We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why is Northallerton closed on Monday and Tuesday ?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Lion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Golden Lion Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Lion Hotel
114 High Street, Northallerton DL7 8PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Northallerton
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Why is Northallerton closed on Monday and Tuesday ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed 2 nights whilst walking the Cleveland way, the hotel is much bigger than expected and the rooms were tired but clean and reasonable value for money. However if you plan a trip to Northallerton beware, the majority of the restaurants and pubs do not serve food on a Monday and Tuesday evening ! If you plan to go do some research on potential restaurants first because there are plenty nice pubs serving food in the surrounding villages.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    53
    26
    12
    9
See reviews for
19
46
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My colleagues and I booked the Golden Lion for a friend's retirement function for 40 people and a business meeting over 2 days in June. The hotel did an excellent job. All the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. The food for the retirement dinner was excellent and the service also excellent throughout the whole evening. My room was very good with all the facilities in good working order and very clean and tidy. The following day the hotel provided us with use of a v good meeting room with tea and coffee.

Overall, a great stay, excellent dinner and meeting. Very good value for money. My thanks to the hotel staff for putting on a great function befitting of our colleagues 53 years service to the MOD. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for just 1night but I had a really nice stay. Room was lovely, nicely decorated, super clean and had great facilities even shoe polisher & sewing kit as standard.
I somehow tripped the fuse for the sockets in the room but the reception team were fast and efficient to sort the problem. I stayed on a sunday night which is 'band night' in the bar, I had a great night. the country band (I didnt catch their name) were fabulous. If I visit the area again I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night on june 15. Check in very quick. Staff all very smart and polite. Hotel couldnt be better situated. Lovely courtyard out the back to enjoy the sunshine. Nice breakfast served in lovely dining room. Will definately return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel in centrally located in Nothallerton, about a 20 minute walk from the railway station. This both a good and a bad thing. It is an easy walk from the station on a fine day but also a problem. I stayed on a rare hot summer evening and there was loud music near by until at least midnight. I had to check out at 07:50 on the Saturday morning which meant I could not have breakfast as it did not start until 08:00 on a Saturday. Besides that the room I had was large compared to others I have stayed in and clean with complementary tea and coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've rated this excellent not because it was a five star accomodation but because my stay was 5 star. Easy to find, great price on laterooms. Smooth check In. Quirky little place with quite a few stairs. We stayed in a small double room with a large bathroom, did see some other rooms which were larger. Hotel arranged a taxi for us to our venue. When we returned the bar was still open - til 2am - not at all raucous. Just a variety of residents enjoying a few night caps.
However, the night caps prevented me from enjoying the lovely buffet breakfast in the morning :( guess I will have to go back another time. Check out was 11am which gives you plenty of time to get showered and organise yourself for the journey home.
If you stay on a Tuesday or Friday night then you will be able to enjoy the following days markets.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islington, London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just stayed the one night here but would definitely stay again. Tidy room with everything you'd need. Superb breakfast - none of the mass-produced fodder you're likley to get at a chain-hotel. The bar will stay open late as well if you ask nicely :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel

Address: 114 High Street, Northallerton DL7 8PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Northallerton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Northallerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hotel Northallerton, North Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.