We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious base in Wensleydale” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Stone House Hotel to your Saves list
Stone House Hotel
Sedbusk, Hawes DL8 3PT , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hawes
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Luxurious base in Wensleydale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

6 of us stayed here for the Yorkshire Grand Départ of the Tour de France, and were delighted that we had managed to book rooms as soon as the Tour route was announced. A short walk from the Buttertubs Pass and from Hawes village, the location is perfect also for a weekend or holiday walking and/or cycling in the Dales. Rooms comfortable if a little small, staff really friendly and helpful, hotel full of characterful lounges in which to relax, and outstanding food, including packed lunches prepared for us while we were having superb breakfast. Pricier than the average B&B, but highly recommended for a special treat.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
What a weekend we enjoyed for the Tour De France, Le Grand Depart! Congratulations on booking the rooms when you did as we could have filled the rooms 10 times over! Appreciate your comments regarding the food and service. Our rooms do vary in size - ranging from standard rooms up to our suites. Hope to see you with your bikes in 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    48
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
131
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We booked Stonehouse at short notice for a relaxing stay in the Dales. The hotel is set in the most superb location looking down onto Hawes and surrounded by absolutely beautiful fells. The location is just far enough out of Hawes to be tranquil and great for a good nights sleep. There is a footpath that takes about 15 mins to walk into the centre of Hawes to access all the pubs and little shops . Breakfast was a well cooked selection of locally sourced sausage and bacon if you are up to the full Yorkshire but there are lots of other options . The atmosphere is very relaxed and welcoming which suits the nature of the Dales and just helps with the chill out factor generally. The happy ship vibe seemed to translate well into helpful and friendly staff. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Lovely review thank you - with really useful information for people who choosing a hotel in the area. The location of Stone House is a major plus point - just out of the town to be peaceful and relaxed but not too remote for an easy stroll into town - best of both worlds! Pleased you picked up on the happy atmosphere and you enjoyed the food. See you soon we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed here one night and booked literally 1 hour before I arriving.
From the moment I arrived everyone was extremely friendly and welcoming.
The car park was full due, I think, to the popular restaurant and I was duly invited to park my car right at the front door (thanks Heidi).
The room I had (No. 16) was small but ideal for what I needed. Bed extremely comfy and shower was powerful which is always a bonus. Lovely view to the hill behind and I loved the sound of the sheep baaing as I nodded off to sleep!
Food in the restaurant was excellent and couldn't be faulted, as was the service.
I mentioned that the next time I'm back I'll bring my wife and with that was shown the other rooms on offer. All superb (thanks Lyn).
As I was leaving at 6.30am, a take away breakfast was organised and left for me in the fresh milk fridge at top of the stairs. What made it a memorable stay was the note outside my door left by Lyn that reminded me to take it! Great personal service from someone who truly enjoys their job. Thanks again.
The gardens are also immaculate and nice to stroll round or sit in. Views down to the river or up to the hills behind are also well worth seeing and when I visit next time with my wife will explore more.
This is the first time I've written a review but felt it should be done as I've never been so welcomed or enjoyed such personal treatment before (including 5 star hotels).
Amazing place in a wonderful location. Please keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Many thanks for your excellent review. It is so important to us that no matter the length of stay - guests manage to capture the essence of what Stone House is all about - traditional standards of hospitality but with a personal touch. We look forward to seeing you and your wife on your next visit to Wensleydale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Keep this hotel a closely guarded secret. If you don't you may never be able to get a booking. We've stayed here twice and been blown away by the food, service, welcome and value. No, it's not the cheapest option but then neither's a Bentley or a Ferrari. We were very happy to entrust our 30th wedding anniversary weekend to their tender care and we were not disappointed. Neither was Bob the wonderfully bonkers Border Collie. Great location, great food, great staff, can't recommend it too highly.

Room Tip: The conservatory rooms are lovely and any room at the front of the hotel will have an amazing view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thanks for your review - very positive feedback and we are pleased that we could make your 30th Wedding Anniversary even more special! We look forward to welcoming you both and Bob for another enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Former private stone home built c. 1908 in Cotswold style. Beautifully designed. Retains feel of being in a large private home as a weekend guest.

Met many couples who were repeat visitors over many years.

Excellent base for walking or touring Wensleydale, Swaledale and Wharfedale.

Sensitively extended with comfortable rooms and views throughout. Best quality bedding and construction. Family management very attentive. Food generous and well-prepared, although presented without any imagination, or I would give this five stars.

Room Tip: Room 8 faced meadow with sheep. Large bed in small room, but well sunlit. Recommended. Room 5 is lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We appreciate your generally positive review and precise feedback. I have passed on your remark to the kitchen team regrading your comment about the food, we do pride ourselves on the quality and presentation of all our dishes - so we were a little puzzled by this, but we are looking to see where improvements can be made. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had a suite and it was excellent. The hotel is set in a very quiet location and the informal nature and friendly staff make you feel welcome. This was my third visit and I will definitely be going back. Maybe I can become the character to replace the great chap who was a most regular visitor and who sadly passed away recently...

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Appreciate your review many thanks. We love characters at the Stone House and yes the retired Bomber Command pilot, David Hearsey DFC, was certainly one of the best loved characters - he will be missed. Pleased you liked the Suite, we now have two rooms of this category, and they are certainly popular as they are very spacious with a separate lounge area in which to relax. See you for your 4th visit very soon i hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford, Berkshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I think the title says it all, plus it is dog and cyclist-friendly. It's away from the town, but with a beautiful garden and good food and a relaxing lounge, there's no need to go anywhere else! The staff were amazingly friendly and it is a great location for exploring the local area, especially on your bike. One of our friends did get woken up very early by noisy people on the floor above, but that was the only grumble I heard. Go on, try it.

Room Tip: Maybe suggest a room on the top floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeeves11, Owner at Stone House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
We always appreciate feedback and your review was great to read - thank you. We do welcome guests with dogs (not all bedrooms are dog-friendly however) and cyclists - as we have our new Bike Barn available. With it being an old house, there can be a few creaking floor boards! I would like to say it is the resident ghost but its probably just light sleepers! We look forward to seeing you again when your travel plans allow you another visit to the dales.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Address: Sedbusk, Hawes DL8 3PT , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone House is a classic Edwardian country house hotel and restaurant overlooking the market town of Hawes deep in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. With 24 quality en-suite bedrooms, delicious food, oak paneled lounges with log-fires, library with billiard table,and a dream location, Stone House is the perfect location for a relaxing break in the Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hotel Hawes
Stone House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.