We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elmscott

Elmscott
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northallerton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elmscott
Save
You added Elmscott to your Saves list
10 Hatfield Road, Northallerton DL7 8QX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 27 Northallerton B&B and Inns
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A very friendly and high standard b&b in a quiet side road between the Station and the High Street. The room we stayed in was first rate, spacious, warm and comfortable, and the en-suite facilities were also very good. The hosts were welcoming, friendly and helpful, Excellent breakfast and a lovely character property and garden. Highly recommended and a refreshing alternative to identikit hotel chains.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had to find emergency accomodation following a flood and they couldn't have been more welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble, a gentle pace enabliing our trauma to subside. We stayed as long as they could take us for, unfortunatley they were fully booked for the second weekend. I shall certainly recommend it to anyone I can. The rooms were light and airy, the water very hot and free wifi makes so much difference.

Room Tip: The twin is the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

we stayed here for 2 nights as attending a wedding in Northallerton. Elmscott is a beautiful building set in a very pretty garden, in a side road, with good parking facilities on the drive to the property. Lovely room with original doors and windows -our bed was very comfortable and we slept very well. There was a good variety for breakfast including fruit, yoghurts etc, although my partner did comment that he would have liked a sausage (I hadn't noticed there wasn't one until he said !!) The hosts are very friendly and helpful - I was loaned hair grips for a fascinator that wouldn't sit still, and we were offered a lift to the wedding venue - excellent service :D

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010 via mobile

Fantastic little gem of a place. Excellent location. Superb service. Great value. Stayed 5 nights and was a pleasure throughout my stay. Owners were very friendly. Excellent choice by them to go visit tall ships in Hartlepool. Will definatley stay again. A little gem in a quite secluded corner of Northallerton 5 mins walk from town.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

Was everything we hoped for -- lovely spot located in an easily walkable town, near the train station; very pleasant, spacious, comfortable room. Owners happily accommodated our special requests.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

Elmscott Bed and Breakfast in Northallerton is a very nice place to stay. The hosts are quiet and helpful people. Our twin room en-suite and the rest of the house were extremely clean and comfortable (good beds). Parking easy. All breakfast items were of good quality – and plenty too. A small wish: an antiscate "thing" in the bathtub would be nice.

No problems having our breakfast earlier the last day (we had to go early for the airport).

There is a lovely garden with a table and chairs. The garden itself is interesting.

Elmscott is located 0, 25 miles/400 meter from the first restaurant at High Street, where you also find more restaurants and pubs to everyone’s taste (but why do the British eat so early?). The location for the Bed and Breakfast is a quiet street away from street noise.

We stayed there 2 x 2 nights early July. We stayed to nights to do some sightseeing in The Yorkshire Moors and Thirsk. Then left for 2 days to Lake District and returned there for more sightseeing.

Northallerton is NOT by any means a tourist town. It’s local and authentic – and a perfect location to do sightseeing in both The Yorkshire Moors and The Yorkshire Dales, not to mention that Thirsk (Darrowby in “All creature great and small”) is 10-15 min. away by car and York can be reached in 1 hour.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elmscott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmscott

Address: 10 Hatfield Road, Northallerton DL7 8QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Northallerton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Elmscott Northallerton, North Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elmscott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.