We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptious & special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crab Manor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asenby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crab Manor Hotel
Save
You added Crab Manor Hotel to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dishforth Road, Asenby Y07 3QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asenby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Scrumptious & special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Had a delicious first meal here as a group of 4. The decor is bonkers, brilliant & fascinating. The menu is comprehensive & the service is faultless. Food is scrummy. Our only criticism would be that the portions were so big none of our group had room for dessert :(

Will definitely go here again when in the area & would recommend it to anyone for a memorable dining experience

Room Tip: We didn't stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    61
    15
    12
    7
See reviews for
18
324
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed in raffles room for a birthday. It has private hot tub, 2steps from room door. Bathrobes and slippers provided. Also a sauna in room and old fashioned freestanding tub. Service and quality of room was excellent. Had meal in restaurant- excellent quality and good value for money. Only downside was the fact the shared hot tub was close by and there was a loud group , including kids, in there for a few hours.

Room Tip: Whilst its more expensive, paying for room with private hot tub was worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds yorkshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

for my husband 70 birthday , we booked an overnight stay at this Manor with a meal at the ajoining Crab and Lobster resturant
The manor itself is a splendid looking hotel . well set amongst a well established terrace gardens with fountains , statues , gazzebos nooks and crannies to delight
A large gravel parking area in front and an impressive ivyclad frontage , 2 mastive dog statues guard the front door
Once walking into the hall way , your senses are assailed by the conucopia of quirky items and vast amounts of things to caputer your eye -- not least a gaint white furry yeti standing at the top of the beautiful staircase !!!
We found the recepition area by walking down the corridore passing the open door way into a very inviting lounge room
We were warmly welcomed , and booking in was easy for our prebooked room --- Sharrow BAY
Sharrow Bay room is on the ground floor -- right next to the reception area -- and is priced at £170 BnB ---- a heafty price , but not the most expensive !!
It was a 3 area suite -- with a large fourposter bed ( not curtained) a middle lounge area with telly and sette wardrobe and dressing table . Finally walking into a large bathroom with a free standing bath, and loo
All was very comfortable , if a little dark , and the wall paper feestooned with redpenony roses. It was also a bit on the warm side , but a fan had been provided and was put to used almost straight away -- and needed !!
This room also has easy acess to the courtyard hot tub and sauna, both o f which we used with great delight-- and we were the only userers at that time
Tea and coffee was provided in our room -- but no fridge -- which was a disappointment
The bath was luxuerous to use , but I felt a bit uneasy getting in and out --- slippy with the provided bubble bath, but thats just me -- younger persons might bnot have that feeling
My husband would have liked a shower , but there was only a hand held affair over the bath.
W ehad our bottle ofbirthday present chamgane ( preesy from our son) when we sat in the well appointed aforsaid Manor lounge , the staff opened our bottle and also provided free canapas whilst we sat looking out at the beautiful garden --- At the time of booking I knew the manor was fully booked -- but we nver saw anyone else , and it felt like we were the only people there which was loverly
The walk down to the resturant is down some steep steps , which could be a problem in inclemnt weather , but our evening was a mild night -- and walking back after our meal was a delight to see the illuminated fountains
Our room was quiet, if warm -- we again needed the fan , ad the bed extremely comftable -- providing a good nights rest
Breakfast is served in the resturant again , and a very good one at that -- all the usual Yorkshire full and different smoked haddock and even kippers wre on offer
Check out was another easy process , and our over all experiance was comfortable and ,relaxing
A rather expensive over night stay -- 3pm check in -- 11 am check out-- but for a special event -- well worth it---- we would love to return to experiance another themed room , but not sure the bank balance would stand it !!,

Room Tip: log cabins look a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you love eccentric hotels this is the place for you, stepping foot into the manor you feel like your whisked back to the era of Agatha Christie's 20's or your on the set of an episode of Poirot.

