We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Herriot's Guest Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Herriot's Guest Accommodation
Save
You added Herriot's Guest Accommodation to your Saves list
Main Street, Hawes DL8 3QW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hawes B&B and Inns
Derbyshire
1 review
“A fabulous stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Many thanks to Glenn and his wife for a wonderful stay in Herriots, exceptional hosts, such welcoming people, made our stay very pleasant. The rooms were very warm, spotlessly clean and bed extremely comfortable. The breakfast was fabulous and well presented. Will defintely stay again when we are back in the Yorkshire Dales. Thanks also to Gelnn for recommending the Indian restaurant up the street which served excellent food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herriotskitchen, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
hi, glad you also enjoyed your stay with us and our recommendation of the local Indian restaurant - always a firm favourite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    37
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
30
59
28
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Herriot hotel.The hotel is in a lovely location and the room was spotless with good sleep quality.Our hosts Glen & Liz were great and made us feel most welcome.Breakfast was superb,with the porridge highly recommended.We hope to stay again in the future
Mr & Mrs Harper,Needham Market, Suffolk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herriotskitchen, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for writing a review, glad you liked our location, we're looking forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were made very welcome. The breakfasts were very tasty and well-cooked and really enjoyed the evening meal on Saturday night. It was lovely having the gallery to browse in and the marmalades I bought have been very popular at home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herriotskitchen, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, we're glad you enjoyed the food both here and the marmalades you took home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights, with our friends, who had come from Amsterdam.
We all really enjoyed our stay in this gem of a guest house, loved the breakfasts, the home made goodies.. especially the pink grapefruit marmalade!
Thanks to the owners for the warm welcome and thanks also for recommending the White Hart Hotel for our evening meals.
See you soon!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, the pink grapefruit marmalade keeps selling out, we can't make enough of it at the moment. We'll see you next time you're in the U.K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I stayed at Herriot's twice, the welcome is really warm and friendly, just what you want after a long day on the bike. The beds are all new and very comfortable; all tested out by Glenn himself!
The quality of breakfast is outstanding and if you go for the full Yorkshire breakfast you will enjoy some very tasty and well presented grub, the black pudding is gorgeous and my egg was perfect.
Thanks to Glenn for drying out all my gear, this helped me a lot.

Room Tip: If you're on your own, doing just the one night and it's a quick stopover, room four is grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
thank you, Yes we know the value of a good nights sleep, so make every effort to achieve this for our guests. Unfortunately the weather hasn't been particularly kind this year - so our drying area has seen a lot of 'trade'.
Quality ingredients are the 'trick of the trade' as to our fabulous breakfasts (with a bit of skill thrown in).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a friendly and helpful host Glen was on my one night stay. Although parking was very limited I was advised a safe and suitable location for my motorcycle in front of the premises.
My twin room, number seven, on the top floor, for which I had paid a single supplement, was very comfortable with all the usual comforts and great views from both windows. Breakfast which was served early for me for an early start gave a good choice of cereal and fruit and a wonderful prepared full English serving. Yes, I can really recommend the Herriots Guest House in Hawes and hop to return in the very near future. Thank You.

Room Tip: Obviously the higher the room the better the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you, we now have a secure tucked away area for bikes to be put overnight, we're glad you enjoyed the views from our upper floor, and welcome you back next time you're riding through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

You will be made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive at Herriots by Glen and Liz our hosts. My friends and I visited Herriots during the recent spell of bad weather when part of Hawes was flooded for a short time so we adapted our planned walking activity accordingly to avoid flooded footpaths, one even washed away! Glen was extremely helpful and flexible in meeting our needs as he offers a transportation service as part of the package to walk the Herriot Way. Finished our stay (5 nights) with a brilliant walk on our last day over Great Shunner Fell, recommend walking this in the direction from Thwaite to Hawes as the ascent is more gradual and you can see the summit most of the time. Had a lovely stay and nothing was too much trouble for Glen and Liz. There are many extras - fresh milk for the rooms, home made cookies also provided and the standard of cuisine is superb. Thank you Glen and Liz.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheffy5, Owner at Herriot's Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your review of us, Yes we certainly had to be flexible that week, but you guys were the perfect guests with the right attitude to freak weather patterns. Even though your week wasn't as planned, we felt you certainly went away having achieved specific goals , the journey not the end is often far more accessible and enjoyable.
We hope to see you back up this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Herriot's Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herriot's Guest Accommodation

Address: Main Street, Hawes DL8 3QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the beautiful Yorkshire Dales from our 300 year old, 4 star guest house located on the main street. You can dine on great food from Herriots Kitchen. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Herriot's Guest Accommodation Hawes, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herriot's Guest Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.