We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crathorne Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Crathorne Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crathorne Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   A-19 to A-67 towards Yarm, Crathorne TS15 0AR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Crathorne
York, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delightful day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We called at Crathorne Hall after seeing some friends this afternoon. We had stayed here many times a few years ago and loved everything about the place, so we decided to call in for afternoon tea which was first class. We warmed ourselves in the drawing room in front of the roaring fire and all the staff were so pristine and attentive. Our tea was beautiful with delicious sandwiches, home made cakes and the scones were wonderful too. We met Elie who has been at the hotel for 25 years and he is so passionate about Crathorne Hall - when he realised we had stayed previously, he gave us a tour of the hotel and even took us to the room we stayed in all those years ago! Thank you so much Elie, you made a fabulous day amazing! We shall be back very soon to stay and we can't wait!! Excellent....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    79
    35
    12
    9
See reviews for
83
216
4
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I attended a wedding at this stunning establishment and can honestly say we had absolutely NO complaints. The staff were very friendly, courteous & welcoming whilst remaining extremely professional. The building & grounds were beautiful & very well kept.
All the bedrooms I saw (mine & friends) were beautiful & well maintained. The food was fantastic & the only thing I can think of which would have made the stay that little bit better, would've been a pool / spa. But we more than managed without & had a wonderful weekend.
Thank you!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Hotel has been opened as a conversion of the early 1900's stately home and is very grand. The grounds are huge and are very well kept. We shared our stay with a group who were dressed in WW2 memoribilia, complete with vehicles - very strange.
The hotel has no bar just a lounge for tea which makes it feel very formal - but it is still relaxed.
Rooms are good and very clean but there is no lift which would make access difficult for some.
Breakfast was great and overall we had a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I visited the hotel back in July whilst on a drip down to England.
As is the norm with Handpicked Hotels, once we reached the entrance to the hotel, we drove up the impressive long driveway to the manor house.
Sara checked us into our room and then showed us up to our room, the Maltby Suite. What a room! Enormous double bed and a balcony which looked out over the grounds - which were beautiful on a sunny July day. The room also came equipped with a coffee machine which was very impressive.
Taking full advantage of the weather we ventured down to the bar for a drink. On the way there we met the barman who directed us to the outside tables and brought our drinks out to us - nice touch.
Dinner that evening was spectacular. We began with champagne and canapes in the bar area while we made our decisions on what to eat from the glorious menu. Matthew and Ant looked after us in the restaurant and were very friendly throughout. Every course which both myself and my partner ate was faultless - cooked beautifully.
Breakfast the following morning followed on from the night before - just fantastic. Ant was looking after us again which was nice.
I have nothing bad to say about this hotel at all. The only issue I had was that we didn't stay longer. Well done!

Room Tip: Ask for the Maltby Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My stay at this hotel was very comfortable and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The grounds are splendid.
There is some room for improvement with the restaurant however - someone seems over-zealous with portion control - particularly when the prices are at the high end of expectation. The oven baked waffle at breakfast does not live up to expectations.
It is unusual to find toilet paper still in the toilet on first arriving in a room - presumably after a thorough cleaning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with beautiful grounds. Excellent appointments, the rooms are large and comfortable. We had a wonderful well cooked dinner served by friendly and knowledgeable staff. I cannot recommend this hotel more highly and I would love to be able to stay there again

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

All we wanted was a stop-off between southern England and Scotland, but we got luxury. The grounds are beautiful, the staff delightful and the bedroom very comfortable. If you like light and bright, don't go there. But if you like to be embraced by the splendour of an historical manor house, you will love it.
Attention to detail was also good. I do like quality toilet paper, as an example!
A swimming pool would have made it perfect, but beautiful grounds made up for that.

Room Tip: Old corridors always creak, so it was worth walking further for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crathorne Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crathorne Hall Hotel

Address: A-19 to A-67 towards Yarm, Crathorne TS15 0AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Crathorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Crathorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crathorne Hall Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crathorne Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crathorne Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.