We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really relaxing weekend in Yorkshire” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (East), Knaresborough

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (East), Knaresborough to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (East), Knaresborough
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Wetherby Road | Plompton, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8LY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Wrexham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A really relaxing weekend in Yorkshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have stayed at the 'Kestrel' previously, so in a way we knew what to expect. We had travelled from North Wales non stop - the check in was fuss free, the room we were given was the family room, really nice and individual, beams and all. First thing to do once unpacked was to have a beer or two in the garden followed by a meal in the restaurant. Nothing was too much for the staff who all had a good knowledge of the menu and went about their work in a professional manner.
Breakfast was continental style, sufficient for our needs. After a day wandering around York, we returned and followed the same routine, drinks, dinner and a good nights' sleep.
All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (East), Knaresborough, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at Innkeeper's Lodge, Harrogate (East). Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
30
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just want to say a big thankyou,we stayed 26th&27th July as part of the wedding party.the room we stayed in number 8 was lovely.pictures do not do it justice.staff very helpful and the kestrel had a warm homely feel to it.value for money& will stay again.thankyou

Room Tip: Room 8 is a lovely cottage feel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (East), Knaresborough, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Harrogate (East) Knaresborough
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last night for 1 night. The pub itself is very traditional inside with beams that were also in the rooms and a very warm and cosy feel. The rooms were very well appointed with good facilities and were very inkeeping with the age of the building. Good tea and coffee facilities and a large flat screen tv. I would deffinatley stay here again and recommend it, however I did feel that just a continental breakfast at that price is let down. The only negative was the noise from the main road and the creeky floors. You could here every move that other guests made but I suppose that is to be expected in an old building.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (East), Knaresborough, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We would like to thank you for your positive feedback after visiting Innkeeper’s Lodge. We are pleased to here that you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Harrogate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had planned to stop over at The Kestrel on the way upto Scotland from Norfolk. We were very pleased on arrival, lovely setting and inside didn't disapoint. The food was traditional pub food and the place was very busy. Our room was large and comfortable exactly what you need for an overnight stop. The weather was very good so we sat outside in the gardens and had a drink, and waited to check in as our room wasn't ready. We thought check in was at 2pm but in fact it was 3pm. Innkeepers Lodge have the pub theme to a fine art, but let the staff down by not employing enough. The staff were very pleasant and extremely busy and very apologetic at the time you had to wait between courses, this I dont think is the fault of management but it must be company policy, which obviously needs addressing. Some rooms over look the main road which is very busy, so not very quiet. Doors to the accommodation have spring closures then bang when shut so not helpful for a quiet nights sleep. Little things that could be sorted very easily...

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back due to road noise if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (East), Knaresborough, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have been going to the Kestral for several years and have never been disappointed. The food is good pub food and very good value, not home cooked but good with a menu that should please all but the really fussy. A varied selection of drinks are available and everything can be put on a tab until you leave.
The place was developed from an old farm house and still has the farmhouse character. ? It is easy to get to being out of town by a mile and ample parking.
Would I recommend, yes, and we will be going back time and time again. Rooms can also be booked if your travelling North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We called in for lunch with a couple of friends. The venue is quite nice, just off a major road so not quiet, but with a nice amount of outside seating and large car park.

The food is typical “cheap and cheerful” pub grub. The gammon was tasty and not over-cooked, the wild boar and chorizo burger sounded interesting but was very dense and rather dry, the chips were a little hard in the middle and not that well cooked. The warm sticky ginger toffee pudding was rather dry, not nice and sticky, plus it didn’t taste much of ginger.

The place got surprisingly busy on a Saturday lunch time, so if you really want to eat hear I'd suggest you make a reservation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were really looking forward to our stay here being a rare night away from our 2 year old but to be honest we were pretty disappointed.
We had a terrible nights sleep as our room looked out over a very noisy main road with traffic whizzing by into the wee small hours. Then, early in the morning we were woken from deep sleep by someone walking (sounded like stomping) along the corridor which was so loud it was as if they were in our room!
The bed didn't have a mattress protector, which considering how cheap they are, I found really surprising. Apart from the obvious hygiene issue, this meant that we could feel every button on the mattress.
The decor was tired (not an issue in itself) but the grouting in the bathroom was very discoloured and messy where it had been touched up. There was lashings of hot water which was great.
After our restless night we hoped the breakfast would make us feel better however we were sadly again disappointed. There was a good selection of yoghurts and cereal however the croissants and pain au chocolates were a little dry and unappetising.
Wished we had stayed at the near by Premier Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (East), Knaresborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (East), Knaresborough

Address: Wetherby Road | Plompton, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (East), Knaresborough 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for budget accommodation in Knaresborough or near to Harrogate Conference Centre, this country lodge in nearby Plompton is perfect for both short breaks and business trips.The lodge is well placed for exploring the many charms of picturesque Knaresborough, historic Harrogate and unspoilt cathedral city Ripon. It's also an ideal base-camp for anyone wanting to immerse themselves in the Yorkshire Dales.Along with 10 comfy en-suite rooms, there's a pub serving a tempting menu of hearty, seasonal food together with a range of cask ales and wines. It's so cosy you could end up cancelling the hiking and sightseeing in favour of a day eating and drinking instead.But you wouldn't want to miss Harrogate's tourist treasures. Delve into antique shops, relax at the Turkish Baths, or sip a Darjeeling at Betty's iconic tearooms. Nearer home you can hunt out the cave of infamous Yorkshire witch Mother Shipton or marvel at the 30 acres of intriguing mineral formations at Plompton Rocks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (East), Knaresborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kestrel Pub Hotel Knaresborough
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (East), Knaresborough Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate (East), Knaresborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.