We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best breakfast in Northallerton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garthway Tea Room

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Garthway Tea Room
3, Garthway Arcade, Northallerton DL7 8NS, England
01609 771408
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 82 Restaurants in Northallerton
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, English, Continental
Restaurant details
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best breakfast in Northallerton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great, freshly cooked, locally sourced, produce. The full English is my favourite and there is plenty on the menu to cater for all tastes, including a specials board.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Garthway Tea rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Cheap and cheerful all home cooked food no frills but great for lunch with husband/wife or friends. Always served with a smile

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average cafe: nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We tried this cafe on Market Day: I had a BLT sandwich which on the menu was described as served with salad garnish and Pringle crisps: the sandwich came on its own on a small plate: no salad garnish and no pringles: my 'better half' had a warm bacon/black pudding salad: it was ok but certainly no 'wow' factor: pot of tea was poor quality: we like a nice cup of tea but this was a greyish colour and didnt taste very nice: bill came to £10.10 and we weren't asked if everything was ok: all in all this is an average cafe and I wasn't tempted to go back either by the cafe interior or the foodor service: cafe gets some good reviews but unfortunately its not for us, sorry.....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Light Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Good service, food average, acceptable for price paid. Friendly staff, would go back for a quick snack and convienience of location to town.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beats the chain coffee houses by a country mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Most visitors to Northallerton will miss this treat, hidden down the Garthway Arcade.

Wonderful breakfasts, sumptuous cakes, lovely staff and a cracking cuppa are all available at excellent prices.

Always busy, but pleasantly relaxed seating and extra space upstairs, it's one of my favourite places to meet friends.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garthway Tea Room also viewed

Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Northallerton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Garthway Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garthway Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.