We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Dairy Farm

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hawes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Dairy Farm
Save
You added The Old Dairy Farm to your Saves list
Widdale Nr Hawes, Hawes DL8 3LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hawes
Leyland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We just came back from staying here for two nights on a living social deal, Paul and Pam were fantastic hosts and gave us a free upgrade to room 3. I have never experience such luxury and fantastic food as we had this weekend. Kangaroo was fantastic (yes kangaroo) best starter I have ever eaten. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were the best I have ever had too. Such choice. Can't wait to go back. The room was nice and warm and the bed was so so comfy. The views are lovely too. Didn't really want to tell everyone, want to keep it a secret just for me lol. Room three had a double ended jucuzzi bath and spent several hours in it drinking rose wine...... bliss. Only one problem we had to leave.
Thanks Paul and Pam xx

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
73
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this gorgeous little gem of a hotel. Paul and Pam (husband and wife) make a brilliant team. They both work so hard at making you welcome and confortable and even offered to drive us into Hawes for a pint and pick us up for dinner. We declined as we were so comfortable there we didn't want to go out in the evening! It is very tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. The bedrooms are well thought out, comfortable and well equipped.
We had only planned to eat "in" for one night and thought we might like to explore other local restaurants the next night, but Pam is such a good cook, we ate in both evenings. Paul is a great entertainer and you need never have a dull moment with him around.
The cottage is set in 5 acres and although the weather was stormy whilst we were there, and we didn't get chance to do much walking I imagine it's great in the warmer months to explore. Would definitely like to go back in the summer.
We made this trip for my husband's birthday with friends and the four of us had a lovely relaxing weekend. Plenty to do out and about during the day.
Would thoroughly recommend a stay. All credit to a couple who work so hard.

Room Tip: There are three rooms, we stayed in room 1 which was lovely and spacious. Our friends stayed in roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We highly recommend The Old Dairy Farm for:
The high standard of accommodation,
The oustanding food &
The excellent, genuine service where nothing was too much trouble.
We stayed in room 3, which was very well turned out and had a wonderfully comfortable bed. We were particularly impressed with the bathroom, it had a double jacuzzi bath and a double multi-jet shower.
Pam is a great cook, all the food we had was extremely tasty, well presented and plentiful.
We were made to feel very welcome by both Pam and Paul and will definitely be back to visit again.
Many thanks Pam & Paul for making our pre-Christmas break special and we wish you all the best in the future.
Jo & Graham.

Room Tip: Room 3 is the best room but all 3 of the rooms are honestly well turned out and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked The Old Dairy for my daughters 18th birthday party. Pam and Paul (the owners) excelled themselves with a fantastic lunch that was enjoyed by all ages ( baby to grandparents). The atmosphere was informal and relaxed and service second to non. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spent 2 wonderful nights in room 3. Had evening meal on first night which was superb. The owners understanding of how to make you feel comfortable without being intrusive is spot on. The breakfast is the best we have ever had and the newspapers were a lovely touch. This accomodation is immaculate. Room 3 is very cosy with a comfy bed and double spa bath. There is a selection of DVDs to choose from to watch in the bedroom. We ate at the Wensleydale heifer on sat night and wished we had stayed at the dairy farm as it was better value and much nicer food !!! Such a fab place we paid for my mum to stay a night for her birthday. We will be coming back.

Room Tip: Room 3 has double jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The accommodation here was first class beaten only by the stunning views. I was staying in the area on business and the owners worked around us and our difficult hours. I only stayed for a few days but by the time I left I felt like I knew Paul (the owner) very well. The owners work hard to make peoples stay the very best it can be and I would recommend the wonderful little spot and welcoming accommodation to anyone.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a double jacuzzi bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in July 2011 in room 3 with a walk in shower and seperate jacuzzi bath together with a balcony with a table and two chairs on. The room is beautifully furnished.

On arrival we fancied a small lunch but ended up having a two course meal which was absolutely delicious. As a vegetarian I am used to boring options so I was surprised to see imaginative meals! Pam's cooking is delicious! The cakes are cooked by a lady who lives nearby and are again, delicious.

We went out during the day in the local area, returning in the evening to eat dinner, again home cooked by pam and delicious. The menu is varied and interesting - nothing run of the mill on there.

Breakfast is again, home cooked and delicious.

The service is exceptional - Pam and Paul are brilliant hosts and make you feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. They seem completely passionate about providing an excellent service to guests and it comes across in the details - the home baked little cookies left in your room to the variety of cereals at breakfast to the iron and the variety of whiskey for my boyfriend to try!

Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Dairy Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy Farm

Address: Widdale Nr Hawes, Hawes DL8 3LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hawes
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
The Old Dairy Farm Hotel Hawes
The Old Dairy Farm Hawes, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Dairy Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.