We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dogs made most welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
Save
You added Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Simonstone Hall Limited, Hawes DL8 3LY , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hawes
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Dogs made most welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Just returned from 2 night break with wife and dog. Staff must have been to a customer charm school, they were all superb. Stunning location, terrace in garden nice to chill out with drinks taking in the views. Evening meal and breakfast 1st day not too good overcooked, 2nd day good. If you like meat go for rack of lamb, there is so much eat it 1st as you will not have enough room to eat the chips etc. Dogs are allowed in the bar area and are also allowed to be with you here whilst you eat. Away at least monthly and this overall was one of the better ones. Until you arrive at the hotel there is no mention of 10% gratuity being added onto your food bill to be split amongst the staff although you can request not to pay this. We though that figure was ok so it was automatically added to the bill, only when we arrived home and scrutinised the bill found that they had also added 10% gratuity on the wine as well [2 bottles].

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    75
    28
    20
    5
See reviews for
37
188
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We booked this hotel through a groupon voucher and on the voucher it stated that we would receive a dales or superior room as we had checked out the rooms online before we were hoping for room 13 as this had the stand alone shower, so I sure you can imagine our disappointment when we were shown to room 18 which was a standard room with a bathroom light and tele that did not work the bathroom light had an isolation switch which was high up near the ceiling and my partner had to stand on a chair to press the switch to get the light to work. As we didn't arrive until half past 10 the duty manager advised that the Manager Franko had appointed the room and we would have to see him in the morning this seemed quite strange that the duty manager could not change our room as there were rooms available. We went down for breakfast the following morning and this was fantastic and room were it was served had stunning views. We then went to see Franko the Manager to get a changeover room and Tim the duty manager had left a note advising our wishes. We were given the dales room 2 this was a beautiful room with a working bathroom light and tele.If the bedrooms were as well maintained as the downstairs this would be a stunning hotel worth the standard room rates I'm only glad that I had got this at a very good rate. As it was raining we deceided to have a lazy day in the hotel our voucher entitled us to afternoon tea which we had in the lounge which was stunning we then spent the afternoon in the bar and ate in the bitro that night which was amazing the staff could not of been more friendly and helpful.

From a froughtful start to a holiday finished on a beautiful ending in stunning surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed here for one night during a fabulous week weatherwise. Everything went amazingly well from booking, check-in, evening meal, cleanliness of room, breakfast and check-out.
Only downside was we didn't think to take walking boots, the whole area is amazing and the views spectaular. The hotel staff cannot do enough to help, from suggesting which way to get to the local pub - sadly they didn't provide oxygen masks for the walk back up the hill!!!!
This hotel provides everything you could wish for other than a gym but who needs a gym with walks available outside the front door?
The evening meal was amazing, starters main course and most of all service. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorks
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Popped into Simonstone last week for something to eat as i'd not been for a while .Franco the Manager was as friendly as ever and the whole place exuded a natural charm ,the staff had big smiles and 'how are you ' greetings for everyone that came through the door.The Sirloin Steak I had was spot on Medium-rare and local (Hammonds in Bainbridge) accompanied with a side salad and Pepper sauce . Well worth it ,thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Just returned from a 2 day break. Everything was super from the first welcome by the manager to our departure. The staff were all exceedingly polite and helpful especially the maitre d'hote.
The room was large and and comfortable and the location stunning. Having a drink on the terrace overlooking the beautiful valley and the town of Hawes was a fantastic experience. Having super weather was a huge bonus but I think we would have enjoyed our stay whatever.
We look forward to visiting again

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

When we arrived at the reception I was a little taken aback as the reception area was incorporated into a larger room which was filled with people attending a celebration. I felt that I had gatecrashed the party! There was a folding door, but this was not being used. That being said, we were attended to very promptly and shown to our room. The room was very airy, clean and the bed was comfortable. The view from the window was fantastic, overlooking the dales. We had afternoon tea very shortly after our arrival which we took in the bar area, this was delicious and the staff were quick at serving it and always with a smile. We ate both nights in the Bistro and there was a good choice on menu, The view from the restaurant was again the Dales country side. There is a large patio area with plenty of seats where some people were sitting. There is not a large garden area, but what is there is tended. This hotel does cater for dogs, but all the animals we came into contact with were well behaved and I did not hear one bark. This hotel is fairly remote, but quite near to Hawes approximately 2 miles. The car park is not huge and with a function going on I drove into the last space. I would stay here again and the trip was certainly enhanced with the appearance of the sun while we were here!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Warm welcoming staff, Good sized room, with a great view of the Yorkshire Dales, A choice of dining with well cooked meals and a good choice at breakfast, which is very good as the hotel is slightly remotely located, We had 2 nights in room 21, clean spacious and nicely decorated if a little twee for me, nice gardens overlooking Hawes village the home of Wensleydale cheese.
We did go on the Groupon deal and had fantastic weather, which probably helped with the overall experience.

Room Tip: There are not too many rooms, and some allow pets, so it may be helpfull to specify for your needs e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel

Address: Simonstone Hall Limited, Hawes DL8 3LY , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simonstone Hall, once home to Lord and Lady Wharncliff is set at the foot of Stags Fell with breathtaking Views over Upper Wensleydale, the River Ure and the foothills of the Pennine range. This magnificent country house, is privately owned and has been carefully restored, whilst preserving the historic character of the beautiful building. Standing in it's own splendid grounds, the view from the front of the hotel is surely one of the most stunning in the country and can e enjoyed from serveral of the bedrooms also.Simonstone Hall is the ultimate tranquil retreat; it's atmosphere exudes comfort and finery in equal measures. From the moment you arrive you feel welcomed and indulged. A grand staircase leads to the second floor where a selection of elegant hotel bedrooms can be found.Relaxing lounges with log fires provide the perfect heven to relax and unwind. With spectacular views from both the Brasserie and Four Fells restaurant, it's the perfect place to enjoy a relaxed or intimate dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Simonstone Hall Country Hotel
Simonstone Hall Country Hawes
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel Hawes, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.