We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No room for improvement” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teardrop Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knaresborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Teardrop Cottage
Save
You added Teardrop Cottage to your Saves list
Waterside, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“No room for improvement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

What a beautiful cottage. We booked this after reading some excellent reviews so expected it to be good, however it was exceptional. I was slightly worried that our room wasn't en-suite however the four paces across the landing in the fluffy robe provided look me to a gorgeous bathroom (for our sole use) with a lovely freestanding bath and a large separate shower. So much nicer than many hotel rooms that I have stayed in where the en-suite only has plasterboard walls for privacy!
The breakfast exceeded expectation - where else can you find a B&B that does Eggs Benedict, bagels and cream cheeses and smoked salmon as well as a full English breakfast?
I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much...i am delighted you enjoyed your stay...and the breakfast menu options...it was a pleasure to meet you,and your kind review goes such a long way to help a small business as we are at TC.most appreciated....we hope to see you again...very best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
121
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Brilliant little B&B, right on the waterside in Knaresborough. Lovely bedrooms, spotless and beautifully decorated. Great little sitting/dining room, very cosy. Freshly cooked breakfasts to order. And one of the most friendly hosts I've ever come across.
You must go!

Room Tip: We had the Pink Room, which was quiet and comfy. Tiny wet room en suite, which suited us fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Helen..thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review...it is really appreciated,and i am so pleased that you and your party had a great stay with us....it was a pleasure to meet you all,and we hope to see you again...with my best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Booked solely on the comments posted by tripadvisor for my husband birthday as a secret escape. Ideally located right under the railway arches it's a 5 minute walk from all pubs restaurants etc in town. Mike is a very knowledgable and welcoming host. I highly recommend a visit to the recently refurbished Half Moon. Breakfast was a great start to the day, we didn't eat again until our evening meal. Will definatly stay again but now realising how close everything is to the train station may take the train next time.

Easily the best B&B we've stayed in for some time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Lucy....thank you so much for taking the time to write such kind thoughts...i am delighted that you both had a great stay with us...and we saved you buying lunch.
Such comments really help a lot..and we hope to see you in the not too distant future...with my very best wishes,Mike.x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Shamazing , we had a fantastic 2 days , great location great host and an unforgettable breakfast , weather was good to us which made the stay perfect , Mike gave us lots of useful info on the area , where to eat drink etc , could not ask for more . We will be recommending teardrop cottage to friends and family , and most defiantly will be coming back for another break , Thanks Mike for your hospitality , much appreciated all the best Steve Sarah and izzy

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Steve,Sarah and Izzy.Thank you for taking the time to post such a kind review.i hope you arrived home safely.
It was a pleasure to have you stay at Teardrop..and i am so pleased you had a great time..have a lovely weekend..thanks again for everything,and i hope to see you soon..with my very best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, SK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I absolutely loved my stay at Teardrop Cottage! So happy, I almost forgot to leave a review. I stayed in the pink room, which had the most heavenly bed, and wonderful view. I don't think I would ever tire of that scenery. The rooms are equipped with absolutely everything, this B&B doesn't miss a beat. I was lucky to find it doing a quick Internet search on the Harrogate area, and the glowing reviews made me book it that day. We're not wrong! Thank you, Mike!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your kind thoughts.
I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay at TC.It really was a pleasure to meet you ..thank you very much...we hope to see you in the not too distant future...best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Teardrop Cottage for a wedding. After our long trip from Washington DC with delays, we couldn't have asked for a better spot to unwind and sleep. Mike is very hospitable and made our stay very relaxing. He told us to make ourselves at home, which was easy to do. The beds are wonderful, the bathtub amazing and the made to order breakfast delicious! If we ever find ourselves back in the area, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our "chocolate" room upstairs with huge comfortable private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review...i hope you made it to Manchester airport in good time...and had a safe flight back to the USA.....It was a pleasure to meet you..and to have you stay...it is lovely to hear you had a great weekend/wedding...and that you where suitably fed and watered..with my thanks and best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Your gregarious host, Mike will look after you during your stay. Offering helpful information about the area as well as restaurants nearby and he'll cook you a great breakfast too.. The accommodation is excellent, very clean, peaceful, relaxing and well appointed. A home from home. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review....we are very grateful.
I am so pleased your stay was relaxing and enjoyable..and the breakfast was well received...it was great to have you stay...i hope all is well.

We hope to see you again..Very best wishes,Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Teardrop Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teardrop Cottage

Address: Waterside, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teardrop cottage is set in the picturesque location of waterside, with magnificent views of the river, castle and Victorian stone viaduct. A short walk from the historic market town of Knaresborough, with its eclectic mix of restaurants,individual shops and fine old pubs, the nearby railway station provides quick and easy access to the towns of Harrogate and its international exhibition centre, York and Leeds, and borders the beautiful Yorkshire Dales, moors and the east coast....our aim is to give you a relaxing and memorable stay in our stunning and magical location. Our 4 rooms are comfortable and finished to a very high standard. Our breakfast menu offers delicious,freshly prepared and locally sourced food. We insist that you make yourself "at home". We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teardrop Cottage Hotel Knaresborough
Teardrop Cottage Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teardrop Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.