We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than the reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foxfields Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Foxfields Country Hotel to your Saves list
Foxfields Country Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Whalley Road, Billington BB7 9HY, England (Formerly Mercure Blackburn Foxfields Country Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Billington
Accrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Much better than the reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2008

After reading the negative reviews I booked a 2 night stay for my husbands birthday with trepidation and I must say I was delighted. I found that all the staff were very friendly and made you feel at ease immediately

The suite we had was large with a lounge/dining room with large sofa and easy chair, dining table and chairs and a wardrobes and dressing table and another television the bathroom contained a large bath and a separate toilet and a separate shower cubicle all very clean, I disagree with almost all of the negative comments,

The breakfasts were good and so was the evening meal we had. all this and in a lovely setting ok some places are in need of a lick of paint but do not warrant such negative comments

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — No lift
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    138
    64
    38
    34
See reviews for
55
197
17
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

my girlfriend & i booked a 3 night break in january for a relaxing beat the new years blues break. Before we arrivered we checked with tripadvisor the last 3 entries were positive but before that very negative for this hotel. to put my mind at ease i rang the hotel in advance & spoke to the manager Geoff who assured me since he took over 5 months ago the hotel was much improved with a program of further & ongoing improvements.All staff were very friendly & helpfull.the gym,pool,sauna & steam area was very clean & in full working order.The food both breakfast & evening meal menus were excellent as was the service top marks to the chef very good.The rooms are huge with a separate living room with tv 2 sofas dining table & 2 chairs large bedroom with a 2nd tv then large bathroom with separate wc & shower.The only small complaint i had was with the house keeping but once i spoke to the manager he assured me this would be sorted. I used the hotels direct website to book & got a realy good deal well worth checking out. We enjoyed our stay & would defo go back thanks. Give it a go.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORKSOP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

please ignore all negative reveiws. i stayed at this hotel from the 29th October to the 2nd November 2007. The hotel was fabulous, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. the chef could give Gordon Ramsey a run for his money, the food is delish! The hotel is NOT run down as stated in other reviews, its nothing a small lick of paint wont cure. Staff are incredably helpful and friendly, especially managers Matt and Martin. Only one small complaint, some entertainment in the evening wouldnt go a miss. i thouroughly enjoyed my stay, and will be visiting again. TOP MARKS TO THE STAFF AT THE CLARION.

  • Liked — SPACIOUS ROOM
  • Disliked — ABSOLUTELY NOTHING
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2007

Stayed at the Hotel 14/10/07 to 18/10/07 and due to the reviews had contacted Choice hotels for re-assurance, we were met by the Manager Geoff on the morning of the 15th and he re-assured my family and I that everything shall be ok, the hotel is subject of an ongoing programme to upgrade the area’s in need of refurbishment through planned maintenance, the current staff were very friendly and they all appeared to work hard to give the customer the bet in staying in their hotel, we were on a b&b basis so cannot comment on the meals in the evening.
The choice for breakfast was very good with typical cooked grill and other choices such as pancakes with banana/ maple syrup, a very good choice indeed for breakfast, continental in ready supply too if so wished.
Our room was very clean with a large sized double bedroom c/w en-suite bathroom, which within inc. a separate showeroom. On entering the room from the public corridor you have a three seat settee, armchair and a 4 seater dining table and plenty of room, all in all value for money was great, the room did need some attention i.e. painting to the window sill but as stated Geoff the general manager had assured me that the programme was ongoing to address such problems. I would certainly recommend the hotel, perhaps by contacting the hotel prior to arrival was it such a good stay but being honest the hotel was fine.
The gym facilities had been upgraded with new equipment and the pool, sauna and steam room were clean and tidy.
Summing the hotel up my wife the kids and I had a good stay and Geoff the manager is making 100% effort to rectify all the bad points to bring the establishment back to its former glory. 10 out of 10.
As you come out of the hotel about 300 to 400 yards back towards the road to the M6 there pub which had been newly taken over, the new proprietors were very friendly and the atmosphere was great with a gas living flame fire etc and very reasonable.

  • Liked — The Hotel was very good value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley Lancashire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

I booked my wedding here after being let down by "Stanley House". I was extremely worried after reading the reviews on this web site. We did however have a fantastic day!! The staff couldn't have been more helpful and Robin the wedding planner was a star, cause trust me I was not an easy bride to please!! The food both at lunch time and in the evening was excellent and couldn't be faulted. The DJ was booked by them, I emailed him a list of requests for the disco and he played them all. All in all I would recommend anyone to have their wedding here, the function room is a good size and very nice. Granted the rest of the hotel is looking tatty and could do with a bit of a refurbishment, but it didn't distract from our day. Many friends even commented that it was the best wedding they had been to!! FANTASTIC thanks Clarion a day to remember!!!

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

This hotel looks very nice in the pictures, and does a fantastic weekend deal, but to cut a long story short - don't bother, unless you enjoy - disgusting external decor (peeling, broken etc )peeling wallpaper, stained furniture, very dated decor, dirty and grimy bathrooms and toilets, broken ventilation, corridors full of day old food and drink,disgusting stale smells everywhere, dirty tables at breakfast where nobody cleans up, warm milk and juices, generally living in squalor. How they can charge over £100 for a room is a travesty.

The staff are pleasant enough - god only knows why they would want to work here though. I have been reading these reviews dating back to 2005 where a refurb was promised -this has stil not happened. This hotel is a health hazard and needs to be shut down!

The only positive is that there is ample parking and the views are amazing.

  • Liked — leaving it and checking out
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Billington hotels

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2007

The single redeeming feature of this Clarion Hotel is the size of the
standard room which is large. Unfortunately, this does not compensate
for the argumentative receptionist, the offhandedness of some of the staff, the serious need for redecoration and refurbishment and the generally rather seedy atmosphere of the whole establishment. Examples of the above include: no bedside lights, broken roman blind fitting, TV programmes constantly interrupted by irrelevant hotel information, grubby carpets, peeling wall paper, rendering falling off the main entrance, damaged brick gatepost lying in the entrance, disinterested restaurant staff and insufficient breakfast food supplies. Perhaps the standard was set during our arrival when, having booked a non-smoking quiet room on the upper floor, we were asked "why?".

  • Liked — Standard room size
  • Disliked — Staff attitude
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Foxfields Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxfields Country Hotel

Address: Whalley Road, Billington BB7 9HY, England (Formerly Mercure Blackburn Foxfields Country Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Billington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Billington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Foxfields Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Foxfields Country Hotel in Blackburn is situated in a picturesque location just off the A59 in the heart of the beautiful Ribble Valley enjoying outstanding panoramic views of Pendle Hill and the surrounding countryside. The hotel has a leisure centre, free parking and free WiFi for all guests. Formerly known as the Mercure Foxfields Hotel and now operated by Sheridan Hotels Limited. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Foxfields Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foxfields Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.