We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay in the dales” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stone House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Stone House Hotel to your Saves list
Stone House Hotel
Sedbusk, Hawes DL8 3PT , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hawes
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfect place to stay in the dales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

After a long walk up a blustery Ingleborough what a warm welcome, roaring fires, cosy alcoves , beautiful bedrooms (just refurbished) and outstanding food. The dog was happy too. The new renewable energy centre using biomass heat was very interesting. We will be back very soon

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    48
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
131
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirklevington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just spent two nights at The Stone House it was everything we hoped for and more ! We have never stayed anywhere quite like it the staff were all so friendly and helpfull ,the quality of our meals were amazing and we took our 6 month cocker spanial called Edie and she was also made so welcoming . Looking forward to returning soon .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Four of us spend New Year 2013/14 at the Stone House. We arrived New Years eve to a great reception, coffee bics etc. We changed for a fancy dress evening - fantastic organization marvelous buffet then a casino - all given £5,000 (virtual money) which we changed for chips and the winner was the one with most left. Murder mystery quiz at nearby village on New Years Day followed by a black tie meal with small jazz band followed by fireworks.It was relaxed very friendly and the best New Year event we have done.

Room Tip: We left as all the rooms were just starting to be fully refurbished every room I saw was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, England
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you want to feel relaxed and comfortable without stuffiness then the Stone House is made to measure. It's well staffed and everyone is friendly including the guests. The rooms are spacious (ours was 22) and the lounges are very comfortable - open fire, comfy chairs and the opportunity to read or chat. The food for breakfast and the evening was very good and always served with good cheer. As the hotel is in the heart of Wensleydale there is plenty of opportunity for walks out of the door and it's well-equipped for cyclists.

Whether you want to come back to a classic English country hotel at the end of a day's walk or you just want to relax in complete comfort the Stone House is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel was the epitome of what we had hoped for in visiting the Dales. We stayed in the Coach House and thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of our quarters, but loved the open fire in the Oak Room as we enjoyed a drink at the end of a day out walking the myriad of trails around Hawes. Martin made us feel very welcome and spent time having a chat as he stoked the fire and lit candles. The dinners were wonderful with perfect sized courses and accompanied by great wines. The staff were very warm, friendly and professional. We will be back ... one day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for night 3 days before Xmas. Only people staying in hotel before Xmas rush. We had room 1, four poster with 2 z beds for the children. Great to have room for a settee and tv, too often rooms cramped when 4 in a room. Great to have dog with us too. Only downside was room was a little cool, radiators not big enough for room but is was 2 degrees. The real fires and Xmas decorations were lovely, great care had been taken in their display. Team were welcoming and caring, very warm feel. Games for children and pool room great we Shut the door so dog could be free. Ate in restaurant which was lovely, see review, kids had one course and shared rest of ours. Breakfast very tasty and good quality. Drying room available. What a beautiful place and great team.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding at Simonstowe. The downstairs is beautiful with lovely open fires and spotlessly clean. It was cold during the day and first thing in the morning because the heating was not on all the time. We stayed in room 3 which is to be avoided at all costs. The room was so small that the only floor space to put the suitcase down was were the door opened so each time we went out we had to put it on the bed. I realise it was only an economy room but was still £90 per night, so not cheap. The staff were extremely polite and helpful and apart from the warmth and room size a lovely place to stay. For those of you going to Simonstowe it was easily within walking distance

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone House Hotel

Address: Sedbusk, Hawes DL8 3PT , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stone House is a classic Edwardian country house hotel and restaurant overlooking the market town of Hawes deep in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. With 24 quality en-suite bedrooms, delicious food, oak paneled lounges with log-fires, library with billiard table,and a dream location, Stone House is the perfect location for a relaxing break in the Dales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Stone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Hotel Hawes
Stone House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.