We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great grub!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herriot's Kitchen

Herriot's Kitchen
Main Street, Hawes DL8 3QW, England
+44 (0)1969 667536
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 20 restaurants in Hawes
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations
Penshaw Tyne and Wear
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great grub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Ate in here twice. The food was very yummy and filling. I would highly advise the carrot cake! Immaculate cafe with friendly staff and some lovely art on the walls.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    50
    14
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ownerjag
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food and pleasing art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Visited Herriots and must say my plowmans looked exactly like the photo. The owners have paid attention to the details and this makes for a pleasurable place to stop for a quality coffee and good food, the cakes are all baked on site and I wish I could have eaten a piece of every one that they had as they all looked that good. Next time I'm in Hawes I'll be comming here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great tea room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Herriots cafe was serving fabulous cakes, sandwiches and good coffee when we arrived, after a long ride through the dales. it was very busy and you could see that they enjoyed what they were doing and interacting with the other customers.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice place to stop for coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

It was a shame we'd just had a big breakfast as the coffee was very nice and the cakes looked lovely.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Serious room for improvement when it comes to customer care.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My wife and I popped into Herriot's Kitchen for a quick snack lunch and were very disappointed with the service and attitude of manager. When we entered he saw us and proceeded to turn his back on us, no warm welcome. The cafe is very pleasant and clean with lots of pictures on the walls which they are trying to sell. We ordered two coffees which were fine and a ploughman's lunch which we thought would be something special given that various notices around the place stated that the owner had worked with a top lady chef in London for 15 years. The ploughman's was awful, instead of nice crusty bread we got a brown roll that looked like it came from the Tesco's basic range, I have also never seen such small pieces of cheese before on a ploughman's. What they served gives the traditional ploughmans lunch a bad name. Then to top it off when we came to pay was told that they don't take credit cards which in its self is fine it was just done is a very condescending manor and then to be told that cash is available at cash machines really was an insult. Needless to say if you want to be spoken to by a rude manager and have basic food then this is the place for you.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herriotskitchen, Owner at Herriot's Kitchen, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Some customers can adopt a strange attitude if something is not to their liking- probably the fact that the food was not overflowing the sides of the plates, they then go onto sites such as this with their negativity, and as a nation we tend to complain far more than we compliment. Quality but not necessarily Quantity is what you get from Herriot’s.
Lets just put the record straight here, EVERYBODY is welcomed into our establishment –usually with a cheery hello, from everybody who works here; now some customers don’t hear it, some just totally ignore it –most respond in a similar cheery way. We can get extremely busy, but everyone gets a greeting and we try very hard to wish everybody a cheery goodbye etc. on departure, NOBODY intentionally turns their back rudely on any person at Herriot’s! After acknowledgement we may continue with what we were doing though.
The PLOUGHMANS, everybody else (to our Knowledge) has thoroughly enjoyed ALL of Liz’s food, especially the Ploughmans and more often than not pieces of cheese have been left, usually a clear indicator that people have been given sufficient! Generally the rolls we serve are baked fresh daily from the bakers opposite our café. Where else in Hawes would you get a wonderful Ploughmans with a beautifully dressed & seasoned salad, top quality baked ham or local cheeses, fresh roll and finished with a selection of home-made pickles, chutney or piccalilli? People love the relishes so much we sometimes cannot keep up with the demand to take them away.
The customer seemed to notice several notices around the café telling people from where Liz had previously worked – there’s ONE notice, but they failed to notice the THREE signs saying that credit cards are taken for purchases over £20 only. Most people have taken the information given about the 3 cash points in the town as just that –HELPFUL INFORMATION!
As for ‘trying to sell pictures’ we are a combined Art Gallery as well as a coffee shop, supporting 8 very talented local artists; Hence the beautiful original art on the walls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herriot's Kitchen also viewed

 
Hawes, North Yorkshire
Hawes, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Herriot's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herriot's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.