We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Thanks !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Star Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Star Inn
Save
You added The Star Inn to your Saves list
High Street, Harome YO62 5JE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Harome B&B and Inns
Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Many Thanks !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

What a great meal and a truly wonderful time we had last night at the Chefs Table at the Star with Andrew Pern - it was FANTASTIC - thank you so much - we came away having been spolit !
see you again soon :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Brilliant! I'm pleased that you enjoyed everything; it's always great fun having a bit more company in the Kitchen!!! See you soon, hopefully. Regards AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    43
    29
    20
    9
See reviews for
47
201
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Having eaten at The Star many times over the last eight years we took advantage of the special offer to have a one night stay (dinner, bed and breakfast) on Thursday 21st February. The whole experience was fabulous and faultless. Attention to detail was unsurpassed, from the welcome at the reception desk to the complimetary rhubarb schnapps and parkin in the lounge to the room and of course the amazing food. The langoustine ravioli starter was one of the singular most delicious things we had ever eaten. We would recommend The Star to anybody who enjoys wonderful food. This was an absolute treat for us, we felt like celebrities for the night! Sadly, back to reality now but I know we will be returning. Thank you to all for your professionalism and hard work - it certainly pays off.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Perfect. 6/5 will do for me! Consistency is always the aim and has been over the last 17 years, always striving to do our best from the service, the food, the accommodation - the whole package - to give you a Star experience! Many thanks for your brilliant comments. AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our second stay here and loved it again, stayed in one of the rooms detached from the main building for an overnight stay, nice big comfy bed and very spacious bathroom. Dinner here is wonderful ,very relaxed and informal ,the staff are lovely and the food absolutely first class
Breakfast was superb with pancakes bought out as a nice surprise(it was pancake day !)
Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
You can't beat a pancake to start the day on Shrove Tuesday! I'm pleased that you enjoyed the little touches and all was to your liking overall. We look forward to your return. AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I recently held a birthday party for 20 people at the Star, and had a truly wonderful time. Anna the events organiser was fantastic, taking care of all the menu selections, organising balloons, flowers, and a superb vocalist Val Boyers. We took over all the 8 bedrooms at the Star and 2 also at the Pheasant 5 mins walk away. The honesty bar was kept fully stocked for us throughout the evening and the food cooked by Andrew was superb. All in all a great success and I can really recommend the large round table that can seat 20 people for an intimate candle lit dinner party.
Everyone of the invited guests commented on the well equipped bedrooms, and wonderful ambiance of the Lounge area and restaurant, with the log burner, and candles it truly made for an unforgettable experience which resulted in many of us not going to bed until after 3.00am!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
What a weekend and the perfect place for a big bash, it seems! Brilliant comments all round we look forward to your next big birthday! Many thanks AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Even a Harvester will give you a proper pie but not here! Puff pastry lid on a casserole? This is lazy cooking.

Black pudding starter and cheeses excellent.

Beef nice too, puddings only so so.

Breakfast excellent , single round table a nice idea, breakfast waitress charming.

Room Tip: Our room lacked privacy, we had no sooner arrived than those in the neighbouring room parked their c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Glad to hear that your breakfast experience and most of the food was to your liking. It was typical that on the last weekend of the game season we ran out of our normal hot water paste pudding and had to use full butter puff pastry lids for the pies.

I've never had the experience of dining at a Harvester establishment, but will look out for one to see what we are up against! Cheers AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

had been so looking forward to this trip but sadly it did not live up to its reputation room was very nice but cold when we woke up we had the tasting menu in the restaurant but for £70 per head was well overpriced one course chicken soup another sorbet risotto fish lamb and pudding i'm not surprised it lost its michelin star and needs to improve alot if it has any chance of getting it back have recently eaten tasting menus at devonshire arms and rockcliffe hall at similiar prices which is what im comparing the star with

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Sorry to hear of your disappointment. Clearly the other establishments you have named are restaurants rather than gastropubs so the experience will be different and the Michelin criteria are also different. Anyway, we keep on trying. Regards AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked a nights stay at the Star Inn the day before travel and were pleasantly surprised to have a discounted rate available. Upon arrival we were offered light afternoon snack by the pleasant and helpful receptionist (Anna I think her name was) After being shown around the accommodation we were shown to our room (room 1) which was clean, and very well presented with top quality furnishings and a very comfortable bed. In the room was everything we needed to enable us to have a relaxing stay. I think the only constructive criticism I feel would improve the room is if the TV were on the wall, however, I understand that it is in the best place to be viewed form the bed and, if adjusted, from the sofa.
We had booked a table in the restaurant over the road and were both totally happy with the service from bar staff and waiters, all of whom were informative and efficient, pleasant and happy. The food was delicious but, since we are not big eaters, we weren't able to enjoy a sweet although others around did and they looked very tempting. We will maybe have a smaller main next time and leave room!
We loved the whole 'Star Inn Experience' and will most certainly be back. We have been recommending to friends and family but should really stop now as there may not be room for us next time.......
Keep up the good work team, all the best for the Spring/Summer season
Sonia and Gary H

Room Tip: Check out the rooms on the star inn site by clicking on the link. Alll rooms, however, are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarInnHarome, Owner at The Star Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. I'm so pleased that all of our efficient and jolly staff looked after you well enough. The TV in Room 1 is placed so that it can be viewed from the bed, the bath at the end of the bed (people often book this room because of this feature) and from the sofa, but we will bear your comments in mind. Regards AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Address: High Street, Harome YO62 5JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Harome
The Star Inn Harome, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Star Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.