We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Grace Priory

Mount Grace Priory
Staddle Bridge, Northallerton DL6 3JG, England
01609 883494
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Local Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Living locally I've been here a couple of times and its been lovely to see it develop. It's tranquil and relaxing, you could sit in the grounds for hours if you wanted to. The displays in the house clearly show the history and its fascinating to see, perfectly explained without going into too much detail, you're not bored or over loaded! We ventured into the attic that has recently been opened and were met by two members of staff who showed us photos of the families growing up there and their height charts pencilled in the wood as they were growing up! This for me was the best bit it seemed more real somehow!

One word of warning, don't try the monk's own liqueur available to try in the shop unless you have a very very strong stomach..... Wow that stuff is strong!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    24
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
“Grace and Gardens.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Two years and four days since our last visit we returned to Mount Grace with a couple who had never been before and their Toddler grandson. Access is via a narrow lane off the A19, a little awkward as its at the apex of a curve. Parking is adequate and the fee of £4 is refunded on admission to the priory on production of the appropriate portion of the ticket from the machine, A short walk to the house past the gardens to pay the reasonable entrance fee then in to the priory ruin behind. Our party totalled eleven and we claimed a picnic table as a base, there are never enough of these, before some dispersed to explore, others to play and still others to sit and enjoy the sun. The ruins are remarkable and boast a restored monks cell in one of the cloisters. One of the water sources is visible in one corner in a small glen in the hillside, surrounded by yellow Primula, water flowing from it along the stone channel. Despite the proximity of the A19 the site is very secluded and peaceful, perfect for a family day out. We lunched on a communal picnic, before returning to exploring the ruins.
Our teenage sons and the toddler found playing on the wide lawns better entertainment, though there were plenty of children enjoying the same thing.
A tour of the house now includes the attic's an area previously closed off to the public, this offers new views out over the priory and gardens. The rest of the house contains the shop, toilets, a couple of furnished rooms and exhibitions about the rise and fall of the priory.
The gardens are a pleasure, though due to the weather over the spring a little behind where they were on our last visit, this however gave us views of the entire water course to the ponds that run through it. We walked them last as a way of calming the toddler ready for the journey home at the end of an excellent day.
The only draw back and the reason I cannot give full marks to this site is the lack of a cafe, there is a machine in the shop, but the lack of a cafe is a sad deficiency, inconvenience and an opportunity lost.
We would however highly recommend a visit to this extraordinary place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLDHAM
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Unusual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is an atmospheric place by the busy A19 in Yorkshire. Its an interesting place with an interesting history. Ideal for picnics btw.
Our visit was made perfect by a guide named Mrs Simpson who was hiding in the attic. She has an encyclopaedic knowledge of the history of the families who owned Mount Grace and a particular passion for the family of Gertrude Bell etc. Our thanks to her.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartlepool
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“some great stonework”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

went to Mount Grace today, Sunday 5/5/13 what a beautiful place to visit.
the remains of the monastery are well worth the nominal entry fee.
we had a walk round the Osmotherly area first then dropped down into the monastery after a visit to Lady Chapel on the hillside.
there's picnic tables inside the grounds which you can use with your own food and drink etc.
but there was no sign of the Stoats made famous by David Attenburgh a few years ago.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Peaceful and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My friend and I visited here at the end of April, we were surprised by how homely the manor house felt, I guess because its not too big and it was well decorated. It is run by English Heritage, the staff were very interesting and happy to share their knowledge too. The exhibits of the history of the monastery,priory, manor house and its occupants over the years were v interesting.
The gardens/ruins were well presented and rather large, all I can say is poor grass cutter :)
The only little thing this attraction needs is a little tea room, overlooking the ruins, they have a small vending coffee machine in the corner of the gift shop at present.
Nice easy half day visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Grace Priory also viewed

Osmotherley, Northallerton
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Mount Grace Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Grace Priory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.