We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of John and Ginny's Fish and Chips

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
John and Ginny's Fish and Chips
Station Avenue, Filey, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 60 Restaurants in Filey
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
somerset
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Lovely staff who ask when you enter if you want fish putting in the fryer so it is all fresh and hot. Much cheaper than some chippies, haddock and chips well under £5, eat in special £5.30 for haddock, chips, peas, bread and butter and tea / coffee. Good value kids meals.

Ironically parked opposite the shop next to a sign that said 'slimming world here tonight 7pm'. Erm don't think so...

Can eat in but we drove down to the harbour area and ate in the car watched menacingly by seagulls. Lovely.
Highly recommend.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    7
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best fish in Filey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Had fish and chips and sausage/chips. The fish was first class, really light crispy batter and very tasty fish. The chips were nicely fried and of good quality potatoes.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cheap prices, but too greasy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This place seemed popular enough with people coming and going, so we thought we'd try it. Prices were very reasonable. Chips were ok and the fish were generous portion sizes. However the fish was let down by being too greasy. The batter was udercooked and soggy, rather than crispy , which left a congealed wax layer on our plates after eating.
Average.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“THE BEST FISH & CHIPS IN FILEY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have a static caravan in filey and have been coming for over 20
years and these by far are the best takeaway fish and chips in Filey. We have them once every 2 weeks and they never disappoint. The staff are really friendly which is a bonus.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Amazing- great food, and friendly service at an incredible price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited here on Saturday evening to get a takeaway we could eat on Filey Brig at the end of a day at the seaside.

The location isn't the best in Filey- at the back of the town, and a bit far to walk to a view with your dinner- having said that there were a few tables to eat at inside, and a couple outside on the pavement.

We were greeted quickly and asked to order our fish so that it could be cooked freshly- don;t worry about the wait though- we were out in 5 minutes. Whilst we were ordering the staff worked out that we would be better off with a 'special'- we'd not seen the sign in the window; taking less money from us is always a good way to go ;-)

The total cost for us was £10.60 for two lots of Fish, chips, mushy peas, bread and butter and a mug of tea- unbeatable value! Every element was well prepared- the fish was fresh and firm, had the thinnest possible batter and tasted incredible, the chips were fleshy and cooked right, peas had the proper (slightly artificial) green colour and everything was dressed with plenty of S&V.

The staff were friendly and efficient- checking everything was alright before we left, and managing the queue with admirable speed.

We won;t hesitate to go back next time we visit Filey- another addition to our day at the sea ritual (and no doubt our waistlines too!).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John and Ginny's Fish and Chips also viewed

 
Filey, North Yorkshire
 

Been to John and Ginny's Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John and Ginny's Fish and Chips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.