We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lovesome Hill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northallerton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lovesome Hill Farm
Save
You added Lovesome Hill Farm to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Lovesome Hill, Northallerton DL6 2PB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Northallerton B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My notes read - tea and homemade bics on arrival, great welcome, excellent rooms, interesting farm, nice shower, great brekky with own bacon. We were walking the Coast to Coast. We ate our evening meal here as well as there is nowhere within walking distance and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Mary had scones and tea ready when we arrived, and the service and welcoming atmosphere lasted our entire stay. Mary and John really make one feel at home. Mary made roast beef and Yorkshire pudding for dinner, and the meal was excellent. Breakfast was at the same standard. The only drawback was the lack of internet, but there were kittens.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We had a great (two night) stay at Lovesome Hill Farm and enjoyed great breakfasts. Our room was lovely and very quiet. We enjoyed having a look around the farm and seeing the cattle, pigs, sheep and chickens (there's even a hot tub - but we didn't try it - bit chilly in October for us. The Internet worked OK.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A lovely Yorkshire couple runs this B&B on a working farm the 'Coast to Coast' walk and offer reasonable rates. Breakfasts were excellent, location was great (convenient for both the Moors and the Dales), parking was right outside the door, bathroom facilities were good, but the bed was rather worn out.

We were disappointed because the internet did not work at all, even though this was a specific condition of our booking.

Bottom line: fix the internet setup and invest in new mattress and i would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Johnson's Cleaners in Northallerton will wash a dry a medium suitcase of laundry for 10 pounds G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P, Owner at Lovesome Hill Farm, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We sincerely apologise for the lack of wireless Internet connectivity during your stay.

We would like to take this opportunity to explain that the problem you encountered was not due to our in-house setup of equipment. The reason you were unable to connect was due to an intermittent telecoms fault in the area and was the responsibility of our service provider and therefore completely out of our control.

We have contacted the provider and they have apologised and have assured us that they are working hard to resolve the issue.

John and Mary Pearson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in September. Before making the booking we sent Lovesome Hill Farm an email asking if they had internet access for customers and they said yes. When we arrived this was not the case. We had a strong signal to the wifi but could not login. All the other customers had the same problem and getting it sorted out was not a priority to the owners. The Bed we had was also very old way too soft!

On a positive note the breakfast and location was good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary P, Owner at Lovesome Hill Farm, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We sincerely apologise for the lack of wireless Internet connectivity during your stay.

We would like to take this opportunity to explain that the problem you encountered was not due to our in-house setup of equipment. The reason you were unable to connect was due to an intermittent telecoms fault in the area and was the responsibility of our service provider and therefore completely out of our control.

We have contacted the provider and they have apologised and have assured us that they are working hard to resolve the issue.

John and Mary Pearson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at Lovesome Hill Farm en route to Scotland. Our room was large, very clean and well equipped. Bathrobes were a nice and an unexpected gesture. Our friend's single, although small, was comfortable and had all he needed for a one-night stay. Breakfast was excellent and served with a smile. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed several times and each one is just as good as last time! Mary and John always offer a warm welcome with a tray of tea or coffee and biscuits which can be taken in the lovely orchard. The breakfasts are excellent and evening meals or packed lunches are an option if required. It is a working farm and John is always more than happy to talk about what is going on and show you around. A great place to stay for families and couples alike -can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lovesome Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovesome Hill Farm

Address: Lovesome Hill, Northallerton DL6 2PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Northallerton
Hotel Class:4 star — Lovesome Hill Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mary and John Pearson welcome you to their home and working farm offering bed and breakfast, where you can enjoy the delights of staying in the peaceful countryside overlooking the Hambleton HillsIn the heart of North Yorkshire we are skirted either side by the Yorkshire Dales and Moors National Parks, both areas of outstanding natural beauty.We will endeavour to make your stay enjoyable offering local information on great places to visit, including tourist attractions and historical sites, and also the best places to eat and drink. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lovesome Hill Farm Northallerton, North Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovesome Hill Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.