We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Spa Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Spa Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for my sisters hen do, we had a full day in Imagine Spa. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff couldn't do enough for us. It was a perfect relaxing way to celebrate and the treatments, facilities and lunch were fantastic. Thanks to all you looked after us really well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Melanie

Thank you so much for taking time to write about your stay with us.

We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, I have passed your comments on to all the team, especially the spa.

Good luck to the happy couple.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    133
    70
    54
    21
See reviews for
54
214
14
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We recently had our wedding reception at the Dower House and it was a wonderful day. There was some initial confusion with the rooms but this was soon forgotten about as the Manager Ken and his team excelled themselves on the day and everything ran perfectly. The location of this hotel was great for us as our church (St Johns) is a stone throw away and all of our guests could enjoy Knaresborough the following day. The Spa is amazing, I had two lovely treatments to relax me the day before the wedding. Their is plenty of parking here too. The menu for the wedding was extensive, our guests could choose from five different options. Our only criticism was that the food we received didn't quite live up to the description of the menu, some of the dishes were quite bland in comparison.
Our room (Bridal Suite) was fine, although the fancy shower didn't fully function and a few other guests said their rooms could do with some modernizing but overall the majority our guests were happy. We wanted to say a massive thanks to Ken and all the staff involved in making our special day so amazing!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Lisa & Wayne

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are so delighted to read that you had enjoyed your wedding day.

Your comments have been passed onto the whole team, positive feedback gives us all a real buzz.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you a very happy marriage.

With kind regards.


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Dear Mr Hardy,
I just want to thank you formally for the wonderful time we had at the Dower House last weekend. Our reunion meeting was a huge success, and we received many compliments about the Hotel and all the staff. The service was superb from them all, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were comfortable and the food was amazing. We all had a great time and would certainly recommend the Hotel to others. Please convey our grateful thanks to all your delightful staff. Of course, special thanks to you personally for your attention to detail and your patience with our requests. It has been a pleasure to deal with you.
I would not hesitate to hold further functions at the Dower House.
Many thanks again,
Most sincerely,
Jen Green

Room Tip: All our party commented on the comfort of their beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dr Green and all our new friends, it was a pleasure having you all stay with us for the weekend.

We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us, I have passed your comments on to all the team.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights on dinner bed and breakfast basis as part of my husband's 70th birthday celebrations. The staff were stretched to deal with a large group who dined in a separate room and service was rather slow for the rest of us. Room was fine and we really enjoyed the pool. Dinner menu was small but very interesting. Short walk into town. Close by is a traffic free cycle way to Shipley. Also Mother Shipton's Cave is well worth visiting. Our main problem was finding the hotel entrance. We were looking for Great Western or Dower House but only saw 'Imagine' and 'Storm'. Parking at front can be difficult as spaces are small for larger cars but there is plenty of room round the back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear stanbridge

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback, we genuinely appreciate it.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had two nights on tesco vouchers at this hotel. We have never stayed here before but had such a great time and would like to recommend it. Our room was upgraded and the welcome was great. I really liked the character of the building and our bedroom. felt intimate and interesting. lovely lounge and bar areas and fires always on. Anything I asked for was responded to positively and helpfully. The spa facility was a real bonus and not too busy. We had a great breakfast and liked the view over the garden. We would love to stay again so hope we can save up enough vouchers soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear godsquad58

Thank you for your feedback, we genuinely appreciate your kind comments, I have passed on to all the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed here many times, and always have a good stay. I often travel an hour out of my way to stay here on business. This last visit, on 27/3 was the best yet. Excellent Room (#3) and excellent breakfast. Staff brilliant, as ever. I even had a plate, cuttlery and a serviette given to me by reception when she spotted this Billy Nomates "Lonely sole traveller" coming back to my room into the hotel with a chinese take away.

Looking forward to going back in May.

Room Tip: Alot of rooms are being made over at the moment, with new carpets etc. I am still a fan on the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear MattBjetski

It is always a pleasure to welcome back regular guests to the hotel.

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stays.

We all look forward to return in May.

Kind regards


Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Having read some of the reviews on this site, some good, some not so good. I decided to try it for myself, Knaresborough is a hidden gem with a great deal of history. The Dower House was a wonderful find, A Georgian Listed building of great character. Beautifully clean, fantastic restaurant with a lovely view of the garden, rooms were perfect particularly the bathroom and the furnishings! The Staff are an absolute wonder, cheerful friendly, professional and very helpful. (Even down to helping me with De-Icer for my car this morning due to it being a tad frosty outside! Had a great deal, two nights including bed, breakfast and 3 course evening meal for the first night for a £136.00 per room. Great value! The staff were brilliant. Its a quirky little hotel, lots of little nooks and crannies, a beautiful lounge area .with its original fireplace and Georgian front door, lovely little bar area, very nice restaurant. Good gardens and a great Spa!! I definitely recommend the Jacuzzi and pool, its small but perfectly formed and free to guests. Very relaxing. Its a short walk to the right to Mother Shiptons cave and gardens from there you can go to the Worlds End pub very nice and on down the side of the River and see some beautiful dwellings and amazing carvings in wood! Come back over cross the road another very pretty riverside walk, or along the river into this historic town. Lots of little cafes along the riverside and boats to hire for a picnic. I actually prefer Knaresborough to Harrogate it really lovely. All in all a great place to stay. Yes there are no stairs in this hotel, its Grade 11 listed but hey a little exercise is good! The staff will help if you need it. Dont expect chips!! the food is good without being too english!! I also recommend a wonderful restaurant up the High Street turn left out of the hotel cross at the crossing and walk up the bank Carriages is on the right a little further up. Its old quaint, quirky, a little bar in the centre with restaurant either side, the food is incredible and I would go again in a heartbeat. Would I go again to this hotel? The answer is simple, yes. The staff are fantastic the hotel lovely and the area historic. Well worth a visit!!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refubished rooms, the hotel is refurbishing all its rooms without any problems to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KenHardy, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear thebeard97

Thank you for your kind comments that I have passed to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Ken Hardy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa

Address: Bond End, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel is as full of character as it is convenience, when you're not enjoying a good nights sleep, you can relax in our recently refurbished Imagine Health & Spa with a swim, treatment or work out.You'll not only enjoy the sights and sounds of the traditional market town of Knaresborough, but also the opportunity to take in beautiful river walks and historical landmarks such as Mother Shiptons Cave and the Castle ruins ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dower Hotel
Best Western Knaresborough
Knaresborough Best Western
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.