Popular get away for couples the manor was very quiet when we stayed, we stopped in Le Manoir, the room was comfortable and quiet, all mod cons .. television, internet access (password crabmanor in lower case) tea and coffee making facilities, bath robes and slippers, a very picturesque and quirky place to stay .. the bathroom is tastefully decorated, the bath free standing brass fittings.

Polite, helpful staff .. at the manor there is a communal hot tub and sauna which we didn't access but were made aware of.

Automatically booked into the crab and lobster restaraunt, it was a birthday treat for me from my parnter and i loved every moment,.

Dining at the Crab and Lobster was beautiful, i wouldn't say overly priced for the experience (again a busy and popular place with helpful and attentive staff)

Overall we will be back ..

We did laugh at a woman at breakfast who did nothing but complain and had a face like thunder (there's no pleasing some people as the breakfast was tasty and the breakfast waitresses attentive and polite)

Room Tip: Downstairs bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

It is refreshing to be able to review somewhere that genuinely leaves me very happy to do so. The Crab and Lobster restaurant somehow gets away with seriously tasty food in an ultra quirky setting. Its difficult to describe but it feels like "Fun but fine dining" I met there for lunch, had goats cheese to start with traditional fish and chips ( exceptionally good homemade tartare sauce)
far to full to attempt dessert, however it looked really good.

I will definitely return for an attempt at pudding!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spofforth, North Yorkshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

What a delightful place - quirky, difference and very nice. We stayed in Le Manoir - beautiful room, small bathroom, no shower - did it matter - not a jot, everything else made up for it. Dinner at the Crab and Lobster superb - lots of choice and reasonably priced. This is no ordinary hotel - in fact an extraordinary one - we loved every moment of our stay and will be back!

Room Tip: Just have a look on the website - every room is shown! I was worried that ours was next to the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I don’t know whether I’m lucky or have a great knack of choosing fantastic hotels and restaurants. Crab Manor/ Crab and Lobster is on the top of the list.
We checked in at the Crab Manor and was taken to our room (Raffles) about 20 meters from the hotel, a large well furnish lounge /bedroom a large bathroom with a massive sauna, a free standing roll top bath, well furnished. A couple of steps from the front door into a wee court yard with our private hot tub. Although I haven’t stayed at Raffles Hotel, I have been to the long bar and the Tiffin room and the Crab Manor Raffles Room does remind of the style. The Manor is very well decorated and furnished with collective appearance that some people may not like but we loved it.
After spending a couple of hours in the hot tube we dressed (smart casual) and went to the lounge for drinks and canapés, then down to the restaurant (Crab and Lobster) for Dinner, again a wonderful atmosphere and very collective. A great choice of food on the menu , about 16 starters, 16 mains and 9 desserts, the wine list was excellent although there was no descriptions, this is not a complaint just an observation.
My Partner had the Colchester oysters, with wasabi mayonnaise and hot chorizo; followed buy half of lobster thermidor with queenie scallops’ and prawns; I had the goat’s cheese and spinach soufflé with apple and parsnip cream sauce, then the haddock (very large), chips and minted mushy peas. We both couldn’t manage a dessert. The food was absolutely fantastic. Spent the rest of the evening lounging in the hot tub with a glass of wine.
After a good nights sleep we went to breakfast in the conservatory at the crab and lobster. A great choice on the menu ranging from kedgeree, salmon, haddock, kippers eggs of all sorts and the Yorkshire full breakfast (again not for wimps). The second day was much the same, hot tub, more excellent food and wine. Overall our trip to the Crab Manor /Crab and Lobster could not have been better, lovely surroundings, extremely good food and wine and the staff are fantastic very friendly and couldn’t be more helpful. The house keeping staff must have a terrible job keeping the collective surrounding clean but it was spotless. I would recommend the Crab Manor to anyone and have already booked for later in the year.

Thanks again to the Crab Manor/ Crab and Lobster for a fantastic week end.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crab Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab Manor Hotel

Address: Dishforth Road, Asenby Y07 3QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Asenby
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crab Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Crab Manor Asenby
Hotel Crab Manor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.