We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style on Sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Court Restaurant and Bar

Victoria Court Restaurant and Bar
The Crescent, Filey, England
01723 513237
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 60 Restaurants in Filey
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
625 helpful votes 625 helpful votes
“Style on Sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Last came here years ago and it is as good today as it was then. Could do with a revamp in the decor and furniture but I don't want to carp as the food, service and cleanliness is not to be faulted. A lunchtime visit and we had excellent service. Lots of elderly locals enjoying hearty lunches - very Alan Bennett; e.g. "I'm sorry but I can only manage two Yorkshire Puddings now!" or "I can usually recognise everyone in here but there are a few I don't know today!"
A little bit of old-fashioned "style" here- if you want fast-food and kiss-me-quick stuff this is not for you. Long may the Victoria Court live!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    17
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Proper Yorkshire service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Popped in here for a bite to eat one night when passing. Only one other table in. Great service and very good traditional food menu. Some chef specials on offer so variety is ok. Will return definitely.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

A really nice restaurant and really good food and service - great location too overlooking the wonderful Filey prom. Will definately go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent a lovely evening at this restaurant. The food was hot, delicious and the hospitality was excellent. We could not find any faults at all. We hope to return to Filey in March 2014 and will be definitely coming back here for a meal.

Previous comments have been made about the decor but the we do not think it appears to be that dated - it is nice to come back to a place time and time again and nothing has changed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Food was over priced for what is a very dated venue. The cuttlery and place settings could all do with updating. The food was very tasty, but not worth the price. Have been to better restaurants and paid less for equally good food. Staff were very good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victoria Court Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Filey, North Yorkshire
Filey, North Yorkshire
 
Filey, North Yorkshire
Filey, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Victoria Court Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Court Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.