We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wheechair friendy accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southgate Bed and Breakfast

Southgate Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hunmanby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southgate Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Southgate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
8, Bridlington Street, Hunmanby YO14 0JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hunmanby B&B and Inns
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wheechair friendy accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

just returned back from staying at southgate b&b and hae to say i am so impressed with the accomodation and the owners carl and his wife they have truly created a wheelchair friendly enviroment i have stayed in many hotels and this one wins hands down from the massive wetroom with wheelchair level showers to the wheelchair level sinks and the size of the famiy room that has a doube bed a single bed and a big sofa plus table and chairs with ample room left over so you can glide the wheelchair around with easy and no furniture moving inolved,they make you welcome and nothing is to much trouble.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
28
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our 2nd visit to the Southgate and once again it was excellent. Carl & Nikki as before were very welcoming and friendly. The room was brilliant and the breakfast excellent. There are 2 friendly pubs nearby, and food at the Cottage is very good and well priced. We would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were welcomed and very well cared for by Carl and Nikki. I think we looked quite travel worn and there was a cuppa to greet us which we really appreciated.
The B&B could not be faulted. Spotless, spacious and every need catered for - and more.
Breakfast was in a bright, sunny room and , again so well catered for.
The village of Hunmanby is also worth a visit. Lots of history, lovely gardens and all needed services. Southgate is in the heart of the village - a lovely relaxed stay.
Car parking was no problem either which was a great help.

Room Tip: They were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Having never been to this part of the world before, friends booked us a room here so we could stay one night whilst visiting them. Pulling up to a quaint building, in a lovely 'ye olde worlde' village, we were surprised to find on entering, a wonderfully modern, yet fitting, decor. Staff were friendly without being overbearing, our bags were taken up to our rooms (a service you don't always get in hotels!) and we were handed keys which included those for the front door so we didn't have to worry about getting locked out - nice touch :) The room itself, a twin, was super, actually better than some supposedly high class hotels I've staye+d in. Beautifully decorated with super comfy beds, plush quilts, tea and coffee facilities and an ace little hairdryer, we were thrilled. Our delight only increased the following morning as we were presented with a cracking full english breakfast, they even had black pudding mmmmmm. All in all, I would recommend this B+B to any who asked. Enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My friends and I booked in for the weekend. We all enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely stay there again. The rooms were spotless the breakfast really good and the hosts were a lovely friendly couple . The location is great with two very friendly pubs nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I and our friends just happened to stumble on this little Gem and stayed there for 1 night.We had decided at the last minute to stay somewhere in the area for the night so instead of staying in Filey or Bridlington we stayed there.The said resorts are only a 15 minute drive away so that puts this B&B in an ideal spot.The proprietors were very friendly and welcoming and could'nt do enough for us.We had a very large room with a great view looking up the street, our friends also had a very large room.It was Thursday so it was quiet with just a few guests and so had a choice of Breakfast times.The Breakfast was out of this world with nothing left out,of coarse there were the cereals,fruit,etc for the faint hearted.There are 2 good Pubs only 100 yards away serving Food if required.We will be staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

stayed for 2 nights family of 5 in one room plenty of space in this clean comfy room.hosts very friendly and helpful.breakfast was great better than we have had in some 4 star hotels.great location near to shops and pubs .great place to stay if your visiting anywhere in the area.thanks dave diane and family

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southgate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southgate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8, Bridlington Street, Hunmanby YO14 0JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hunmanby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hunmanby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Bed and Breakfast is situated in the quaint village of Hunmanby on the East Coast of Britain. Hunmanby sits on the outskirts of the seaside town of Filey with Scarborough and Bridlington only 9 miles away. You will be spoilt for choice for golf courses, walks and cycle routes in the area. We pride ourselves on the quality of our rooms with a good breakfast to start your day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southgate Bed And Breakfast Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southgate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.