We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leaving was difficult...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pheasant Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pheasant Hotel
Main Street, Harome, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Harome B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Leaving was difficult...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed here only one night, and it was difficult to leave...
The rooms were cozy and very pretty, with a modernized "shooting party" decor theme throughout.
The bar was extremely welcoming with comfy armchairs and sofas.
And the food !
Dinner was really excellent and the menu was varied and not overbearing. It managed to be formal without being pretentious.
The wine list was excellent too : varied and interesting, with more than a large selection at fairly reasonable prices.
My only regret is that I had to leave early and miss their excellent breakfast...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    17
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
68
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were lucky because we booked the last available room for thr three nights we wanted we were told it was a family room which we could have for price of a double and a three nights for two deal. When we arrived it was like our own private cottage across the car park with comfy lounge with open fire and two bedrooms. The hotel itself has extensive sitting rooms which are really comfortable and inviting . More open fires . The food was excellent. We had dbb but it was no trouble to pay a supplement for an a la carte dish if we preferred it mostly we were very happy with the set menu which changed every day. All the staff were excellent but especially our waitress of the first two nights who also seemed to run reception!.i hesitate to recommend this place as I would prefer to keep,it a secret

Room Tip: Choose mallard if you have a family or if you haven,t
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Credit where credit is due. This is a gem of a hotel. The star has a more buzzing bar, and perhaps a few more plaudits, but i certainly didn't feel the Pheasant was a 2nd choice in HArome.
The service, the food (the FOOOD!) was just excellent. The right level of service for me and simple, complex, classic, rustic food - all there; pheasant, wood pigeon - i was in heaven.
We went for a treat in Feb - sat by a lovely fire, relaxed with a few drinks and then ate the most amazing food i have had in this country. Loved in.
The pool was great too - a small plunge pool with suitable decor.
Any downside?
The bath was small for a 6-2 bloke like me and the bathroom a tad small too, but little touches (like the port and the comfiest bed ever) made up for this.
Dont gasp at the price - this is a great place.

Room Tip: The floorboards are squeaky - so the closer to the stairs you are, the more people you hear passing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Pheasant Hotel in tiny Harome is exactly what you want in a country hotel. It is cosy, inviting and classy. The rooms are big, light-filled, comfortable and chintz-free. The honey-coloured stone building is put together from what was once a blacksmith’s, a shop and a barn. There is a lovely terrace and pretty gardens, and even a heated indoor pool. Inside there are a bar as well as a lounge and you’d be happy to while away a few hours in either one. But you’ll want to pry yourself out for dinner -- £36 fixed price for three courses or your own delicious choices from the à la carte menu. And in the morning, a generous breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My fiance booked this as a surprise for our anniversary, and boy did he do good!
He booked us to stay in one of the thatched cottages rather than the hotel itself, and it was just stunning - we were left a breakfast hamper to cook our own breakfast which was a lovely touch - meant we could have breakfast at our own leisure without walking through the village back to the hotel.
The cottage itself had a bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. The bathroom had an amazing freestanding bath - it was huge. The kitchen was small, but cute. It had everything you could need. There was even a hamper of wine/cider/water etc that you could have on an honesty basis. There was everything we could possibly want / need.
There were real fires in the bedroom and the kitchen (well, gas anyway!) which really were appreciated as it was a cold day when we visited.
The whole place was so peaceful, relaxing, well thought out - even katie melua was in the CD player which was perfect!

I got told at the last minute where we were going, and whilst the other half filled the car, with only 40 minutes until we arrived, i called the hotel to ask if we could put some champagne in the room. I did think that it may not be there, as i knew it was so close to us arriving, but needless to say it was there, chilled, with glasses and a lovely little note.

We dined at the Pheasant that evening, and decided to upgrade to the tasting menu as it looked lovely. We were not dissappinted. I could quite easily say, that was one of the best meals i have ever eaten.
Luckily, we do get to eat out quite a lot, and have eaten at some wonderful places, but that was just amazing. Our motto is 'it doesnt matter if its cheap or expensive - as long as its good food' - we are happy to try anywhere - this was one of those 'expensive' meals - £65 per person - but it was worth it.

The service from every member of staff we encountered was second to none, especially the lady who greeted us, sat us down (another girl waited on us) , and then served us our cheese - she really knew her stuff, and is a great asset to the Pheasant.

We will definitly be returning!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the tasting menu
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a celebration family meal in the restaurant and then my husband and I stayed overnight in one of the quaint cottages. The food and service were excellent and every one of our party had a really good meal. We would definitely return to eat here again and the extensive cheese trolley had some of our party rhapsodising over the quality and choice of cheese. The setting was very relaxing and although we were one of the last parties in the restauarnt we didn't feel hurried in any way.

We stayed in the Barn which was a tiny cottage 5 minutes walk away. This was a lovely setting for a couple to stay from the table set with quirkyblue pottery to a beautiful roll top bath. It felt very cold when we arrived despite the heating being on but once we informed staff they hastily brought over an additional heater which warmed the place up nicely. We had been looking forward to open fires as shown in the website but were informed the chimneys had been blocked up which was a shame.
The other cottages all had a little outside seating area but this cottage doesn't which is a real shame on a sunny day , maybe one could be arranged on the garden to the rear? We also found it rather disconcerting to be able to clearly hear conversations being had by our neighbours through the adjoining door although it was covered by a thick curtain.

There were more positives than negatives though and I would recommend people staying here. We opted for the 'hamper breakfast' so we didn't have to walk up to the restaurant and the food was amazing. There was a range of cereals ( loved the meusli), croissants, fresh bread and homemade buns, jams, yogurt , fruit juices, fresh coffee as well as a range of items to make a fried breakfast. All amazing- we only expected croissants and coffee.
It seems a little expensive for an overnight stay but it is really a lovely experience so i would recommend you go!

Room Tip: Check out the website but the Lodge has an amazing kitchen and seems to still have an open fire
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

What a fantastic place this is, I will be back!

We stayed in 'Peartree', which is best described as a cottage in the garden. It was fabulous, really warm and cosy, especially with the open fire roaring in the lounge whilst we sat sipping the complimentary sloe gin!

We ate in the restaurant on the Saturday night, the food was wonderful, the service friendly, knowledgable and discreet, a perfect evening.

Breakfast in the conservatory was also great, a great place to sit and read the Sunday papers with a coffee.

If you are looking for the perfect English getaway from it all, look no further.

Room Tip: Peartree was a wonderful home from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pheasant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Hotel

Address: Main Street, Harome, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harome
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Harome
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Harome, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pheasant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Pheasant Hotel to your Saves list