We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just hope nothing goes wrong - they will ignore you!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bay
Save
You added The Bay to your Saves list
Moor Road | Hunmanby Gap, Filey, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Filey B&B and Inns
Sheffield
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just hope nothing goes wrong - they will ignore you!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed at The Bay in January, got my family together with partners for my birthday. On arriving in a beach house we soon had a knock at the door and a gas man came to fix a leak... we were supposed to be meeting the family in Filey... after about an hour he left to return with a park employee.. we had to move lock stock and barrel.. safer I assume no problems with that " we will refund your early and late check in money" we were told. we missed meeting the family as it was by now pitch black. On Saturday morning (we had decided to go out for lunch after missing tea the night before) No bolier so not hot water eventually a man came and fixed it but we had missed going out for lunch. On Monday, late check out day, we were awoken by a massive crane rumbling past along with the shouts of workmen,, could have got up early and gone home, when I dropped the key off and mentioned the refund I was told " we will get someone to call you" Still waiting for that. I emailed them and Hoseasons who had the decency to reply The Bay didn't, a week later I emailed again, they claimed not to have received either my or Hoseasons email and they would get to me.... still waiting... To their credit Hoseasons refunded my deposit to date, 3 weeks later, no contact from The Bay (I sent them another email from a different email address asking about prices and surprise surprise they got that one!!!)
In this day and age you would think they would be bothered about customer care... no they are bothered about taking your money tho...
I really cannot stress enough the park is lovely and if you don't have a problem I am sure you'll have a nice time but if you have any problems don't expect any help... they washed their hands of us as soon as we drove out

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    146
    58
    19
    13
See reviews for
218
88
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at The Bay Holiday a bit early so was told we could make use of all the facility's, so we took the dog for a walk in the grounds, this was the main reason for booking The Bay as it was dog friendly. We got the keys for our apartment and a map and set of on our search to find our accommodation, this didn't take long to find and when we got in we were very pleased with what we found. The apartment was very clean and modern, it comprised of a large living/ diner/ kitchen room. A lovely bedroom and a very plush bathroom with bath and shower combo. The village had a cafe, a pub and a swimming pool incorporating sauna, jacuzzi and gym. The main attraction for me was the fact it was dog friendly and it was. He was welcome in the pub the cafe and everywhere on the site even going into reception to introduce himself.......My one piece of advice is to book direct with the sight, I booked through Hoseasons and it cost significantly more

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We choose The Bay as a holiday for four adults and two babies. We booked to stay in a Beach house property. WOW!!!! We stayed in Beach house 385. A three bed roomed New England style beach house. The property was immaculate throughout. Very stylish and modern nautical/shabby chic furnishings. The property was very spacious with everything that you would require for a self catering holiday. The three bedrooms are all ensuite. Two have wet rooms with rainfall ceiling showers and one has a bath with a rainfall ceiling shower. The property also has underfloor heating and a wood burning stove. We never used the stove as the underfloor heating was more than adequate. The property is well located within the holiday village - adjacent to the swimming pool, pharmacy and pub. Unfortunately the cafe was closed during the duration of our stay. It was approx a 7-10 minute walk to the beach. The Beach house is great for people with small babies / toddlers as its all on the flat with no stairs. The rooms were big enough to accommodate travel cots too. Having read the other reviews about The Bay I can only comment on this property which was superb. We would def return to the Bay but I would want to stay in a beach house property. The staff in reception were very pleasant and helpful however other staff who we came into contact with did appear a little abrupt at times. The holiday village is still under construction so it will be interesting to see what other facilities are planned.....

