We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great food and great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Royal Oak

Old Royal Oak
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Old Royal Oak to your Saves list
Old Royal Oak
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7 Market Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8AL, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Knaresborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great service, great food and great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Fantastic place to stay. Rooms are nicely furnished, cosy and extremely clean. The bed was very comfortable and you cannot hear any noise from the main pub. Great friendly service from the landlord Mick, who was chatty and attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our cooked breakfast which was cooked to order and was a very decent portion! The pub was lively and fun on the night we were there. Well priced drinks and bar staff were happy to give recommendations on ciders and beers to try. Great location too. We will definitely visit again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark L, Owner at Old Royal Oak, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi there,
Thank you for your kind comments. It is always nice to hear your views when we get it right!
I will pass on your comments to Debbie who takes great pride in looking after all the B&B rooms. She even gets on her hands and knees to clean the shower door runners with Q-tips!
Mick (The Assistant manager) does a great job of keeping the beer in tip top condition and is a great asset. The whole team are 1st class.
Please to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to meeting you again should you come back.

Best Wishes,
Mark & Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    29
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
71
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went here four adults for Saturday lunch, all very good, service excellent, food brilliant, plenty for all on the menu, specials board, extensive menu, all at a good price, would have loved to stay longer but had to get the oldies home!! No complaints!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

we often go to knaresborough for the weekend. we have stay at most of the hotels and b&b's. the room was immaculate, couldnt fault it. we had lunch when we arrived. real homemade food. 10 out of 10 for the food. service was very qiuck and staff were really friendly. made to feel very welcome by the locals. after staying at the old royal oak i can honestly say i wouldnt stay anywhere else in knaresborough. Just like to thank Mick. he made our weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Following a friends recommendation I recently visited The Old Royal Oak in Knaresborough with my family. After deliberating over the menu and changing my mind several times I decided on one of the specials. We weren’t kept waiting for long and were entertained by the friendly bar staff in the meantime. I could never have expected such a high quality of food from a pub that I had not even noticed before. Each of us cleared every plate including their beautifully cooked vegetables that reminded me of how my Gran used to make them.

Both the landlord and manager came over after our main course to ask if we had enjoyed our meal and managed to temp us with homemade bread and butter pudding for afters. I intend to take my Grandparents for their joint 84th birthdays to try their Sunday roast which many of their patrons highly recommended. Don’t be miss lead by their quaint exterior as this establishment has a lot of heart.

The Old Royal Oak will definitely be seeing more of us in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boroughbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

i have been recently twice to this pub, beer is very well kept, food looked good but i did not eat there, had a look at the accommodation because some friends are visiting shortly, the room i was shown was very clean and well above average for this type of establishment, i will certainly book for my friends, Knaresborough being a good base for staying. Give the pub a try.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We staying here in December 2012 after going to Wetherby Races in the day.
We were able to park the car at lunch time, cheked in then went off to the races. Returned late afternoon and found out an irish band was playing in the pub that night.
We had an excellent time, room was cosy, lovely and warm (well needed after standing in the cold all afternoon). Evening entertainment brilliant. Breakfast was great and the hospitalily was fabulous, made you feel like you were with old friends!. Highly recommend staying here, I'm sure it won't be our last stay here. Went home feeling we made some great friends!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the old royal oak between Christmas and new year and had a great time . This is our third visit as we have enjoyed it so much before.The rooms are warm and cosy , very high standard of cleanliness and have nice touches like a Christmas fruit bowl.
Mark and Jean ( the landlord and landlady ) were very friendly as were all the staff , and went out of the way to make stay special.
The breakfast was fantastic, my husband was raving about the bacon although sorry we couldn't eat it all . I would also recommend eating in the pub as the food is great and good value . Try the carafes of wine especially the rose.
An added bonus was the live band who were playing on the Thursday , lots of fun and obviously very popular . All in all a great value place to stay and a good location for exploring the Yorkshire dales and Harrogate . We will be back !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Royal Oak

Address: 7 Market Place, Knaresborough, Harrogate HG5 8AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Knaresborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Knaresborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Royal Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Olde-Worlde public House situated in the heart of the Market Square of Knaresborough. We have 6 en-suite rooms which are seperate from the pub itself. Each room has parking just feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Royal Oak Hotel Knaresborough
Old Royal Oak Knaresborough, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Royal Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.