We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST ITALIAN TRATTORIA OUTSIDE ITALY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Marco Ristorante

San Marco Ristorante
13 Murray Street, Filey YO14 9DA, England
01723 515457
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 60 Restaurants in Filey
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“BEST ITALIAN TRATTORIA OUTSIDE ITALY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a find, have been to many an italian restaurant but have to say this has beat them all. We were staying just for a week but managed to eat here twice and every dish we had was perfectly cooked and delicious. The owners and the girls looking after us could teach many a restaurant how to cook great italian dishes and deal with customers, they were just so helpful and we were made to feel so welcome. We live in Kent so too far to go for a night out, huge shame, but will be visiting Filey again next year and definitely eating here. Best to book to be sure to get a table.
Anne, Lisa, Graham and Roy

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    77
    23
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
driffield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very tasty food at reasonable prices ( they even have a Happy Hour between 5 and 6 so you get even better value).Located in the centre of Filey so easy to find.Saturday night proved very busy so booking is a good idea.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Million times better than Bella Italia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We weren't going to visit here as we were holidaying on a budget so chose Bella Italia for a meal out in Filey due to their excellent reviews. We walked past San Marco and it looked very inviting, we explored the menu and it all sounded lovely. We noticed through the window a 'happy hour' sign pizza / pasta £5.50 adults, £4.20 kids 5-6pm so decided we would try it. I looked into the reviews and read about the 'best ever' steak and onion pizza so we decided to order that, it was delicious. The steak was excellent quality and cooked to perfection. I also read about the 'half size' desserts which are actually called small portions on the menu priced at £2.50. I had pavlova and it was more than enough, the regular portion (@£4.50) must be huge! We also had a lasagne and carbonara which were both really good. It is tastefully decorated has a 'posh' feel, it doesn't have the small 'cafe' like feel that most italian's have. Although I do love trip advisor this is a good example of how wrong the reviews can be. Upon writing these reviews Bella Italia was positioned at no 3 in Filey and San Marco at no 9, completely and these certainly in my experience are not at all a true reflection of the restaurants (sorry bella italia)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, Uk
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“OK but a little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant on a Sunday (early evening) whilst staying in Filey on a weekend away. I had read reviews on Trip Advisor about San Marco and decided to try it. We had booked beforehand as didn't know how busy it would be and on arrival were glad we had based on how busy it was. The initial welcome was not particularly friendly or welcoming but thankfully the service when actually seated at our table was.

Whilst the prices are reasonable and there was a lot of choice on the menu (I can see how the restaurant would be popular with families), we found our food to be disappointingly average/bland. The ingredients within the dishes just didn't seem very high quality or tasty. Unfortunately I wouldn't rush back to this place - sorry!.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“quite nice .....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

i enjoyed our meal here nice atmosphere it was like a taste of italy needs to be a bit warmer and when you walk in you can smell the freshly cooked meals pretty good

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Marco Ristorante also viewed

Filey, North Yorkshire
 
Filey, North Yorkshire
Filey, North Yorkshire
 

Been to San Marco Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Marco Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.