We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect wedding!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Star Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Star Inn
Save
You added The Star Inn to your Saves list
High Street, Harome YO62 5JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Harome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The perfect wedding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Myself and my (new)husband, were looking for a venue for our wedding that was beautiful, a little different, could cater to our small wedding party, was child friendly and served good food! The Star Inn certainly ticked all our boxes!

We almost cancelled our first meeting with Anna, but decided a trip out would be a good idea.

As soon as we walking through the doors of the Cross House Lodge, we knew we'd found our venue. It has a warm, cozy, welcoming atmosphere, while being "just that little bit different".

Anna the wedding coordinator is lovely, she knew exactly what we wanted, there was no pressure and nothing was too much. She, like all the staff are extremely helpful and can't do enough for you!

A group of us, including a four and three year old, stayed the night before and ate in The Star Inn itself, again the staff were friendly, especially the lovely, young blonde waitress, I'm sorry I never caught your name, who knew her stuff and was very patient with our "little darlings"!

The food was beautiful, great portions:)

The morning of the wedding approached and once again, the staff were brilliant, Anna came and once again was incredibly helpful, she took all our decorations and set about getting everything sorted for our impending nuptials. Food for hungry tummies were brought to the room, even the sandwiches and chips are unreal
here!

The wedding went off without a hitch and then we were served our wedding breakfast, AMAZING!!! Even my incredibly fussy father inlaw enjoyed every bit. It was above and beyond our expectations, we're still salivating three day's later!

Anna and the team are wonderful, friendly and so helpful! The food is amazing, the chef's are incredible, a simple steak is NEVER just a simple steak!

We cannot recommend the Star Inn or Cross House Lodge enough.

We can't imagine having our
wedding anywhere else and will definitely be back in a year's time for our first anniversary. I think you may also have some visitors from our guest list!:)

Thankyou Anna and the team for making our wedding so special. And thankyou to Andrew Pern and his team of chef's for helping make our wedding breakfast amazing!

Hope to be back sooner than next year!

Em & Ben

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
You should be working in sales if you aren't already! Thank you for being a great advert for us and what an excellent way to start your married lives together... with fillet and lobster! That's t he way forward. Congratulations on everything really. We look forward to welcoming you back on your Anniversary, if not before! AP and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    48
    29
    20
    9
See reviews for
51
220
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you're looking for a relaxing break The Star is certainly the place to stay - the owners long experience shows in the attention to detail, his choice of staff (particularly the Kate Middleton look alike!) - all so friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble. Superb breakfasts - loved the little kilner jars of compote and yogurt. We enjoyed the 2 nights we ate in the dining room, but felt that the cooking was a little erratic - the first night we tried the lamb casserole with dumplings - the dumplings were like bullets - hard and dry. We also tried the rabbit which we found disappointing. However the second night we had the monkfish and the John Dory which were superb. I am probably being over critical and would not want to deter anyone from visiting The Star, but could not understand the inconsistencies. That said we would return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thanks for your comments - obviously we like to treat our customers like royalty so as Ms Middleton is on maternity leave, she helps out during busy periods!!! See you again, although we can't guarantee the same staff will be available; she maybe a little busy! Regards' RT.Hon. Andrew Pern'
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were warned that the restaurant is usually booked out so we got there early to eat in the bar - what great fun - for we Aussies the ancient inn with beams and stone floor was just fantastic - we were so welcomed by a lovely lady behind the bar. Then the meal - it was unbelievable - Rob had the roast beef with Yorkshire pud and I had the venison which also included a tiny venison pie in a little copper pot. The sticky date pudding is EXACTLY that - the toffee is still warm from the tiny little cast iron pot it is served in and then turns to toffee on your spoon and in your mouth. I am still on a high ! Then at the suggestion of staff we took coffee in the "coffee lounge" - upstairs, mind your head and what atmosphere - we loved it !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Excellent, thank you! (I was the guy outside who suggested going up to the coffee loft, from Captain Cook's country... Whitby!) I'm glad everything was memorable and hope you enjoy the rest of your travels! All the best AP.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boroughbridge
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have been to the star at harome many times and every time is equally as special . Last night the food was superb , ambience great and even their own beer went down a treat . Every time we go to the star we are made to feel very welcome . Andrew and Suzanne thoroughly deserve the great reviews they get as it really takes a lot to balance the great food and atmosphere without it being pretentious
Thank you for a great evening

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
That's great to hear: repeat customers who like us a lot! Not sure who Suzanne is, but I'm still here 17 years down the line! Cheers AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the beautiful Star Inn, Harome last night as a group of 11 and had a really fabulous time. From the moment we arrived in Cross House Lodge we all felt thoroughly pampered, it is a very special place to celebrate with friends in amazing surroundings. The food is out of this world and the rooms are absolutely gorgeous. Can't wait to return again in a few weeks!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Brilliant and thank you very much! The Lodge is indeed a great place to celebrate. Thank you again for your wonderful comments and see you soon! AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH YORKSHIRE
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband booked a night here, the only time he ever booked anything and kept it a secret from me. We needed to relax and we did relax completely. The Lodge was superb, room two was very comfortable and although not a large room was an adequate size for us, very clean and the bed was perfect. We spent time relaxing in the lounge in front of the wood burner, reading and drinking schnapps, bliss. We are not 'foodies' we just know what we like and the food was amazing, venry much to our taste, my only regret is that I was so full I could only manage the starter and main courses! Next time I will up my game and will manage all three! Thank you to all the staff, all the staff we came into contact with we're attentive and polite, also a thank you to Andrew Pern for signing the book we purchased.

Room Tip: Read the website as all the rooms are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Belated Happy Anniversary and well done to your husband; he has exceptional taste! Perhaps you should let him book your hols more often! Enjoy the book, hopefully it won't be 25 more years before we see you again! Congratulations from all at The Star Inn - we'll raise a glass of rhubarb schnapps to you! Cheers AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We visited the Star Inn recently as a birthday treat for my boyfriend and it was absolutely fabulous! We stayed the night at the inn and everything was perfect. The rooms were beautiful, the service was excellent and the food in the restaurant was out of this world. Andrew Pern much deserves all of his accolades; it is definitely the best meal I have had for a long time and intend to visit again very soon!

Room Tip: Room six is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Address: High Street, Harome YO62 5JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Harome
The Star Inn Harome, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Star Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.