We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food slightly small portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crathorne Arms

Crathorne Arms
Crathorne, Crathorne, England
+44 1642 961402
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Crathorne
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Crathorne Arms is now under new ownership, we have been open since the beginning of December 2013. Food Opening hours are: Tuesday Lunch to Saturday Lunch 12.00 Till 2.15Pm Tuesday Dinner to Saturday Dinner 6pm till 9.30Pm Sunday Lunch 12.00 Till 3.30Pm We are closed Sunday Night and All Day Monday.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Food slightly small portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Recently enjoyed the Restaurant for the first time with friends. Friendly greeting on arrival & a great atmosphere. As too be expected the food was excellent and all the dishes would get 10/10 for presentation, however we were all slightly disappointed by the size of portions especially the deserts. This won't put me however & i'll return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    35
    25
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“saturday dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

dinner was really good - really well cooked mussels and a decent steak. the maitre' d was on hand and professional. Menu wasnt too extensive but it suited the place well. If you enjoy a really busy place that bordered on slightly chaotic ( in a good way ) - this is the place. Great atmosphere, and lacking any pretension. Please relieve bar staff though who were a let down - no idea how to pull a pint, bloody mary was hopeless and they didnt seem too bothered about serving folk. Letting you down abit Eugene to be honest ! will return though and remember the night as being fun.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Saturday night dinner with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great place, great atmosphere, fantastic fillet steak & chips. Have been previously, never disappoints, will continue to eat here. The Mcoy tradition continues...... Thank Heavens.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super Sunday lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our welcome was very warm and friendly, and the young waiting staff did an excellent job , always with a smile. The portions were very generous and the roast beef was excellent. For dessert the Eton Mess was the tastiest we had ever had. Every age group was represented and the atmosphere was very relaxed and comfortable.
Overall and excellent way to spend a rainy Sunday!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Okay, but didn't meet expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We went for a Sunday lunch with a few friends and found the pub cosy with a good relaxed "Sunday feel" where we never felt rushed.
The one, two and/ or three course Sunday lunch looked good on paper, but whilst you would struggle to fault the presentation and service, the starters and main courses were disappointing, particularly the roasts. The dessert menu was, on the other hand, very good and our small party had no complaints here.
Overall this meant we did not feel the meal offered value for money and having looked forward to lunch at the Crathorne, were largely underwhelmed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crathorne Arms also viewed

Northallerton, North Yorkshire
Hutton Rudby, North Yorkshire
 
Swainby, North Yorkshire
Staddlebridge, Northallerton
 

Been to Crathorne Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crathorne Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.