of fish, and right tasty chips add in a bowl of mushy peas and it was a very good lunch. There was virtually no conversation as we were so enjoying our food!!
It was also well populated by the locals which suggests they know a good chipper also.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Poor Quality fish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Sorry but fish was full of bones , tiny and chips were fine, as I live local usually go once a month but NEVER again......Staff waste of time school kids in charge.............

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hopefully just having a bad day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Moody staff and when opened the order (takeaway) it was wrong. The food was not the best either, especially for the price paid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An average fish and chip shop.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The overall trip was fine but a few little things meant that it wasn't a great experience. The fish and chips for the price you pay should include tea. We were also given the bill before we'd even received the food which is a bit off putting. The service was okay but could've been better. The fish and chips were tasty but the plates far too small. I would say after my meal I would rather have a takeaway as it's probably better value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned cafe..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stopped here for a late fish and chip lunch and was pleasantly surprised. There is a takeaway and a sit in area with really nice staff and very attentive.

Nice and clean, traditional style café which also makes you feel you've had a treat.

Good cup of tea too!

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Horse Cafe also viewed

Thirsk, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to White Horse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Horse Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.