We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Teardrop Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knaresborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Teardrop Cottage
Save
You added Teardrop Cottage to your Saves list
Waterside, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home from home :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Very welcoming host very comfy room realaxing loInge great breakfast a fabulous place to stay '
Mike the host is happy to help in any way even providing wine coolers and tips on where to eat and places to visit
Would. definitely reccomemd teardrop cottage its the best b and b I've ever stayed ih enjoyed the roof terrace with great views of the river and. viaduct

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
121
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

It's not by accident that Teardrop Cottage is the no 1 B&B in Knaresbrough. Mike has created a gorgeous place to stay here and welcomes you in with warmth and kindness. The cottage is a mix of traditional with great modern design. We stayed in the pink room which combined flamboyant flare with gentle touches of tradition. The wet room is fab and the shower is to die for. Mike's breakfast was delicious. The setting on the riverside is a great base for exploring Knaresbrough and parking was easy and free. Highly recommended and will definitely visit again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had a really great nights stay at teardrop cottage in its great location so much so that on departure we booked to stay for weekend in the summer . The rooms are first class as were the breakfasts as were our host Mike who made our stay that bit more special.
Looking forward to our next stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

From the moment you are greeted at the door by Mike the host at Teardrop cottage, you immediately feel at home.
The whole experience of staying in his home cannot be faulted (just don't leave any fruit n nut lying around! ;-) )
The rooms are immaculate and the breakfasts have an extra special touch, because he cares and it shows in bucketfulls.
The only drawback with the whole place is having to pack and leave...
We have stayed there twice now and I have resisted reviewing it up until this point purely and simply because we wanted t keep it to ourselves.
We hope to return soon. perfection.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable accommodation and a great location. Feels like a home away from home. Wonderful breakfasts and Mike is a great host. Would happily stay again to enable us to enjoy the surrounding area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I am under strict instruction from the girls I travelled with to write a review for Teardrop Cottage immediately. Had a one night stay which exceeded our expectations. Most of this was due to Mike our lovely host. He is most helpful and charming, nothing is too much trouble for him. The rooms (and indeed the whole cottage) are tastefully and eclectically decorated. The setting is so lovely and so was breakfast. I could continue but check it out yourself. We will return! Thank you Mike you are a star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackson1110, Owner at Teardrop Cottage, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Ladies..thank you for taking the time to send such a kind review...it was a pleasure to have you stay...It would be great to see you all again ...very best wishes,Mike.x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBYSHIRE
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We've just returned from our second stay at Teardrop, we have been lucky enough to visit several bed & breakfasts this year and Teardrop will always be my favourite. I'm surprised by the last reviewers comments - but each to there own, theres just no pleasing some people!

Teardrop is a home from home in a beautiful location and the attention to detail is second to none. If you would like a base to visit Harrogate and York the train station is a stones throw away and is really handy.

We ate out in York this time as we had been sightseeing all day and then had a drink in Carriages which has a lovely atmosphere. We also had a drink in the Mitre which was very hot and busy.

If you like beautiful decor, special touches and lovely breakfasts with locally sourced produce you MUST visit Mike at Teardrop. Just a quick tip for you, the ground floor room is more spacious and can accomodate a z bed, upstairs the chocolate room is gorgeous with great views that overlook the River Nidd and the viaduct but the bathroom and loo is across the corridor (its very spacious in there though). The pink room has an en-suite wet room which again is very nicely done. Having stayed in both the ground floor room and the chocolate room I prefer the downstairs one.

We will be visiting again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Teardrop Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teardrop Cottage

Address: Waterside, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 9AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Teardrop cottage is set in the picturesque location of waterside, with magnificent views of the river, castle and Victorian stone viaduct. A short walk from the historic market town of Knaresborough, with its eclectic mix of restaurants,individual shops and fine old pubs, the nearby railway station provides quick and easy access to the towns of Harrogate and its international exhibition centre, York and Leeds, and borders the beautiful Yorkshire Dales, moors and the east coast....our aim is to give you a relaxing and memorable stay in our stunning and magical location. Our 4 rooms are comfortable and finished to a very high standard. Our breakfast menu offers delicious,freshly prepared and locally sourced food. We insist that you make yourself "at home". We hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Teardrop Cottage Hotel Knaresborough
Teardrop Cottage Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Teardrop Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.