We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lively pub atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Station Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Station Hotel
Save
You added The Station Hotel to your Saves list
15 Church Street | YO14 9ED, Filey YO14 9ED, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 16 Filey B&B and Inns
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good lively pub atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here as we wanted to enjoy being in a pub, the evening meal and the few drinks with it were so welcome we had a nap after and missed the evening karaoke, which sounded well attended and lively!
Good sized room and helpful staff. Would stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    6
    4
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. We arrived and were shown to our room by a very pleasant man who carried our case for us through the pub to the rooms.

Rooms.... More like flatlets or chalets as had main room with beds in and tv, little kitchenette area comprising microwave kettle, ample tea coffee sugar and plates bowls cutlery and wash up equipment!

Bathroom had sink toilet and shower, and although bit dated was adequate for our needs.

Pets were welcome in the rooms and in the pub.

Accomodation is basic but really suited our needs as we just wanted a base whilst we visited areas along the coast.

Staff were extremely helpful and always pleasant.

Value for money budget accommodation but we felt more like part of their extended family. We will definitely be returning later in the year as felt so welcome and at home!

Great value!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Fab.... We had a really great stay at the Station. We took our 2 greyhounds (Milly & Katie) with us and we were all made to feel so very welcome. The room was fine we even had a spare bed so there was plenty of space and the added bonus of a small kitchen. It's great to find a good dog friendly place to stay and this is one we will be letting our friends who have dogs know about. The breakfast was also fab, everything you would expect a good full English to be. Sampled some of the great home cooking and wow the steak pie is to die for. 10 out of 10 for this great place and we will be back. many thanks to you all at the Station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent one night at the Station Hotel Filey on the 1st of November. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly young woman from Glasgow, who showed us to our room and gave us information regarding safety and facilities etc . It would have been nice however, if she had introduced herself as we still are not sure if she was staff or a helpful local!

The room was pretty much as expected after reading previous reviews and I have to agree that it is a bit dated. That said. I disagree with previous comments about Travelodge being better value, having stayed in several of them. The accommodation is unusual for a B&B in so much as you are not restricted by what you can eat or drink in your room.

The facilities are more akin to self catering. There is a kettle, microwave and fridge. Plus a sink unit and all cleaning materials and toiletries plus coffee, milk and sugar, so you can pretty much have a cheap week away if you wish. There is a small flat screen tv and dvd player.

The pub has the usual pub grub menu and we couldn’t complain about the food. As wine drinkers it was nice to find other than house wines on offer and at a very reasonable price. The lady that I assumed was the cook/ chef was very friendly as was the barman that served us to our food and drinks, he was a really nice guy.

The meals we had were eaten in the room with the open fire and it was very cosy with a good atmosphere, particularly as it was freezing cold outside.

We had a full English breakfast the following morning which consisted of a choice of cereals, the cooked breakfast was made up of black pudding, 1 sausage, 1 rasher of bacon, 1 hash brown, a fried egg, tinned plum tomatoes, baked beans and mushrooms followed by toast, coffee and juice.

Our only negatives were that we didn’t get to meet the infamous Andy & Andy, The rooms were not very soundproof and a mirror near a plug socket would have been useful. Other than that, we had no complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I booked into the Station hotel as we were visiting relatives in the arae. On booking I had read the reviews and considered them and also the price which is low. I was aware of the rating for the accomodation and had seen the photos posted so knew roughtly what to expect. I had booked two rooms as there were 4 adults and a baby.

We checked into the rooms and on first entering the accomodation looked like it did on the website. We left to meet relatives and have a meal and a beer in the pub which was very good value. We then returned to the room and while unpacking and checking the room found that there were brown long hairs on the sheets in room 1 as i have no hair and my wife is blonde they were not ours. My daughters room had spots of what looked like blood on the floor with what looked like a blood smear on the door frame in room 3. In each of the rooms there were about 3 air freshers which was somewhat overpowering. We left to visit more relatives who returned with us to see if we were overreacting. We decided that we would not stay in the rooms and managed to find somewhere else for the 3 days at the same price.

I spoke toBthe manager Andy about the rooms, Andy stated that he would refund the full cost of the rooms as we had not stayed there which i thought was good as we had only expected a refund for two of the 3 days. This has not happened and no replies have been recieved from the 3 emails I have sent which is a shame as I believed we had left on good grounds.

As i have said we had not expected the Ritz based on the rating or price.

As i have also mentioned the pub food was good value for money and the cask beer was perfect it was just the rooms that let the stay down.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We only ate here, We didnt stay over.

Everytime we visit Filey we visit the station, the children love this place so much and who are we to argue with a place that keeps them happy while we can have a pint?
They serve simple bar food thats good and honest and value for money, but I think its the friendly welcome we get whenever we walk in that makes my children love it so much.
They have a family room in the back where the children can play whilst the food is being cooked which keeps them happy.
we ate here twice on our last visit to Filey, we had a sunday lunch, plates full of it, and then on the thursday night. Both times the food went down really well, dont get me wrong this is not fine dining but good pub grub and we will be back, but maybe not until the warmer weather.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Friendly and helpful. Our room was excellent and appeared clean, it even had a sink and a microwave which was somewhat strange but very cool. They let me park my motorcycle at the back behind a locked gate, which was great.
Only thing is the shower cabin itself needed a little bit of maintenance, but still good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Address: 15 Church Street | YO14 9ED, Filey YO14 9ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Station Hotel public house is situated in Filey close to the beach and country park. We offer a large selection of food from tapas, to homemade pies and delicious steaks. You can also sample our regular cask marque ales. We are children and dog friendly. We also have chalets to let all year round. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Filey, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Station Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.