We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crab Manor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asenby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crab Manor Hotel
Save
You added Crab Manor Hotel to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dishforth Road, Asenby Y07 3QL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asenby
Certificate of Excellence 2014
harrogate
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2008

Another stop at the crab ... we love stopping over ... great way to relax and recharge ... It's only a short trip over from where we live but it's another world. Hot tub, sauna, and great food.

  • Liked — its a top break
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    61
    15
    12
    7
See reviews for
18
323
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North of england
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2007

Lucky enough to stay in the Ruka Lodge.. fantastic lttle wooden chalet...great room, lovely bathroom and the best bit.. a private hot tub on the terrace....looking out in to the cold November air with a glass of wine.. how could this not be relaxing.... We ate in the Crab and Lobster restaurant near to the hotel which served fantastic food in great surroundings.... would recommend this hotel /room for a specail occasion

  • Liked — hot tubs
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2007

We had our wedding at the crab and lobster, with ourselves and our guests staying in the hotel.

I have to say that weve been dealing with the hotel on the wedding for 2 years and htey were such stars!!! Damien is fantastic.

On the day, every guest commented on the beautiful, different venue with the gorgeous grounds. truly the perfect wedding location.

i was in two minds whether to write the review as i like to think of Crab Manor as my secret but i think the secret may be out now.

The rooms are beautiful and the service is great.

The wedding service is also excellent, with the two rooms available and if you book up the whole hotel you get the hotel exclusively, somehting you would pay thousands for in other hotels. well worth it. they let you take your own wine too which is great and works out cheaper. if you want people to talk about your wedding for ages....this is the place. we have recommended it to everyone!!

  • Liked — It's unique, stylish with the service and friendly staff to match
  • Disliked — i liked everything
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

I have stayed at the Crab Manor many times but this last time was the most memorable yet, as it was our wedding venue.

We were thrilled that 110 of our nearest and dearest could enjoy this wonderful hotel, and its restaurant and stunning grounds with us on our special day.

We stayed in the Bora Bora which I definitely think is the classic honeymoon suite - split level, outdoor hot tub with a terrace...bliss! I would stay in this room again next time we visit.

Other roooms I would recommend are the log cabins for a winter stay - the fur and underfloor heating adds to the ambience - and the Turnberry suite, which has a wonderfull rolltop bath.

This is unique venue and one which just gets better and better!

  • Liked — Each room is so unique
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2007

I have been their twice in the past couple of years. The first time was for my boyfriends 21st birthday. I decided to surprise him with a night in The Bora Bora suite. We had a wonderful time, the bathroom is amasing, drank champagne in the room all night and had a wonder ful dinner in the restaurant.

It's quite a strange place really the restaurant decor can take a little getting used to, but it adds to the feeling that you will never be in a place like it again!

The 2nd time we went with friends who introduced us to the place. We had a wonderful time and would love to go again, however it's not cheap and can be hard to get the room you really want.

If there was any problem I would say the reception seems a little crazy. Bearing in mind that I'm the head receptionist of a hotel myself, I tend to notice things more. I wasn't too impressed when the last time we stayed and checked out we stood at reception and spent about 5 mins listening to the girl in front of us slagging off another member of staff to someone else while we where trying to pay her what we owed. Not very professional.

I think when you pay over £200.00 a night every little thing that happens counts towards the deciding factor of would you come back and pay the price again.

Depsite that the answer would still be YES.

Hope anyone that reads this goes xx

  • Liked — It was on of kind & the buildings/rooms are inspiring
  • Disliked — That I haven't got to see it in Summer!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2007

Just catching up on some reviews of hotels we stayed at last year. My son & I were in Yorkshire for the Ebor meeting at York racecourse. After looking at the overpriced hotels in York we decided to stay at The Crab again. Good decision! We had two rooms on a single occupancy basis. Both excellent, a little quirky of course, but that is what The Crab is all about and it is exactly as advertised.

Good facilities in the good sized rooms, Hospitality trays, decent T.V. and all the usual nice touches. A very spacious, clean bathroom.
Use of a Hot Tub in an enclosed area in the gardens. Some rooms have a private one. The Restaurant is one of the best of its type that we have been to. Breakfast was 1st class.

All in all a very pleasant hotel in a very nice area. A fair distance from York racecourse - but worth it - and we will be staying there again this year when we go racing at York.

  • Liked — The Difference - look for the free beer tap !
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

Me and my husband stayed here on 26th December for my birthday, a treat i will NEVER forget. We stayed in the Bora Bora which is in the beach house. Superbly decorated and with its own private hottub set in a decked area we couldnt of asked for more. Yes.....even though it was boxing day we spent a lot of time in that hottub drinking champagne. The manor itself is also a fantastic place to look around with all the weird an wonderful things decorating the place. The secret beer tap is a must, just to say you have found it!!!
We had lunch at the crab and lobster and this is not the first time we have visited the pub and again we were served with excellent food not one bad word can be said about the food here. The breakfast choice is brilliant, as soon as we sat down i was served coffee and a basket of toast and coissants were placed on the table. Full English, Kedgeree, kippers even steak and hash browns grazed the menu amongst other things i cant remember, along with help yourself cereals fresh orange, apple and grapefruit juice and a never ending supply of coffee and tea!!!
This is now going to be a once a year trip i think for my birthday! wish it could be more often but then it wouldnt be as special.
I would definately recommend this to anyone wanting a "special" night away from it all, you really do forget youre in Yorkshire in fact we forgot we were in England!
ENJOY

  • Liked — The room was fantastic and all the rooms have different themes cant wait to stay in a different room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — there is a secret beer tap......................find it!!!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crab Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab Manor Hotel

Address: Dishforth Road, Asenby Y07 3QL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Asenby
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crab Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Crab Manor Asenby
Hotel Crab Manor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crab Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.