We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a quaint English market town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Knaresborough
Binningup, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great hotel in a quaint English market town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a very comfortable stay in this hotel and spa very close to the centre of Knaresborough.
We were lucky enough to be there during the annual bed race and had a great view of the fun from the garden of the hotel. There is plenty of parking space and it is only a short walk to the market place, the River Nidd and Mother Shipton's cave and other attractions. Harrogate is a very short drive or train ride (8 minutes) away. The hotel, spa facilities and restaurant are fine and the cost is reasonable - use of the spa facilities is included. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: ASk for a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    112
    48
    41
    15
See reviews for
40
170
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a weekend at the hotel. Reception staff and restaurant staff were very friendly and chatty - no complaints at all. The room was clean and had everything needed, although no little extra touches, bearing in mind that the cost was quite expensive. Bed comfortable and had a good night's sleep. Shower very disappointing, not much water pressure at all. Breakfast was adequate, although, again, nothing special. We did eat in the restaurant one night which was absolutely lovely and 2 course meal was good value for money as everything was well cooked and tasty. Hotel is in the centre of Knaresborough so nice and handy for town centre, pubs etc. The hotel is next to a busy road but could not hear this from our room so did not interfere with our stay. Overall, hotel was good and met all of our needs. It is a three star hotel and I would agree with this, however, feel that it was a bit pricey for a bed and breakfast rate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Used to stay regularly when working , and this was second visit with my wife. Firstly on arrival it was nice to be recognised by the receptionist, who had allocated us one of thier best rooms (28) though it is furthest from reception. Its better to be at the back of the hotel rather than the front due to traffic noise. Room was spot on, as was the dinner , three courses for £24.95, well cooked and presented by polite and attentive staff.
However it was the following morning when a couple of things went awry. My fried egg at breakfast was cooked solid , and the field mushroom was cold. Now I know that this is not the norm, but anyone who was here for the first time, would have not been impressed. Breakfast is normally excellent , and cooked breakfast is direct from the kitchen, none of those terrible attempts to stage a hot buffet ! But it was shortly before we left that really irritated me. One room maid had already knocked at our door, and we told her we would leave in 20-30 mins. Then only 2 or 3 mins later a second maid just burst in without knocking, bearing clean linen. Not good ! I might have been starkers ! So I am only awarding three stars this time when my previous reviews have been 4 or 5.. I have since had an email apology from the manager.
We still expect to come back here again however.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front are quieter, eg 20 to 28
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saints42, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello again, as discussed in our emails the issues that you did bring to our attention have been dealt with and we thank you for that feedback, we are delighted that you will be returning to the hotel in the future and we sincerely look forward to welcoming you back,

Kindest of regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just got back from a weekend in the lovely town of Knaresborough.The Dower house is well situated just a short walk from the town centre.It is a little dated, but the friendly helpful staff more than make up for it.We had a small problem with our room, the receptionist was very helpful and offered to change rooms for us.The breakfast is very good with lots of choice We used the spa a few times and found this excellent. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saints42, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello, and many thanks for your feedback it is very much appreciated and thank you for your kind words regarding the staff, your comments have being forwarded to all concerned, we genuinely do care about our guests at the Dower House Hotel & Spa and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, we look forward to welcoming you back,

Kindest of regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

another visit to my favorite hotel. Stunning welcome, as always. Excellent hotel at an excellent price with the bonus of a pool and spa onsite. Lucky to get one of the "old" rooms in the old part of the house. I prefer these character rooms. I know the rooms at the back have less road noise, but always head this way..rooms 3 and 5 win for me. I like the character bar, and the lounge is great for lazing about!. Free WiFi makes it ideal for remote working too. Always a good breakfast, but I always eat out in the local curry house so can't comment on the evening meals. Staff always do their best to help, and any older "dated" rooms are being refurbbed one by one, so the number of travellers moaning about rooms quality should go down. Knocks Premier inn into a cocked hat, and it's cheaper.. no brainer . Knaresborough is a truly beautiful town.. and perfectly placed for touring York and Harrogate. Close to Leeds Airport too..

look forward to going back "home" to my favourite hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saints42, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
What a fantastic review, many thanks we really do appreciate you positive feedback, and as you stated we are chipping away at the rooms one by one so we have a much more enhanced product to be proud of. The team are delighted that we delivered to your expectations, and next time you are here let us know as our chef's will create an amazing curry for you in house !!! we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth Devon England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is lovely. It is old and beautiful with experienced and helpful staff. We arrived here after a long journey from Scotland and just relaxed, the moment we got into our room (which was super). We enjoyed dinner in, and were looked after by Monica. We studied the menu carefully, and it was with difficulty we made our choices. We wanted everything! In the end, after a beautiful prawn starter each, my husband had Confit of pork belly and for me, Crispy Polenta cake with buttered spinach, sautéed mushrooms and a poached egg. I am not a vegetarian, but sometimes the "veggie" menu is so good, I have to partake. This was one of those times and it was a fab meal. "Yorkshire portions" filled us up; we had no room for dessert! The food was lovely. Super breakfasts. We stayed for two nights and sadly dragged ourselves away to travel to our home in Exeter. We enjoyed our time in the hotel. Knaresborough is wonderful. The staff in the hotel are so approachable, knowledgeable and friendly that we are returning (with family in tow) in August! Yippee!

Room Tip: We had room 3, which was excellent. Did not see any others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saints42, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Hello, what a fantastic review and many thanks for that, we are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your time here at the hotel and your kind words regarding the staff have been forwarded to all concerned, it really does make a difference to receive such positive feedback and we all look forward to your return in August,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa

Address: Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out.You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.