We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monk Fryston Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monk Fryston Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Monk Fryston LS25 5DU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monk Fryston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
north yorks
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We visited here with a party of ladies for afternoon tea. The setting is lovely.The staff were pleasant,service excellent. The sandwiches and cakes were delicious with a good selection of both.Tea and coffee pots were replenished when empty.Nothing was too much trouble.The best afternoon tea around and very reasonably priced in comparison with other hotels

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    88
    43
    15
    8
See reviews for
36
129
5
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
WILMSLOW
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have stayed for the weekend at Monk Fryston Hall 3 times and always had the most wonderful time, the staff bend over backward to ensure a perfect stay. From the moment I arrive until the moment I leave nothing is too much trouble.
From bringing me Gluten free bread at the drop of a hat to remembering to bring hot water for my 'special' tea I know I am in safe hands.
I have always had lovely rooms and if there have been any small niggles they are quick to rectify them.
The food has been amazing, I have been staying with parties of 30 each time and to get that standard of food right every time with lots of scrummy homemade fair it would be hard to complain. The breakfast....just perfect.. I can wait to return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Had a two night midweek stay on the bed /breakfast and evening meal tariff.
Stunning character hotel with magnificent rooms and grounds. Room 5 has an invitingly enormous canopied bed and lovely views over the grounds. Everything spotlessly clean and very comfortable.
The food was excellent and all the staff were warm, friendly and efficient. The tariff proved to be exceptional value for money.
Our dog was made as welcome as we were, outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary of 5 years, and still found the hotel as lovely and relaxing as ever - we got married here in August 2008. It was also nice to see staff there who worked at the hotel 5 years ago on our wedding day - staff retention says a lot about a place to work really. We found the staff chatty and polite, and had good service at our evening meal and breakfast. The grounds are still as we remembered from our wedding day and it was nice to reminisce and walk down to the old boathouse. Our room was clean and the evening meal was really good quality. The breakfast was a hearty full english and hit the spot nicely. Not much more to say really. Monky Fryston holds a special place in our hearts, and we think it is a beautiful hotel and grounds with gorgeous food, whilst still having genuine friendly staff to give you a warm welcome. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My son and his new wife were married at Monk Fryston Hall on Saturday the 31st of August 2013. This is a beautiful venue for a wedding with great opportunities for photographs in the stunning gardens, but I would strongly recommend finding a photographer with knowledge and experience of the venue to get the most out of it. The room in which the civil ceremony and wedding breakfast took place, was beautifully presented and the food was of a good standard. The staff were helpful, friendly and attentive and worked hard to make the day the success it was. The room in which my wife and I stayed was in the old part of the hotel and was clean and quiet and breakfast was very good quality. Overall a very good venue for a wedding or a special occasion at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Room 5 is a nice Superior room in the old part of the Hotel with a nice view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I took our dog scampy here for lunch in the bar area. Food was reasonably priced and very tasty. Staff were very efficient and helpful and make both us and our dog very welcome. After eating we had a drink on the terrace before walking through the beautiful gardens. Such a refreshing change to see a wonderful hotel which is also truly dog friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stay in a 12th century manor house? well why not. The hotel is a great mixture of very old and then a nice surprise with modern touches to the bedrooms whilst still keeping some older features and themes. Massive grounds to walk in and a lake at the bottom of the garden which at first seemed small but stretched on for ever with a very clever reconstruction of the famous Lucerne bridge. Room and bed were very comfortable and the hotels seclusion means a very quiet and comfortable night. The only downfall was the pricey restaurant so we settled for the bar food which was good and wholesome(well it is in Yorkshire). I was on a business trip and will recommend this hotel to my line manager for others to use.

Room Tip: ASll rooms are a good standard and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monk Fryston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monk Fryston Hall Hotel

Address: Monk Fryston LS25 5DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Monk Fryston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monk Fryston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Monk Fryston Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Monk Fryston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monk Fryston Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.