We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back of Pub!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hardraw Force

Hardraw Force
Wensleydale, Hawes, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 9 things to do in Hawes
Attraction details
Worcester
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Back of Pub!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

You walk through the pub to the bar and pay your £2 per person to visit the falls which are situated about 5 minute walk from the pub, walking through the campsite and green parks which has plenty of benches and tables to sit at.

As you get nearer to the falls the ground does appear to get a bit slippery and a bit muddy as well. The falls are great to see and they vary at what time of year come.

This tour would take approx. 45 minutes to do and then about 30 minutes in the bar afterwards!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    40
    16
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A good walk, a not to be missed attraction and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Take the circular walk from Hawes via Sedbusk and Simonstone to Hardraw in order to work up a good appetite for the great food at The Green Dragon. The £2 fee to take the walk out of the back of the pub up to the waterfall is a bargain. Bring the camera, it's a beautiful spot. Do take care as it can be a bit slippery around the falls. Walk the easy route back via the Pennine Way.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Where ever i may roam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beware of camping if are on a motorcycle”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

For the first time in long long time myself and few mates on motorcycles were discriminated against because we were on motorcycles. We booked to camp on a weekend however when we arrived the place was busy with RV's. The place designated to us had an RV plus large tent on the same plot - no problem - however when asked to keep our bikes by the tents on the same plot we were refused!! When questioned the reply was vague and it was "the rules" no give or take!! So only go on four wheels if you want to camp at the falls but go next door if you are on two as you are made really welcome and it is cheaper - result!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic spectacle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Did the circular walk from Hawes to this waterfall. The weather was gorgeous, and the walk is well worth doing- it's not too long and they're are some great views. The waterfall is in a lovely village and yes, the entrance through the pub is a little bizarre, but the pub is fantastic and the staff are friendly and very welcoming.
We didn't realise we'd have to pay to see a waterfall, so were a little taken aback, but it is so incredibly impressive it is worth a mere £2 each. The water falls through such a huge drop, and the sound is amazing. Definitely a must for anyone visiting the area.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Oh no! I have to visit a waterfall via a pub!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very unusual but you access this waterfall (which was the one in Robin Hood Prince of Thieves where Kevin Costner was caught having a naked swim) via the Green Dragon pub. It's £2 an adult & £1 a child and is a very pleasant walk to a quite beautiful waterfall. The pub was traditional and old and worth a visit in its own right.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hardraw Force also viewed

Hawes, North Yorkshire
Aysgarth, North Yorkshire
 
Hawes, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Hardraw Force? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hardraw Force, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.