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in a Dartmouth on Green close (plot 287), which was a beautiful spacious cottage. Ideal for a big family, but it was poorly maintained. We walked in to a disgusting smell, which we eventually discovered was coming from the bin. The bin had been emptied, but the used bin liner was left in there and not replaced. Scrubbing and bleaching a bin to get rid of the smell was not a good start to my holiday. The rest of the cottage needed a bit of extra cleaning, cobwebs etc in places. There were also other minor maintenance issues, like broken window handles. It was not enough of an issue to spoil our holiday though.
The beds were uncomfortable and cheap, making it difficult to get a good nights sleep. But the cottage was warm, even in January, and the location was good.
The site was pleasant and quiet, however they are still building in places. The swimming pool was clean, and the beach is worth a visit. We also enjoyed a few nights in the on-site pub.
I would visit this site again, but book privately, rather than through Hoeseasons. The cottage we stayed in was lovely, but could have been so much better with a little more care.

Room Tip: Book a privately owned cottage recommended on Trip Advisor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
g_scott
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We booked our trip last minute through hoeseasons, as I am NHS staff and get discount, it is worth checking here and with the bay direct to see who's prices are most reasonable.

In our party there was 2 adults and 3 children aged 8, 3 and 4. We stayed in a 'bilander' property. Check in was easy took all of two minutes, the cottage itself was lovely, very nicely done out. Rooms were lovely and cosy. Included in it came with a high chair, two travel cots and a hoover. Not always worth paying the £10/15 to hoeseasons if the property already comes with a travel cot. We obviously didn't use it but its definitely worth checking out before you go :)

The village itself is lovely, very well presented, ideal for a cosy weekend in the cottage with wanders down to the beach or a trip to the pool. Or its really close to Filey itself (just a few minutes in the car) if you fancy a change of scenery.

Its an ideal places to talk dogs and kids, make of it what you wish. We took our own food and didn't eat in the pub but instead got a chinese takeaway delivered from Filey which was fab!

We will return here as it has been a great weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed in a 3 bed "anchor" house. Great layout, design and spacious. House was spotless and well thought out. Owners had clearly added some nice touches. Couldn't believe we had 5 tvs - one in dining room, lounge and every room! Very quiet and great location - would recommend. (Number 15 green close / plot 271)

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed at The Bay, Filey over New Year 2013. Overall great relaxing holiday, accomodation was a 2 bedroom cottage on The Parade. The cottage was spacious and had everything with needed.
The site still has quite a lot of construction going ahead but as it was winter there was no work going on whilst we were there, I would imagine that in summer months there could be a problem with dust blowing around due to the building work.
We found the site to be very clean and tidy and there's plenty of parking close to all accomodation. The setting close to the beach and with the huge field for dog walkers was great, it's a shame more holiday sites aren't as open to dogs as this one. We used the pool and found this to be clean and well kept. The pub on site is also worth a visit, traditional in style it's great for a quiet drink and the meals we found to be good value.
Only slight niggles I can think of are that you can't book in until 5pm which we found a bit of a pain, it also meant that at 5pm it was near on gridlock around reception, only other slight issue would be cleanliness of cottage - although overall it was fine I think a bit more attention to details is needed - fluff and dust behind doors on floor - table mats had food stains on them - chocolate mark on armchair.
Site is in a great spot for visiting Filey, Bridlington, Scarborough and the beach is beautiful - although it was wild and wet when we stayed we still enjoyed some good walks down there.
I would definitely recommend The Bay for a relaxing break and will probably be booking in again for later this year.

Room Tip: We booked direct with reception, the lady who dealt with us was great and was able to tell us which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay

Address: Moor Road | Hunmanby Gap, Filey, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Filey
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are looking for a relaxing break or an action packed getaway a holiday at The Bay Filey will not disappoint. Set amongst peaceful parkland, woodland and meadows and fronting miles of beautiful sandy beach, The Bay Filey is a prestigious, award winning development of traditionally constructed holiday cottages and apartments and New England style Beach Houses.A holiday at The Bay Filey is ideal for families, couples or more senior holiday makers with plenty to do on site and further afield. For those seeking a leisurely break you can enjoy a stroll along the wide sandy beach or follow the trail through our meadow and around the fishing lake. For something more adventurous why not try some of our Hoseasons Go Active activities or if you want to venture further afield you are within an hour of York, Leeds and Hull and the North York Moors are on our doorstep! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Filey
The Bay Filey, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.