We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven
Save
You added Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Reighton Gap, Filey YO14 9SH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
May Half Term From £310
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My family and I have been visiting Reighton Sands for a few years now, we really love going there! This year, we noticed there were some differences around the site, new signs, a beach café and a park, all of which we thought were great! We also noticed that Haven had put an 80s themed night on, which we would have absolutely loved to have attended dressed up, however we weren't informed until we got to the star bar. So, if there was anything I could change, it would be informing visitors of such events, because I think a lot of people would love that! Other than that, the holiday was stunning! We were very comfortable, we had a gorgeous view, and on one the days, our water was cut off for some reason, but the staff and maintenance team were fast and efficient at correcting whatever had gone wrong, and our water was back on in no time! Thanks for another great holiday! Hope to visit again soon :)

Room Tip: High Elms is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reighton Sands H, Manager at Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi Amy

WOW! What a great 5star review. It’s always nice to receive feedback from our valued returning guests.

It sounds like you had a great holiday – no need to thank us, it’s what we are here for.

I’m so pleased that you thought the improvements we made to the park over winter are great – the ideas come from our guests and there great feedback.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you all back again soon for another great holiday.

Kind Regards
Nicola Campbell
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    164
    92
    18
    22
See reviews for
301
64
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lincs
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at this Haven site over a week-end. There were 7 in our party and we had booked a prestige 3 bedroom through Haven. I was quite surprised when we arrived it was not as prestige as I would have hoped for or like the images that our shown on the Haven online site. The caravan was comfortable and the living area was spacious. The fridge that is provided it tiny to consider the caravan is for 8 people and the basic fresh food you need for 3 days.
When unpacking in the main bedroom wardrobe there was a very mouldy pillow. My husband took this over to reception and it was replaced.
The nightly entertainment was really good on the Friday and Saturday Night and my children really enjoyed it which is what it is all about.
The swimmimg pool was lovely and clean and we all enjoyed using it especially the outside pool and lazy river.
We did struggle continually with our shower it would start fine but then would go cold then scolding hot. We informed reception on the saturday and the maintenance man came out and said it was fine?!? Reception contacted us to make sure the job had been done which was really good. That night while showering exactly the same happened again which meant I could not let my children shower. Luckily they showered at the pool earlier. I informed reception again sunday morning and was advised it would be checked again. Unsure if it was checked as we went out for the day but when we showered that night the same happened again. We spoke to the manager on Monday morning who advised she would look into the issue and were offered a token gesture.
This Haven site is clean and well kept. My children had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reighton Sands H, Manager at Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to post this review of your recent holiday.

I’m pleased that your children had a great time and that you all enjoyed the swimming pool and outside lazy river – this has proven to be very popular with our guests.

Thank you for your kind comments on the site being clean and well kept – I know all the team work hard to achieve this high standard and they will be so pleased to see that it isn’t going unnoticed.

I’m sorry that you had trouble with your shower. If you are looking to book again please contact me direct and I will personally monitor your booking and ensure all jobs are resolved.
I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Nicola Campbell
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were last at Reighton Sands twelve years ago and were looking forward to going back, the standard two bedroom caravan was clean and comfortable, better than the 'bronze' ones we used to stay in. The bed was already made up but we used our own bedding and took our own towels and toilet roll, toiletries etc.

Had a meal in the Mash and Barrel, hot, cooked, arrived quickly, waiter friendly and pleasant but the meal was a bit pricey - two drinks and two meals for £32.

Had a walk down to the beach but couldn't get onto the beach, looked a bit dangerous at the end of the path, which to be fair on the walk down, is better with the rope handle.

Entertainment - very disappointed , would totally agree with previous comments made. Found the children running round very annoying and once the club has closed, not much chance of sleep before 1am though

Perhaps Reighton Sands should change to become an adults only camp and get better entertainment in, after all Primrose Valley just up the road is more than suitable for families. I feel this would be the making of Reighton Sands, especially as I understand there are more private owners than Haven caravans on site.

Drove into Filey to the local Tesco as we were self-catering as previous experiences of camp shops are usually expensive.

