We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class quality service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crathorne Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Crathorne Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Crathorne Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A-19 to A-67 towards Yarm, Crathorne TS15 0AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“First class quality service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed at Crathorne Hall on 30th April 2010. The food in the restaurant was outstanding and the service was first class. The room we stayed in was luxurious and very comfortable. Excellent value for money - will definitly be recomending Crathorne to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    90
    41
    13
    10
See reviews for
102
250
4
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
rossendale, lancs
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We paid a lot to stay here, and wished we hadn't bothered. Loo smelt terrible, plumbing very noisy, and windows very draughty. Had to keep curtains closed during the day in our room to stay warm. Other guests had no heating at all in their room due to system problem, and they'd run out of portable heaters. Were moved from the suite we booked to a room without even being told, never mind an apology! Had to point it out to the staff and ask why!! Some grand old features, and food's OK, but not very clean, (dusty, some discarded food under tables and in a corridor for the duration of our three day stay! Lots of problems with overcharging, and certainly doesn't warrant either its stars or its price. Food nice, but overpriced, and have eaten much better at the Hydro, Bowness, many local eateries, and the luxury family hotels chains.Re drinks, a single tia maria long with diet coke cost £10! A wine available for £6.50 in the supermarket was on sale there at over £35!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

I booked this hotel since the room rates were very reasonable and I have a fondness for old grand buildings. On approach and arrival, the grounds and the hotel are indeed very grand and impressive.
The staff were helpful and although my room was beautifully decorated, it couldn't disguise how small it was. My colleague didn't complain his room was small, but then again he only had a single bed in it.

At dinner the reason for the reasonable rates was abundantly clear - prepare to pay upwards of £10 for a starter and over £20 for a main course. The cheapest glass of wine is £8. Also, don't arrive at the restuarant hungry - the food is pretentious and would only satisfy the smallest of appetite (and at 8 Stone I don't consider mine large).

Due to the quiet and remote location myself and my collegue felt we had no choice but dine at the hotel and our overall impression of our stay was feeling cheated and ripped off.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night coming back from a trip to Scotland before staying a few days in Whitby. My husband had stayed here before on business and really liked it. We got a very good deal with a glass of champagne, canapes, dinner, breakfast and room. The building is in a grand country house style ( which is what is was built as originally ) but it doesn't feel formal or snobbish. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is no bar but a couple of large lounges where you can order drinks and which have a very nice ambience. We had upgraded to a larger room - The Leven - which was stunning. It was huge with nicew qulaity furnishings and a lovely view. We had everything you would need - TV, Wi fi, fridge, Tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board. The bathroom was lovely. Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant was very good. I would certainly go back alhtough it's not an area of the country we usually visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield Derbyshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

We booked the Crathorne Hall hotel for our wedding anniversary. This is the 3rd handpicked hotel we have stayed in and find the hotels very cosy and homely as opposed to big chain hotels, The packages they offer are very affordable and good value ,so check on their website first and also get the club card if you want to collect free points.
The hotel is very grand building set in the yorkshire moors and very easy to find just off the A19 / A1.
The rooms are lovely , we stayed in the Leyburn room , nice decor and very comfortable bed.
We had afternoon tea in the drawing room on arrival, which is a large impressive room.
The pre dinner drinks of champagne and canapes are served in the smaller lounge /bar area which is lovely cosy room , we also had post dinner drinks and coffee in here too as we liked it that much.
The restaurant is lovely but i felt the menu on our stay was very limited as they had run out of the chicken on the package menu and the lamb on the a la carte which only really left lots of fish dishes which we don't really eat , they offered to cook us a plain steak ,which was cooked perfectly but just a bit bland with chunky chips. Overall a little disappointed with the meal as the choice of menu did not work for us, which is a shame as the food is normally the best aspect of these hotels especially compared to the other 2 handpicked hotels we have stayed in which the food was amazing .
Overall a good stay but felt a little let down by the meal especially with it being our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

Thanks to all the staff at Crathorne for a warm welcome and for helping make my wedding so special in June. The staff managed the difficult task of being professional and efficient supporting the importance of the occasion, but were warm and welcoming which really complimented the relaxed atmosphere of the day.
The space within the hotel lent itself well when the poor weather meant we could not have reception drinks on the lawn, and we simply set up some of the garden games in one of the rooms which kept the children entertained.
The food was consistently good, the bedrooms are lovely especially the honeymoon and larger suites, and I certainly hope to go back there in future!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plummers Plain, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

My wife Beth suggested we visit Crathorne Hall to consider it for our wedding venue, as we are not religious but wanted a venue that had a old world charm, but, which wasn't a church. I was a little apprehensive due to the distance our relies would have to travel as we live in Manchester but agreed to give it a whirl, and I'm extremely happy I did. On our initial visit the staff were unaware that we were staying to assess the standard at Crathorne and we were instantly impressed with the level of service provided. We have been to stay at Crathorne several times during the planning and have only had our expectations raised or view confirmed during these visits. It’s a remarkable place and an exquisite wedding venue. The food has always been excellent either breakfast, evening meals or the wedding breakfast. The Crathorne staff are excellent with no request turned down, in particular, Elle, Glynn, Tom, Scott, Libby and Vicki to name a few but also Victoria Poole who assisted in pulling off one of the most stressful days almost effortlessly. If you are looking for a romantic get away this is also an excellent venue and the rooms are fantastic especially for a long weekend and they are actually spacious not the normal hutches you can get.
Thanks again everyone

Paul and Beth

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crathorne Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crathorne Hall Hotel

Address: A-19 to A-67 towards Yarm, Crathorne TS15 0AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Crathorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crathorne Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crathorne Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crathorne Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.