We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southgate Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hunmanby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Southgate Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Southgate Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
8, Bridlington Street, Hunmanby YO14 0JR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hunmanby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stoke-on-trent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A little gem !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Fabulously decorated rooms. Fab breakfast. Fabulously clean. In fact everything was just .......... FAB !!!! Well done Peter. You're a fab host and may the legacy live on.
P.S. Room 2 is absolutely ........... FAB !!!

Room Tip: Clean and very friendly. Southgate is set in a lovely little village. Its a must for anyone wishing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
30
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We found this place when really fed up and needing a break! what a gem ! Friends have a little place in Filey so thought we try the area but nothing going because of the beautiful weather that last week in Sept. We were put onto the Southgate by one of the Filey B+B's we tried. Looked it up on the web - first impressions very good - but believe me - even better in reality ! Had to leave a message on the answerphone because it was so late but Peter rang the following morning apologising for ringing so early - with a room available ! We were packed and out within the hour - could only manage a one night stay - it was wonderful. They can't do enough for you. Fantastic renovation - bang up to date. Excellent breakfast and afternoon teas. We ate at the nearby pub 'The Cottage' - good simple food reasonably priced but we be will returning to The Southgate by which time we hope the planned restaurant is up and running - if it lives up to the rest of the place it will fantastic ! Give it a go! Julie and John Wilson

Room Tip: we were shown round the other rooms where guests were checking out. The single is more than generous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

After a warm welcome from the host we were showns rooms which we had seen on the leaflet but was so much better in true life.We have been to many a B&B but this takes the biscuit, there must be many a four star hotel which envies these rooms. The interior of these converted cottages takes nothing away from the old village atmosphere and I am sure will be in great demand once word gets around. Breakfast was well cooked, beautifully presented. and plenty of it. While sitting there it was nice to see locals coming in for a coffee and chat. I thoroughly recomend this and the scones are to die for.I know where we will make for on any future trip to thye area.

Room Tip: D/Stairs is A1 for less mobile folk or a family room otherwise all first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

What a fantastic B&B , more like a boutique hotel. Beautiful room, comfortable bed, lovely colour co-ordination and great shower room. Extremely friendly, professional staff and the full English breakfast was delicious. We've travelled extensively and The Southgate is certainly the best B&B we've stayed in, can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect, but so was everyone else's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Very warm welcome, spacious modern room, powerful hot shower, big breakfast, pleasant pub grub next door - what more could you need!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We used this B&B as a base for our cycling weekend, chosen as it is on route 1 of the cycle network. It was a fabulous place to stay. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Peter was very helpful, letting us keep our bikes in the garage and making sure our drinks bottles were filled. The excellent cooked breakfast was just what we needed before setting off on the 60 mile round trip from Hunmanby to Whitby. We will be definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I stayed at Southgate for 2 nights as I was working over in the Yorkshire area. I was amazed to find this B and B to be more like a hotel. Completely modern in decor with a great sized single room and friendly staff to boot. The breakfast was wonderful and they did accomadate me requiring mine a little earlier than listed too. The free wiFii was a fantastic help to me to get some work done in the evening.
I can't recommend it highly enough and it will be my place of choice whenever over this way again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southgate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southgate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 8, Bridlington Street, Hunmanby YO14 0JR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hunmanby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hunmanby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful Bed and Breakfast is situated in the quaint village of Hunmanby on the East Coast of Britain. Hunmanby sits on the outskirts of the seaside town of Filey with Scarborough and Bridlington only 9 miles away. You will be spoilt for choice for golf courses, walks and cycle routes in the area. We pride ourselves on the quality of our rooms with a good breakfast to start your day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southgate Bed And Breakfast Hunmanby, North Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southgate Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.