We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southgate Bed and Breakfast

Southgate Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hunmanby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southgate Bed and Breakfast
8, Bridlington Street, Hunmanby YO14 0JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hunmanby B&B and Inns
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed for two nights in the middle of June. At last a Bed and Breakfast that met all our expectations. Carl and Nikki were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. We booked meals at the pub next door, good food and friendly staff . The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. We are returning at the end of July with our grandchildren as it is a great place for visiting Filey, Scarborough and Bridlington.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
28
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Top quality rooms, Great staff and ideal for children. My wife and I took our 10 and 3 year old girls there for the 2nd time and we thought the service was exceptional and the breakfast was even better.

Great for kids, great for visiting Filey and Scarborough,

Room Tip: Great family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, North Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed overnight beginning of June 2012 with my wife and two friends, we were all cycling the Yorkshire Wolds Cycle route. Hot drink on arrival, safe place to store the bikes, meal booked at the local pub and added to our bill at the end, all very efficient and friendly. Rooms are bright, clean and comfortable. Excellent FULL English breakfast to set us up the next morning before we left. First class, highly recommended, great hosts! many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Me and my brother-in-law needed and overnight stay while we were cycling the Yorkshire Wolds Way. The location was ideal, and first impressions when contacting by phone were excellent - very friendly and helpful (evening meal booked at the pub round the corner).
We had a very friendly welcome when we arrived (tired after a 70 mile ride) and were offered a refreshing cup of tea.
The whole pace looked very new. The room was clean, fresh and very comfortable.
Quiet relaxed atmosphere. The regular chiming of the nearby church bells only added to the rural feel.
Excellent (full English) breakfast the next day - lots of coffee - and we were then back on our way (another 70 miles).
Can thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Have written many reviews on this site as I always find them useful. This one is one behalf of my sister and husband who is a wheelchair user and asked us to comment on her behalf.
The facilities are superb for wheelchair users as the room has been especially adapted.great large doorways,fantastic wetroom and easy access. the rest of the hotel is all decorated beautifully in a modern understated way.Spotlessly clean and a cooked breakfast second to none, as we joined them on there last morning.
The hosts Carl and Karen were brilliant and Im sure my sister will be staying again as the area is also so lovely with Filey,Bridlington and Scarborough but a short distance away.

Room Tip: Large downstairs room suitable for families and dissabled. Great single room with 3/4 bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We needed to stay in the village at very short notice due to family illness. We ended up staying for three nights. Fabulous room. Nothing too much trouble for the friendly hostess. We ordered our breakfast the day before and she shopped especially for us. Excellent service, comfortable, clean, beautifully decorated twin room, warm and cosy with plenty tea and biscuits and a TV with a crystal clear picture. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

At last, I have found the Holy Grail! After 11 years of visiting that part of Yorkshire, somewhere decent to stay! It's not much to ask, is it, for a warm, not-damp room, nice furnishings and a proper modern shower? Apprently so.

The Southgate has these and more, we were so pleased to find it. The rooms (we were in 6, a twin) are newly refurbished and nicely decorated, with comfy beds and good pillows.The heating, on a cold winter day, was blasting out, and there were little touches you should expect for the price but rarely get - a good hairdryer, coffee & tea making, fluffy towels. The best thing, though, was the shower room - new, well laid out if compact, and with a HOT (yay!) powerful shower.

The next morning, a great cooked breakfast in a pleasant and warm dining room (this doubles up as a tea room in the day), with proper coffee and local ingredients. The only small thing I could find was the dining hours - 9am at latest is a tad too early for Sunday, guys, please re-think this!

All in all a gem. In fact, why am I telling you this, I should try to keep it a secret in case I can't get in next time.....

Room Tip: they all seem good, though you might want ear plugs if you are a very light sleeper as there's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southgate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southgate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8, Bridlington Street, Hunmanby YO14 0JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hunmanby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hunmanby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Bed and Breakfast is situated in the quaint village of Hunmanby on the East Coast of Britain. Hunmanby sits on the outskirts of the seaside town of Filey with Scarborough and Bridlington only 9 miles away. You will be spoilt for choice for golf courses, walks and cycle routes in the area. We pride ourselves on the quality of our rooms with a good breakfast to start your day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southgate Bed And Breakfast Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southgate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Southgate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list