A average holiday on a lovely camp with great views over the bay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reighton Sands H, Manager at Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to post this review

It’s wonderful to read that you returned to Reighton Sands after twelve years, even better that you saw an improvement on the accommodation that you stayed in.

It’s a shame that you felt disappointed with the entertainment – I will be sure to pass your feedback on to the management team to review. We value our guest’s feedback as it helps us to make necessary changes to improve our guest experiences.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back again soon

Kind Regards
Nicola Campbell
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We booked this park on a Sun break adding 2 together to get a whole week. We upgraded to the best possible available, something we always do, and were not disappointed. The caravan was actually not much like a caravan at all inside with patio doors off the separate living room and a kitchen diner with doors which could be closed to keep cooking smells from the rest of the accommodation. The double bedroom even had an en-suite toilet and hand basin. The kitchen had a full sized fridge freezer which came in very handy. The whole unit was spotless. The staff were friendly and helpful and the site was clean and tidy. The only negative for us was that both the second bedroom twins and the put-you-up in the living room were a on the small side for adults. We didn't use any of the on-site facilities as we were using this as a base to see the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the best caravan available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reighton Sands H, Manager at Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for this great 5 star review.

It really sounds like you had a great holiday. I’m pleased you were not disappointed with your caravan, it sounds lovely and well worth the upgrade.

Thank you for your kind comments on the team being friendly and helpful – they will be so overjoyed to read this.

I hope we get the chance to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Nicola Campbell
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Just home from a weekend camping the site is smaller than other Havens we have been to but it was absolutely brilliant. We pitched up at the top of the field a bit of a walk to the toilets but worth it for the amazing views! Toilets and shower blocks could do with a bit of a spruce up but clean and hot water. The swimming area is out of this world especially the lazy river obviously had a lot of money spent and it shows. Great friendly staff. We will be back soon - hopefully!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reighton Sands H, Manager at Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to post this great review.

I’m thrilled you thought the sea views from the park were amazing and that you were able to enjoy them – I believe that we have the best views in the area. They are truly breathtaking.

Thank you for the lovely comment on the teams on park being friendly – they will be so pleased to read this review.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Nicola Campbell
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This is our favourite Haven site. This time as we take our dog we were on the Beech Rise side of the site. Much better than Rowan. Caravan was clean enough. Site is clean as well. Did not eat at Mash & Barrel as was disappointed last time. Since we were child free we did not go in to the Showbar. Pool was good except one large family that decided it was there pool and there pool only. This did put a tinge on the pool. Will return again but hope we are not in Rowan.

Room Tip: Rowan caravans are close to each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reighton Sands H, Manager at Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hello

Thank you for posting this review of your recent holiday.

I’m so chuffed to hear that Reighton Sands is your favourite Haven site – its mine too.

I’m glad you will be returning again soon, please call the park reception direct on 01723 890 476 and we can put some requests on your booking to suit your preferred location.

Kind Regards
Nicola Campbell
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

First impressions were good but had some issues. We didn't go to the entertainment as we had as young baby with us. The caravan was on first impressions clean but we found dog hairs on a regular basis, not great with a baby! The swimming pool was quite small and I felt the pictures online were misleading. We were expecting a child's pool and water slides etc but disappointed. The food in the restaurant was good quality but overpriced and the menu very limited unless you like chips with everything! The grounds were very clean and staff helpful, repairs were dealt with quickly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reighton Sands H, Manager at Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to review the park.

I’m sorry to hear that some aspects of the holiday park didn’t meet your expectations – I will be sure to pass your feedback on for management review. Feedback like this really helps us to improve where necessary.

Thank you for your kind comments on the grounds being very clean and the team helpful, I know they will be so pleased to hear this.

I do hope we get the chance to welcome you back again soon

Kind Regards
Nicola Campbell
Holiday Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Reighton Gap, Filey YO14 9SH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Filey
Hotel Class:4 star — Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family holiday park set on a fantastic clifftop location with views over Filey bay. Direct private beach access to 5 miles of sandy beach. Indoor and outdoor pools, free entertainment, restaurants, supermarket and 9 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reighton Sands Holiday Park Hotel Filey
Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven Filey, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reighton Sands Holiday Park - Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.