We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate let down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn York South West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn York South West to your Saves list
Premier Inn York South West
Bilbrough Top | Colton, Bilbrough YO23 3PP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great deals online.
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bilbrough
Whitehaven, Cumbria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Unfortunate let down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Normally, when you book into a Premier Inn you find that one Premier Inn is the same as the other with only slight changes to the pub / restaurant that is normally attached.

Granted, that we are having some unusually warm weather in the UK but the bedroom was close to a sauna! We switched the supplied fan on and opened the window but this had little affect!

The price for WIFI nowadays in the Premier Inn has come down considerably but I must say to even charge for it here is robbery! When I opened up facebook on my phone it took approx 5 minutes for it to update through WIFI!

On our way downstairs for something to eat, we were warned off several guests not to eat in the restaurant as the food was awful.
We ended up going to the near by McDonalds and as an added bonus, it's free, FAST WIFI!

I can honestly say that I had no complaints regarding the breakfast!

I would stay at a Premier Inn branded hotel again but maybe not this one unless desperate!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    135
    43
    16
    5
See reviews for
161
184
20
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton in Arden, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were on the second floor and the room was the usual good standard. However, we were much too hot during the night, even with the window open (not able to open very wide though) and a fan on all night, we were uncomfortable and not able to get much sleep. However, there was no quibble and our money is being refunded. We were moved to the last remaining room on the ground floor, which was a disabled room. Much cooler but the bed was small. The staff were very sympathetic and are aware of the problem that having no air-conditioning causes.

The breakfast is freshly cooked and excellent. Not buffet type as with other Premier Inns. We ate there both evenings and each time the meals could not be faulted. Full marks to the blond cook!! The prices are also reasonable.

All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Park and ride is not too far away. £2.50 return for adults. No charge for parking. Well worth using because it gives you as long as you want to explore the city.

Is it time for Premier Inn to listen to their guests and sort out some form of air conditioning?

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor if the weather is hot and humid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This Premier Inn was very remote and had to use car every day to get to places such as Scarborough, Whitby and Bridlington which were quite a long distance away, even York wasn't within short distance but the local Park and Ride into York was excellent. The hotel was very friendly and all the staff went out of their way to rectify any problem which was the room - very hot and even with open window and TWO fans it didn't cool down at all, this was on the second floor but when we were moved onto the first floor it was a little cooler albeit a disabled room. Andrea on Reception was very helpful and a lovely lady and also David the Restaurant Manager was very friendly and helpful. The only other downside was the fact that they only allow one hand towel between two to cut costs I believe!!

Room Tip: Rooms above first floor are very hot in summer. Overlooking car park gets noise from main A64 road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed at this PI as have stayed here before. Usual good standards with clean rooms and great breakfast. Hotel is slightly remote for other facilities and transport needed to get to York but only a few miles away. We chose not to be in the city centre to get away from the busy life and this was great. Only down side on this visit was a diminishing menu - the choice was reducing by the night so after 2 nights we ate elsewhere. The staff did inform us that this was a delivery/ordering issue but that was when we had already sat down to order. Room was really hot ( but shouldn't complain about our little heat wave) even with the window open 24/7 and a fan on constantly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

hotel very comfortable and in a good location however when we visited it was extremely hot and the middle floor where we were located the room temperature was 30 degrees and did not drop all night long




  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with premierinn.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel and the high standard of cleanliness; quality of food and the friendliness of the staff is one that cannot be bettered. After an extremely tiring day attending functions in York and arriving at the hotel at 2300hrs, the receptionist was extremely helpful and I received a first class welcome. Everything in the room was perfection, extremely clean and very comfortable with good tea/coffee making facilities.
I chose the Continental Breakfast and there was an excellent selection of fruit; cereals; drinks and breads to satisfy one's individual taste. A pleasant waiter was on hand to make sure that everything was to one's satisfaction.
Adequate car parking was immediately at the front entrance of the hotel, an asset when needing to carry luggage.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I booked this hotel next to the highway because all the rooms in the city were taken because of the races.....or way too expensive !

The lady on reception was mega friendly.....the room on the top floor was a little warm even at 9pm when I arrived (no air conditioning) - which is normal in the UK.

Anyway - the bed was very comfortable......and I got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn York South West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York South West

Address: Bilbrough Top | Colton, Bilbrough YO23 3PP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Bilbrough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bilbrough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn York South West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York South West Hotel Bilbrough
Premier Inn South West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn York South West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.